Here's Why Solar Systems Fail or Stop Working Properly in Kenya

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xKxbYDB3huc

niaje ghaseer?
4.32kwh solar system kama hii ni pesa ngapi?
inaserve mtu anatumianga 5kwh per day?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmikzgdNMCA

solar inafanyangaaje kazi? naweza power direct, bila battery, saa ile jua inawaka kama ghaseer?

Haiya, wanajua utabiri wa hewa

It depends on alot of variables. Yes its possible to have a system where the inverter is connected in a way as when your consumption is lower than the solar power produced, you draw only from the panels but when the consumption surpasses the power from the panel the system balances by drawing power from the grid

savings ya panel/grid balance ni worthwhile?
na nikitaka kukaa off the grid 24/7, battery ya kupower 5kwh per day ni how much?

Kenya power wameamua nikae wiki mzima bila stima. Am planning yo show them the middle finger.

In the short term savings are not worthwhile, good solar equipment is expensive.
The batteries vary in quality and make. I can advice you to get a lithium ion type, most come with a 10 years warranty and which is rated at atleast at 1. 4 times your consumption.

No. You cant.
A good system is pretty damn expensive even for a rich man. The ROI of a solar system is completely nonsensical.
The preach of solar being cheaper and better partly makes sense on an emissions perspective but doesn’t make sense on a pocket perspective.
Now, tell me if a system of a 10 year ROI makes sense on a business perspective. in this 10 years, keep in mind no battery can last that long and the efficiency of the system has massively deteriorated by a huge margin. This means you have to chip into your pocket to keep the system operational that long, way before your realize and ROI.
The call to solar, zero-rating was a scheme by the govt to cast the net wide and soon as it’s fully incepted, introduce tax, like you saw last year and immediately the inception dropped massively.
Use LPG as an example - zero rated and once majority are looped in, introduce tax. Bam! Govt makes profit. Best way out is, and always will be Kenya power. If I were you, I’d be looking at ways to make noise and make Kenya power profitable hence cheaper in terms of Kwh vended out. Also, make the right choice on the ballot since institutions like Kenya power are politically controlled meaning all top appointments are based on some political angle and that’s where profit leakages happen.

Mimi yangu ni kucharge simu, lighting,tv na laptop. 2KW imetosha.

My day job is around lithium cells and experimentation in Kenya. Best I’ve seen is a lithium cells with ~2500 cycles. A cycle is a full charge-discharge sequence. Assuming 1 cycle per day translates to 2500/365 = ~6-7 Years life of the lithium batts.
Achieving that is also under test conditions and not practical life conditions. What I mean is that, you need to fully charge and discharge it everyday to achieve that.
In estimate, a perfect lithium cell will work for 5 years best case scenario. Cared to check the price too? It’s impractical.

10 year warranty is a dream with lithium cells due to their volatility. Best you’ll get is 2 years.

Autumii fridge?

Zi. Vitu baridi gives me tonsillitis.

haha noma. mad respect

Of course you might argue about this but these are graph plots of capacity degradation after ~1500 cycles.-2021 test cycle.
[ATTACH=full]381518[/ATTACH]

For this, Lipa bill acha kelele. Simply get supplementary back up for phones and lighting. TV is secondary. My backup is portable in that I walk with it in the car and can in whatever the situation.

hio 1500 cycles kwa graph ilikuchukuwa how many years?

Kenya power wanakulipa ngapi kudiscourage people from going solar.

sasa tuseme huyu aliiba pesa sawasawa homabay county

Honestly, for you to install a system that will allow you to go off grid you need alot of money and its completely not worth it. What I can honestly advice is instead of buying solar panels buy a UPS that automatically kicks in when kplc decide to do their thing and connect it to the lights circuit and a few plugs for the TV, WiFi.

Mambo ya solar wacha wenye kenya power imewasahau.

There are things we call load testers and chargers. These Discharge the batteries at a constant rate in a few hours.
Meaning running this for 24 hours in between charges produces several cycles a day even 10 cycles.
Keep in mind that is STC and not ideal life.