Health benefits of regular cycling

Cycling is mainly an aerobic activity, which means that your heart, blood vessels and lungs all get a workout. You will breathe deeper, perspire and experience increased body temperature, which will improve your overall fitness level.

The health benefits of regular cycling include:
[li]increased cardiovascular fitness[/li][li]increased muscle strength and flexibility[/li][li]improved joint mobility[/li][li]decreased stress levels[/li][li]improved posture and coordination[/li][li]strengthened bones[/li][li]decreased body fat levels[/li][li]prevention or management of disease[/li][li]reduced anxiety and depression.[/li][/ul]
@Ken_Sarro you need something like this my fren
[ATTACH=full]225307[/ATTACH]
It only takes two to four hours a week to achieve a general improvement to your health. Cycling is:
[li]Low impact – it causes less strain and injuries than most other forms of exercise.[/li][li]A good muscle workout – cycling uses all of the major muscle groups as you pedal.[/li][li]Easy – unlike some other sports, cycling does not require high levels of physical skill. Most people know how to ride a bike and, once you learn, you don’t forget.[/li][li]Good for strength and stamina – cycling increases stamina, strength and aerobic fitness.[/li][li]As intense as you want – cycling can be done at very low intensity to begin with, if recovering from injury or illness, but can be built up to a demanding physical workout.[/li][li]A fun way to get fit – the adventure and buzz you get from coasting down hills and being outdoors means you are more likely to continue to cycle regularly, compared to other physical activities that keep you indoors or require special times or places.[/li][li]Time-efficient – as a mode of transport, cycling replaces sedentary (sitting) time spent driving motor vehicles or using trams, trains or buses with healthy exercise.[/li][/ul]

I hear men who cycle regularly can suffer from mundumulosis onebollia

Hehehehe nakumaliza makende. Ama aje bwana @Meria Mata …in greek gabera Nye

hizo zote ni hekaya.

Hehehehe niko na muncle ananonga nikiwa juu ya cheki maneno anasema watoto fifte wamenda hivo

@Meria Mata niwekee benefits of long-distance walking I usually walk from town hadi Kangemi a distance of ten kilometres twice a week

Whether you work hard to get 10,000 steps a day or just like a daily stroll with your dog, walking is a near-perfect exercise. It’s good for your body and your mind and you can do it just about anywhere with no fancy equipment.

From strengthening bones to shedding pounds, researchers keep finding more and more health benefits from this simple activity. Need a reason to hit the trail or wander the pavement? Here are just a few impressive benefits of walking.

1. It helps you maintain a healthy weight. It may seem like a no-brainer, but regular walking can lead to weight loss because exercise burns calories. But with walking, the calories you burn depend more the distance you cover rather than your pace, according to Harvard Health. During a 15-year study, researchers found that people who walked gained significantly less weight than those who didn’t and the more people walked, the less weight they gained.

2. It saves your brain. Walking keeps your mind sharp. In a University of California at San Francisco study, researchers measured the cognitive abilities of nearly 6,000 women age 65 and older. They tracked their physical activity for several years and found that age-related memory decline was lowest in the women who walked the most.

Another study published in the December 2018 issue of Neurology shows that older adults who never exercise and already show signs of cognitive concerns can reverse cognitive decline (i.e. decision-making skills) in as little as six months just by walking.

3. It can help you live longer. Several studies have linked regular walking to longevity. A 2018 study found that walking can lower your risk of dying from cardiovascular disease. Another study in 2018 found that walking at a brisk pace seems to cut the risk of dying by 24 percent, while walking at an average pace reduces the risk by 20 percent. A study by the American Cancer Society found that even low levels of walking are linked with lower mortality.

4. Walking strengthens bones and muscles. All those steps can keep your bones strong and ward off bone loss, fractures and osteoporosis. That back-and-forth movement also tones the muscles in your legs and abs. If you swing your arms when you walk, you can strengthen those arm muscles, too.

5. It eases joint pain. Walking protects your joints by lubricating them and strengthening the surrounding muscles that support them. Several studies also have shown that walking eases arthritis-related pain and if you walk enough, it might prevent arthritis from forming in the first place, says Harvard.

https://media.mnn.com/assets/images/2018/10/happy_man_walking_dog.jpg.838x0_q80.jpgWalking can make you happy — and don’t even get us started about how happy your dog will be. (Photo: bbernard/Shutterstock)

6. It boosts your mood. The more people walk each day, the more energetic they feel and the better their mood, according to a California State University study. Walking releases endorphins, which are chemicals that trigger positive feelings in the body.

7. It can reduce your breast cancer risk. An American Cancer Society study found that women who walked seven or more hours a week had a 14 percent lower risk of developing breast cancer than those who walked three hours or fewer per week.

8. Walking can help you sleep. An hour of walking and stretching, especially in the morning, can help you fall asleep and stay asleep, reports WebMD.

9. It can reduce your risk of diabetes. Walking can help prevent diabetes or reduce its severity. Findings from the Harvard Nurses’ Health Study suggest that walking briskly for 30 minutes daily reduces the risk of developing Type 2 diabetes by 30 percent.

10. It helps your heart. Walking does wonders for your heart and circulation, according to the Arthritis Foundation. It lowers your blood pressure, strengthens your heart, cuts your risk of stroke and wards off heart disease.

This applies to mido class fellows…regular cycling is good for them…they should also add jogging…gym is a joke!
watu wa kutembea 2hrs everyday to and from work or during our daily routines hatuitaji hii.
A very big population of kenyans are physically fit due to the nature of their jobs…kama huamini enda mombasa road stretch along GM around 6am/5pm…or on Uhuru highway near kangemi…tens of thousands of kenyans walking to and from work…wanalia but unbeknownst to them are the accompanying health benefits. Circumstances have forced most kenyans to be healthy. Am sure most would be cycling to work had our cities constructed proper cycling lanes.

Hehehehe. Omwami, unasahau geography at Uhuru highway iko near Kangemi?

Waiyaki way omwami. Voters wa timothy wanyonyi hutembea hapo wakienda kwa muhindi

@Meria Mata be honest…one of the increased risk is vehicle accidents…Let all cyclists obey road rules…keep to the Xtreme left …

This here nigga go live forever now. This here nigga walks from VA to Dago Chief’s Camp three times a week.

True,stress hakuna. Cigarette consumption gone down. Kuosha Mecho nayo?

This here nigga go extend that walk to Uthiru,live forever and save himself from mundumulosis onebollia

I prefer other sport activities to cycling. Morning run ama physical sports leave me feeling super healthy. Hii ya baiskeli huwa naskia nimefanya very light work.

Kumbe superman lives on KTalk…

I am a huge fan of legging it!

Cyclists are some of the most annoying folk on the road. Sense of entitlement! The gava has invested so much money on their cyclist manenos huku inc bike lanes, most office buildings have bike sheds at the basement, showers on most floors and places to hang their smelly towels na bado…

Jump rope beats all the above. Great workout that can be done almost anywhere anytime.
Great for trimming and endurance.

hope Kenya will be like that one time, guys in a radius of 10km to CBD would all cycle to town, then we would have a healthier nation

Truedat. Some of my work colleagues used to fly past me waving cheeringly at me kama nangojea basi. I would find them at work all showered and settled.:mad:It is the way forward.

shower sijui kaa tutapata kaa vile tulivyo saa hii maji is more expensive than fuel