Have you experienced racism in Kenya?

I’m watching a video of a man who was treated horribly because he was black. At the hub of all places.

I have been to places with mostly white and muhindi people like Hilton something tree, there’s no ubaguzi whatsoever. The only problem is that they asked my date if he was dropping me off. Like is he my driver? I thought it was hilarious.

The first time I noticed racism was in block hotels Naivasha where our family and the manager’s family were the only ones who were black people besides the servers. I was pretty young so I just found it weird that there were hardly any black folk, the service was impeccable though some jungus would really stare at us. Travellers Mombasa had more black people and no discrimination because everyone is paying at least 25k a night for all inclusive which is pretty cheap compared to the 45k a night hotels in Watamu and Rusinga Island.

I did not know that hub is racist. The thing is that I get really good service bcz I talk pretty good to security people and servers because I worked as a waitress at my parents restaurant in Hurligham. So I am very considerate. Either way I think if you are not wanted at an establishment take your business elsewhere.

Here is the guy. I am a regular at both Waterfront and Hub. I have never had any problems with the staff there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWP_KM4NTXE

Art cafe, Travellers Hotel,and lot of these white owned establishments, it’s funny how the workers think they are somehow white because of the white boss

There is a whole bunch of racists working aboard Boeing KQs. Stupid stupid stupid fuus. We complained tukachoka tukaenda Ethiopian Airline…but stop overs can be so annoying too…so we came back ‘HOME’…kuna some small improvement but…I was not happy last time so back to British Airways. BTW KQ treats us badly and most jungus only use them when BA is full.

Anaaaayhooo…najivunia

This is sad. I have experienced this at Yuls Mombasa. that was the last time I went there. Was happy when char-choma openned and majority of Yuls clients moved there.

Blame the water carrying guards who do the bidding. Also blame the economy that forces the guards to carry out such stupid things. Also self hate is deeply ingrained in most people’s mind.

Could you share what happened. Can’t say I have experienced much, but just stares from waiting staff.

What happened at KQ?

Mimi mara mingi sana

They pander to the whims of Tujungu travellers. Inc offering to put their hand luggage hapo juu…so cringeworthy. On the other side Asian travellers treat them so bad too…
Nauseating…to witness…
Nitakuja na hekaya yangu ya a KQ Asian ground staff v Finest wine. I actually filed a case with CAA and the County Court too. Awaiting outcome so can’t talk much about it…

But there is also very bad behaviour between Kenyans themselves. Shall we call it classism ama what? sizing each other up, judging each other materially and other simplistic stuff like accents…bure kabisa.

Wow. Do the jungus give them tips, ama its free?

I don’t know if they tip them coz there is no need to…but the women do bag themselves rich jungu men. I know that for a fact. That is why our KQ crew are mostly melanin coloured, even HR knows the codeword:D:D
But the underlying issue is feeling that a Jungu is superior…colonialism.
You’ll see our Kenyan girls marrying Chileans wameokota online, Ecuadorians, Romanians etc coz of the skin colour…who will tell these gals that some of these jungus are broke arses on state welfare and residing in council estates???

There is a difference between racism and inferiority complex.

I’ve watched that video and I can tell that guy has an inferiority complex.

What does he mean “The designers didn’t have Africans in mind when they were putting together this place…You can just tell by way the it’s designed”.

How can you tell a mall was designed exclusively for wazungus just by looking at its design?

How are malls designed for Africans supposed to look like?

People on this thread are two-faced. How can you accuse people of racism while you’re perpetuating it?

How can you prefer a “white” username like @mikel or @TrumanCapote or @Finest wine and still have the cajoles of pointing out racial discrimination?

Yes I comment about this all the time on threads here. Kenya is a classist society. It’s a symptom of British Aristocracy that was left over. It’s also prevalent in India. People size each on material things other to death. How many properties do you have, size of your house, masters degree, etc etc.

Junguu all the way.

I am one of those Kenyans who insist on using kiswahili everywhere in the Republic…broken luhyia kiswahili but I don’t care…so the last time I was looking for a house niliona shida…it took my wife’s accent and her being non Kenyan to get us a house…I still turned them down juu ya madharau and only settled on one owned by a Kenyan lady who was keen on Kenyan non somali and not a businessman/tenderprenuer:D Asked her mbona hataki businessmen akakataa kusema.
Sai am looking for a place for my son, joining year one…again I insist on using kiswahili even when speaking to their British head teachers…they usually ignore me and only pay attention/ call back only when i have left them with my name… i guess they usually google

This is very interesting. But ujue mzungu always wants your money. They will always call back ata kaa uingie hapo na slippers.

Am always in slippers when am running such errands…my wife hates it

I think that they prefer white folk bcz they tip as they do for bus boys. It’s like working at a salon as a woman and men tip you more so you lean towards them. Sometimes we are too sensitive and overthink things. Personally unless there’s nowhere else to eat, I would just leave and think nothing of it.

Generally waiters work long hours for poor pay, be abit friendly to them. In my days as a waitress my parents paid me with nothing but food and I was there from. 5am to 7pm,on my feet all day.

BTW Hilton Tree something is so nice the manager even comes to ask you how the service and food were. Please stop going to Artcafe and try the Hilton on Ngong Road or Four Seasons. World class service I tell you.

I have only ordered take out once at Artcafe actually it was Urban Burger but they did not have what I wanted so they picked it from Artcafe near them. It was stale. I have never seen what people see in Artcafe. It is crowded. No signature dishes. Si it’s better to go to Ocean Basket for sea food instead of Artcafe which is just a jack of all trades?

Travelers has no discrimination and there’s lots of black families that go there. In fact of all the hotel chains in Kenya I haven’t seen any with that many black families. I haven’t been there for a while but we used to go there every Christmas and it was just amazing. They had something for everyone. Their club called the showboat was safe no weird ass people from George knows where. Yes I went to the club one time. Pls try it, it’s all inclusive and very family and black people friendly. I know from several stays there.