head gasket - for toyota

I need to buy ahead gasket, how much is one n where can i source one at a good price?

The make of the car is a toyota IST.

Don’t cut corners. Nenda Toyota Kenya pale Kírínyaga road uuziwe kitu safi na origi. Karibu nao kuna duka yaitwa Techpride, their stuff is good too. La sivyo cheki pia Toyotsu pale South C, they also have genuine Toyota parts at better prices than TK.

Nini kiliharibu hiyo nyingine?

how much does one cost bro.

Car was over heating and going off when driving… the sign for overheating would shw up then the car goes off. My mechanic told me my head gasket needs to be changed.

Going to purchase one tomorrow but want to be prepared with all the facts so i dont get ripped off.

Bei sijui mkubwa, hapo sitakudanganya. Nenda na chassis number upate the exact part.

Investigate your cooling system for leakages and/or blockage. The car shouldn’t just overheat if coolant levels are ok and there’s no blockage.

Logic will tell u to first solve the overheating problem… Why was it overheating?

Which engine is it? 1NZ? Is the oil pump working fine? How much damage did the overheating cause? Is the block deformed?

chasis number wanacheck kwa records ama. na engine number?

Chassis number enables them to get you the right part. Ni kama vile your I/D number is specific only to you. Engine number not necessary if you’ve never changed the engine.

Hence my query. If the radiator is somehow damaged (siku hizi they have too many plastic parts that tend to fail at around the 10th -12th year), head on to Sagoo Radiators or City Radiators (most preferred) and let them make you a new radiator.

You need to have the cylinder head resurfaced and pressure tested if it is warped otherwise ata hiyo unaweka haita maliza siku mbili. It may be cheaper to just replace the engine.

There is this annoying thing called thermostat, it should be replaced ,ama radiator horse pipes are too old.

Why should the thermostat be replaced ???

If the Engine is 1AZ, I would advise you to just buy a new one. The cost of repairs of the gaskets and cylinder head is almost the same as a new engine. (Engine is 30k). Plus… those repairs will serve you for a few days at best. Talking from experience.

what? how now? jeez thats darn cheap, at 30k it makes more sense to just buy a new engine every single time you run into problems. Means the cost of buying one single headlight for my small jalopy can buy me several IST engines :D:D:D

@introvert how true is this figure being floated around by this guy? cc @Nattydread

Na hii issue ya timing chain, how do you know it is due for replacement?

True.
Engine costs same as a tyre… Hehehe…
Sadly, something as mundane as a bad radiator cap could have caused all this.
Some of these new engines don’t take punishment too well.

everyday i get to learn something new

PS. a tyre is even more expensive than an engine :D:D

Clanking noise when idling. Look out for metal filings in the oil during service.

Very true about radiator cap…Got me to replace head gasket…Bei might be around 5k, changed for a Mazda at 6K

Confirm maneno ya cooling first ama uhangaike vile umeambiwa hapo juu