Higher Education Reforms :University of Nairobi courses to be dropped

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001330992/varsity-reforms-uon-to-scrap-40-courses?fbclid=IwAR2Buk6A_MVf4WLazesg_0Hka1wo30ncmBlCdKPaylotbPY5VVKe4ZkPXTc Ujinga ni kipawa nini husumbua mwafrika.
In the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Nairobi, the PhD in Agriculture will be dropped.
Three programmes in the School of Mathematics have also been listed for scrapping. These are BSc in Industrial Mathematics, PhD in Applied Statistics and PhD in Mathematics.
A total of nine courses will be scrapped at the School of Biological Sciences, including three courses under Open Distance and e-Learning (OdeL). These are BSc in Microbiology and Biotechnology, BSc in Biology, BSc in Environmental Conservation and Natural Resources Management

Others are MSc in Agriculture Entomology, MSc in Medical and Veterinary Entomology, PhD in Applied Microbiology, PhD in Plant Ecology, PhD in Terrestrial Plant Ecology and PhD in Aquatic Plant Ecology. At the School of Physical Sciences, a total of 17 courses will be scrapped, including the Certificate in Chemistry.
BSc in Chemistry, Bachelor of Science, BSc in Environmental Geoscience (code 117 and 127), and Postgraduate Diploma in Environment and Natural Disaster Management will be scrapped.
Masters programmes
BSc in Microprocessor Technology and Instrumentation, BSc in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Bachelor of Science (atmospheric science) and PhD in Environmental Chemistry have also been listed.
Others are four masters programmes; Master of Science in Environmental and Analytical Chemistry, Master of Science in Pure Chemistry, Master of Science in Inorganic Chemistry and Master of Science in Organic Chemistry.

Long overdue, with the shift from degree courses to technical diplomas then 50% of the degree courses will lack students. They also lack relevancy as they have no job placements in our economy. TTI’s is the way to go not degrees.

I guess the Mau Forest issue has been resolved. We have also harnessed all the water resources in Turkana, and eliminated the perennial water shortage in Ukambani

Have we have sorted out all the insects that reduce harvest from our farms by almost 40 percent, dealt with the arthropod vectors of both human and animal disease; and are at peace with the balance in our ecological systems.

Kwani wana target agriculture,maths,chemistry na biology

so you study enviromental chemistry alafu??

Probably these courses have very low demand

Hehe. Mimi i thought you are free to do any course. Nikitaka kufanya biology why deny me the chance?

you are in a third world banana country my fren …

bsc microprocessor technology and instrumentation…
gai!!
sasa ukimaliza hio, unafanya nini?

huwawei wako na university yao. utaenda kutengenezea nani microprocessor?
ama utaunda ysko kwa nyumba?

A course must meet a certain threshold (including quorum), and must make economic sense to the school.

Surprising to me. These STEM degrees are required to drive a technicial economy.

You can work in Technical Diagnostics eg an Engineering lab. You can work in manufacturing Quality Control. NEMA needs such people. The opportunities are limitless. Your education will limit your career only if you let it.

why scrap PhD in applied statistics??

There no degree called PhD in agriculture. Govt should educate even it only one person interested entemology, we have armyworm problem yet they are scrapping that course. We will now rely on bayer and co. as only org can help us in case of an outbreak. Microbiologist are so important they are still needed in commercial food industry, such as alcohol and yoghurt. Biotechnologist is the new thing nowdays with genetic engineering and tissue culture. We should stop treating our public universities like business enterprise and look at what the country require not what people want to study.
But I am okey with scrapping of Bsc biology, it too general.

And who do you think is in charge of making technical instruments used in Laboratories both school ones and industrial ones and hospitals from syringes to burettes to those galvanometers and the likes???
Sheesh!! !

Problem is lack of facilities. Enrollment for some of these courses per year can even be less than 20 students. Therefore the university actually incurs more cost(lecturer renumerarions plus equipments) than return on the meagre tuition fee paid by the few students which becomes unsustainable.

Not to mention other resources such as classrooms, laboratories as well as lecture halls allocated and underutilized by these courses that could be utilized by more ‘popular’ courses.

most are just repetitions you’ll find different between those chemistry courses is just a unit or two, even mathematics, just a unit or there about, universities decided to expand programs by splitting units to get as much students as they can without thinking about job demands, kitu ingine they should scrap ni community health na environmental health.

The first course they should drop is Women and Gender studies

BSc in Microprocessor Technology and Instrumentation, BSc in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Bachelor of Science (atmospheric science) and PhD in Environmental Chemistry have also been listed.

Why were these course cut? They’re important…

It seems no one has noticed ile phd William Ruto alipata from Uon has also been scrapped. Phd Plant ecology
That fraud should return the bogus phd