High Court temporarily suspends all flights from China

The High Court has temporarily suspended flights from China.

Justice James Makau issued the ruling following a case filed by the Law Society of Kenya.

He said the matter is of great public interest.

In the second file, Justice Makau issued an order preventing Health CS, Transport CS, Foreign Affairs CS, the AG and the Kenya Airport Authority from letting into the country any person from China through the air or sea.

The same orders are also applied to any other WHO-designated hot spot country that is adversely affected by the virus.

The three CSs have also been compelled to trace, account, re-examine, and quarantine in a KDF facility all the 239 passengers that they let into the country aboard a Chinese flight that landed at JKIA on February 26.

Health, Transport, Foreign CS have been ordered to trace 239 passengers who boarded Chinese flight.

On Friday, President Uhuru Kenyatta formed a taskforce to deal with a possible outbreak of coronavirus.

The President through an Executive Order on Friday said the team will coordinate Kenya’s preparedness, prevention and response to the threat of the disease.

Uhuru said they will also enhance surveillance at all ports and points of entry to Kenya.

The President also ordered that Mbagathi hospital coronavirus section be completed within seven days.

This was after the ministry of health Chief Administrative Secretary Rashid Aman said they have also identified an open ward with 120 beds at Mbagathi County Hospital in Nairobi but will need a month to prepare it.

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2020-02-28-high-court-suspends-all-flights-from-china/

Wapi ile foto ya @Uwesmakei akupigia mbuzi guitar?

Ouru pantambua kuruna or whatever its called. Until each end everyone of you is infected ndo watakubali.

oh…lemme get this straight…kama hiyo video ya hio ndege haingeenda viral,serikali ingekuwa tu sawa na vitu zimuv on kama kawaida?but then again ni ule brainless macharia ndio incharge…

Well done.

Imho,
it was not the GoK desire to stop flights from China. GoK is just being reactionnery and acting on public pressure to save it’s reputation.

Simple, they’ll pickup passengers from Taiwan…

Bonostan

Taiwan is hostile to china despite the fact that its still china.

Foolishness. What about Italy and Iran?

that to me is the most worrying part, despite the seriousness of the issue it has taken some suspended employee to share a video for some action to be taken, or rather seemingly being taken.

The same orders are also applied to any other WHO-designated hot spot country that is adversely affected by the virus.

I understand flights from other parts of the world threatened to cancel their flights to Kenya.You know the Emirates,BA,KLM etc.

The govt hadn’t seen that coming,Kenya being discriminated by other parts of the world for allowing Chinese into the country.

Deni ya mchinku italipwa

Liwe liwalo

Vera Sidika should give a Justice James Makau complementary BJ… but no blue pills anywhere near!

Very well done. This should have been done 6 weeks ago. Corona virus has the potential to kill half of our population. Let that sink in. Half your family, friends, colleague etc. That’s why I was wondering how stupid it was that some fools were asking we return the 150 Kenyans who live on Wuhan. 150 over 23 million Kenyans. Those who want them can go join them there.

Lastly do you know the consequences of a viral epidemic here. Well lets look at what China has done in Haibei province. Basically they have installed martial law in the province. The constitution, laws are suspended. The military decides everything. Month long curfew is in place. No public gathering, no leaving the home. Quarantine for all. All the corona sick people are taken to the specific hospitals to get treatment and see it they will recover. If they die their bodies are cremated. So far the military has burnt over 5000 corona victims. Those who are sick must indicate everyone they met and everywhere they went in the last 2 weeks. All the people they met and everyone in those areas are put in quarantine camps. That’s the easy part. No constitution and all laws suspended. The military looks for those who are sick or supposed to be in quarantine but are hiding. Well if you are found then you are moved by force. If you are sick and you refuse to be taken then you are shot. Basically in an epidemic outbreak the few lives are expendable to save the majority. China understands this and it has the balls to carry out the necessary. I doubt the usa, eu and us have the balls to do the same.

Now imagine corona in Nairobi. President Uhuru declares martial law, the constitution is suspended and all laws suspended including bill of rights. The military council replaces the cabinet and all of government is suspended. All public gatherings banned. No schools, jobs, travel etc. Indoors for weeks or months. All sick taken to camps others in quarantine camps. People sick and dying. Look at your kitchen. How long is the food there going to last? 1-2 days. A week if you are a good planner. Now in 2 weeks nothing is left everywhere is shops are closed and travel remains restricted.

We are not taking this corona virus risks strong enough. All travel in and out of infected countries must be in place. Banning direct flights isn’t enough. They could still connect though other hubs. CS Cecil, matiangi, omamo and macharia are stupid. You are not pleasing China, you are not serving China, its Kenyans concern that is top priority. Besides If you explain to China why you have banned their citizens they will understand. PLA troops are taking corona victims by force from the homes where they hide. Those who resist are killed. Its that serious.

Uhuru Ni ghassia

Sasa ata wewe jamaa mlevi kila wakati ni lini atawai make the right decision

There is a saying which has actually been a mantra among Kenyans for as long as i can remember; its never that serious
And unfortunately over time, this attitude has morphed into cavalier behavior that has permeated nearly all aspects of our lives.
For example, to expect a serious response to corona from a government which sat back and watched as Kenyans were poisoned by contaminated food is to expect what should not be expected.

In MJ’s words; All i wanna say is that they don’t really care about us