Her maiden journey to the land of my forefathers - 800km later

We have been to Nyanza and back. An epic journey. A journey of many firsts and fasts. If I could I would travel back and forth everyday for the next week or so.

I have never enjoyed driving this much, that is since the days of the E39, close to 5 years ago.

We started of on Friday early morning around 5AM. It was dark, very few cars on the road. We drove very carefully, I fear truck drivers who can easily fall asleep at the wheel. We were also very careful not to hit any potholes (remember we have no spare wheel), we still had hundreds of km to go. The adaptive lights were doing their thing. As you approach a car going same direction they dim the light from 200-300m away! No one gets dazzled. As soon as traffic clears ahead of you it switches back to full lights and are they not FULL lights!!!

We arrived in Nakuru around 7AM and refueled back to full tank. From then on the real experience began. Being early there probably were no cops on the road yet. I did not know hills don’t exist! The 8 speed gearbox and turbo work so seamlessly you would never know whether you are climbing or descending, they all feel the same. To cut the story short, we reached safe. I don’t know how but even rural people seem to be able to tell the difference between a car and a real car:D:D. Lots of interest all round from excited family members.

Today morning we set off, arriving at midday.

The entire journey takes 4-5hours, at the end of each leg I felt like going on and on. The car is a joy to drive, the adaptive suspension is a wonder, comfort setting floats like a boat, sports mode transforms it into a WRC car. At one point I chanced upon a late speed bump. Hammered my brakes and the car stopped in good time, less than 40-50m in my estimation. The hazard lights turned on automatically to alert any traffic behind me, my seat belt tightened up real good,clever! The braking ability is something to behold for 1.8tons of steel, plastic, rubber and leather.

Kinungi - the grave for most mortals. So on our way back a range rover sports arrive unannounced at my tail. It stick around from Delamere to Total then fires of with absolute arrogance. This chap is definitely intimidating me. A few lessons need to be taught. We change our drive train to sports+ mode and stay on his tail. His days are numbered. He surely know what is coming but his confidence in his turbocharged monster is the size of @uwesmake’s balls. Well, he has probably buried many foes, this may be the last time he sees the exhaust pipes of a 535i from a distance.

We clear the bumps and reach the climbing lane. Mere mortals deviate to the crawling lane and leave room for men to test their machines. The 5 litre behemoth pulls away as the chap stand on his accelerator. We are in sports mode already, our rev counter is not falling below 4000rpm. The N555 is ready for the challenge, we command it to give chase and floor the accelerator. At the end of its travel there is a accelerator position switch. Press it hard enough and you will feel it twitch. It puts the car into race mode and keeps the rpm between 6000 and 7500rpm. We see the challenger getting closer, then the poor boy staring at his side then we see him in the rear view mirror. Two minutes later we ease of and drive normally all the way to Nairobi. He may never tell anyone but when he sees the 535i badge again, he will respect! Boys will always be boys:D:D

Some one asked for photos of the lights and exterior, here are some exterior pictures after she was cleaned of all the insect cadavers after the 800km journey. Fuel consumption can rival any Toyota, 10litres to 100km. I got a very good deal here!! I keep her for a very long time! And one thing, never ever will I go below a 535i. This is the best balanced BMW considering power and maneuverability.

[ATTACH=full]67449[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]67450[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]67451[/ATTACH]

Life is brutal. These are my village mates still very young and going about their business without bothering about a Mr Trump… It feel very sad to see such humble beginnings but that is life. This is were we came from years ago. Herding cattle for my late grandma…

53 Likes

even rural people seem to be able to tell the difference between a car and a real car .
ujaluo itakuua…

unawesa shinda huyu?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CxJC7GFW8AArc3i.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CxJC8M3WgAA0-w_.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CxJC9e4XgAA0PQB.jpg

What’s it with the ‘we’?
Its you and who?

Uweskimwi hajaambiwa poa :D:D:D

Nice narration man, I’m already envious.

We need many of your ilk on our roads so that we can be able to pay school fees for our kids in January:cool::cool:

You are the man!!!

hehehehe, lazima ungetuonyesha kuna c200 pia kwa parking, haya, tumetii munene

…halafu watu wa Toyota husema wana gari SMH

…if u drive a Toyota, hiyo ni nduthi, all offence.

Great read

Include the photos of the machine parked in Nyakach yawah!!!

@ochithunder , do u have a photo of your house in ushaggz? kuna kitu nataka ku-confirm about Luopeans

11 Likes

Cheza chini

Sio lazma hao shagz
Hiyo in old thinking

You drove from Nairobi to Nakuru in two hours? I find that hard to believe. and in another two hours you were in kisumu…

Mortal, did u check the make of his car before u commented?

We always average 1 hr 45 Mins Omera,This @ochithunder is damn slow.

Siku za Shaggy we used to move from Nbi to Nkr in 1 hr 30 mins.

Ujaka mob, swaff lakini

Great stuff, c200 ni ya bibi ?