Hii tuliona

Spectacular Video & Photos of World’s Fastest Passenger Plane in Kenya
By DENIS MWANGI on 11 March 2019 - 6:30 pm

AMAZING
[ATTACH=full]228885[/ATTACH]
A Concorde airplane at JKIA in the 1990s TWITTER

In 1975 Kenya played host to the world’d fastest passenger plane at that time that was en route to Johannesburg, South Africa.

The manufacturers however retired the aircraft in 2003 because it was not profitable. Currently, the fastest commercial planes are models of Boeing 747.

The Concorde 1 landed at Nairobi International Airport, which was later renamed to JKIA, from Cairo to carry out icing trials.

The flight was handled by Kenya Aerotech Limited as confirmed to Kenyans.co.ke by one of the company’s officers

In the 1990s, yet another model of the supersonic planes visited Kenya and was captured by Australian national Simon Watts.

[ATTACH=full]228886[/ATTACH]
A cheetah and Maasai warrior photographed next to the Concorde 2 in Nairobi.

The Concorde 2 stopped over in Nairobi for a few days and Watts took full advantage of the potential publicity that the magnificent aircraft provided.

On arrival, the passengers flew directly to various game parks in a less speedy DC3 aircraft as the Concorde was inappropriate for such trips.

Simon took a number of photographs with the fastest land animal - a semi-tame cheetah and the Concorde, including a shot of the cheetah wearing a pair of headsets in the cockpit.

He also arranged for Maasai warriors to pose with the animal, on the aircraft and at the end of the runway for both landing and take-off.

He was grateful that the Maasai cooperated despite the noise that accompanied the supersonic aircraft.

"An incredibly noisy experience, the Maasai took their fingers out of their ears just in time for the photos to be taken.

“I remember asking the departing Concorde Captain to rotate as late as possible so we could get the best shots,” recounted Watts.

[ATTACH=full]228888[/ATTACH]
Concorde 2 taking off as three Maasai warriors watch

Below is a video of the Concorde 1 touching down at Nairobi International Airport (present-day JKIA) in 1975.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zwrqAvJkiwQ

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/news/37744-spectacular-video-photos-concordes-touchdown-kenya

Hao ndauwo Ni rareWatts…?

Lakini concord ilikuwa na kelele. Niko sure zikaland tatu JKIA, pale pipeline panakuwa flat

If any of you can’t see that those photos are supposed to depict a certain image of ‘Africa’ then you are low IQed baboons.

You mean the airport at that time didn’t even have a watch-tower? And where would cheetahs and armed morans come from at a busy airport?

Is the “image” necessarily a “bad image”? Kiurisio tu…

Any image of any country/city that depicts a jaded stereotype is a bad image. Forget about marketing and all that shit.

Today when you see pictures of Nairobi in the NYT, The WP or such western papers you only see pictures of Kibra, the supposedly 2m people slum.

Is that Nairobi? Why is New York never depicted as a drug-addicts inner-city haven despite the fact that almost a quarter of its population is addicted to something and lives in what are essentially slums (by their standards)?

a

Confirmed Sisi ni fossils hapa

About western bias, You’re right. But Then, nothing prohibits local papers from negatively depicting the west. So your beef needs not be with western papers, but with local ones?

It’s kind of insulting. It depicts the “apex of civilization” against a backdrop of naivety and primitivity.

Really bro? im curious, Should it have kina orengo & grand mulla with pinstriped suits for it to be less insulting?

Sometimes art is just that…art…no need to read too much into it

Supplant them with Scottish men wearing kilts, or a Colt fitted with headgear pretending to be a pilot. It that is “art”? If so, we have different tastes.

How now! Nairobi prides itself as the only city in the world with a national park. Its good to be unique

Different strokes for different folks.

But…but…Scotts wear their kilts with pride and honour… Yet, we, are ashamed and offended when our own maasai do it.

That’s not it partner. The pride and and honor being used as a prop is the problem…

So we can agree to call this a two sided coin?:smiley:

Mobutu Kuku Wa banga ,alitumia hii maroundi zake, na waCongo hawaongei

OK, you can look at it that way. Did you read the part where the maasai stuck their fingers in their ears due to the incredible noise those blasted things make? Yaani they couldn’t even get them ear muffs - all they cared about was their snap shots and how much they’d be worth to them…:rolleyes:

With any luck, a wily lawyer in Ke picked up on that and saw $‘reparations’$…

PS: how the heck did they get a cheetah to sit still in the cockpit with headphones on? A semi-tamed one at that? They must have fed it first :cool: