HELB is kicking people who are down and out

What HELB forgets is that not all graduates have done well for themselves.
Actually, less than 30% of the graduates have done well after school. The remaining 70% ni survival tu.
Sometimes you find a graduate who is actually worse off than a standard 8 drop-out.
Some of the ‘graduates’, especially those from rural areas, went back home after studies. Then they got immersed in local brews and they are totally hopeless.
Others have gotten stuck in 10k per month untrained teacher or m-pesa attendant jobs in the villages/rural towns. Others (the chics) have started survival ‘businesses’: a neighborhood salon here, a [struggling] keg joint there, a juice shop there – you know, survival businesses that barely bring in 15k per month. I actually knew of an engineering graduate who was doing ‘kazi ya mkono’ at a construction site before he was eventually hired by a county.
Surely, if someone can’t start repaying the loan, even after being listed at CRB, it shows that he/she is down and out and shouldn’t be kicked further.

Its understandable to be on the rocks but you will be surprised that there are some people who are doing well for themselves but they just have chosen not to repay their loans. Sometimes back there were interviews I think for the chief justice ( my memory fails me) a lawyer appeared before the panel had met all their requirements but wasn’t servicing his helb loan.

well, but majority are genuinely struggling.

Where did you find this statistic? I would really like to read the report…

Don’t take it seriously. It is anecdotal, based on people I know, people I went to school with.
But you should also look at the official unemployment statistics, to understand what I am saying.
Or you should advertise for a job, and invite graduates. Then you will see the sorts of folks who will come. Even if you offer 8k per month, you will see some graduates applying. It shows just how hopeless some of these individuals are.

[ATTACH=full]226042[/ATTACH]

The situation is really bad…And it’s not because people are not trying. We have failed our young men and women. unfortunately those of us who got lucky usually turn around and start blaming them for the hopeless situations they find themselves in.
It’s one of the reasons why I usually get irritated when some insensitive and pompous nouveau riche talkers, barely out of poverty, admonish young kenyans trying to make things work.

Not to long ago, I had a job as a “BOG” teacher in a day secondary school. I was getting 8k.

Hio ndio ilikua gross na net. You got called to the bursar’s office, unahesabiwa zako in old hundreds and 50s, unajitoa. And guys were always dropping their CVs the school.

What made me leave? Nilikopa mwanafunzi 3k nikadefault/nikashindwa kumlipa. Alinishika mashati mbele ya staffroom in full view of teachers and students. Under normal circumstances, I’d have smothered the stupid boy but in my surprised embarrassment I couldn’t. Anyway, after the intervention of an elder “madam”, he left shouting that everyone in that staffroom that owed him money must be ready with it the following day, no stories. Kumbe tulikua wengi!

Na hao ndo mnataka kufunga jela?

True that. Chenye u-confuse watu ni vile hawa ma-graduates huwa wasafi. Because of their education, they try to be presentable. So unapata graduate amedunga mtush poa, una-assume ako na doo. Yet she works as an m-pesa attendant, at 10k per month.

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Kumbe Mwalimu Andrew unaweza andika bila osungu dll.

Helb is demanding 900k from a friend who got 130k in the year 2000. What happened to the law that interest cannot exceed two times the borrowed amount?

penalty of 5k a month

Decades ago, I, a son of the village, applied for a HELB loan and got 0k. I appealed the decision (had to camp at anniversary towers for days) and got 25k. I said, ok, I will survive.

My friends got 48k + 12k bursary = 60k. Some of these friends came from very wealthy families. Most of them were BA / BSc fellows with 15 wk semesters while we had 24 wk semesters. HELB for these guys was for buying sound systems and TVs, going for movies, drinking, raving and feasting on chicken/chapati at the cafeteria (or burgers at Steers).

I have no sympathy for HELB at all. They dug their pit, let them wallow in it. They issued loans selectively to individuals who did not stand a chance of repaying them. The 5k monthly penalties only serve to worsen the financial burdens for these unemployed youth.

This is usually nonsensical. Where on earth can you get such hefty fines for defaulting to pay 1500/- because that’s what they demand?
Anyway as I have said earlier, threats won’t work. Show me anyone who’s in jail for failure to service his loan.

apparently, they don’t recognize payment of less than 5k by the way. i used to pay 1500 then i got a text to up the amount.

Those are automated messages. My friends pay 1500/- na hawasumbui. I pay 3k and used to pay 1500. Ata 500/- unawesa lipa, ni vile haitakuwa imeservice ata interest for the month.

are you for real? ju hiyu 5k mi huskia pinch sana. i was used to anything between 200/- and 1500/- max before that text.

I went for studies somewhere and when I came back, I found that HELB had sent a demand letter to my Dad saying that I had defaulted. The nonsense that spews out of some of these GoK institutions is sometimes unbelievable. Considering that I worked for GoK, this was utter rubbish. Next day, I went to anniversary towers, got my statement, went downstairs to KCB, paid the loan lump sum in full, went back upstairs, got my clearance certificate and left. Never to return.

I saw that Cheboi guy at some place the other day with a ka-yellow yellow, I kneow that that is HELB and Baringo money in use. Shame.

Thank God I was never given a loan… Thats all I can say