Historians, àndú à nyùmba na Abandu ba ingo kujeni hapa

Wahenga na wahenguzi hawakupaka mafuta kwenye tako la chupa waliponena kuwa palipo na wazee, hapaharibiki jambo.

I was sitting with my dad and some of his chaps a few minutes ago and they were saying something that sounded strongly like a hekaya to me lakini hapo siwezi nikawaitisha mbisha.

Apparently there are only two groups of kyuks; those from Murang’a and wale walivuka mto chania wakakuwa wa Kiambu.
Wale wa Nyiri inasemekana are only kyuks by language, eti hao ni Maasais. How true/false is this?
And why is it that kyuks from Murang’a will say “Masaria” and others say “Masharia” (phonetically speaking)

And also there’s this Luhya clan calling themselves Bakhayo. Abandu ba ingo, mumborere tsi kari vuadieri (Thats all I know). Apparently they used to be a clan set aside to protect the Maasai’s as in provide warriors exclusively like Levites were set aside as priests but on reaching luhyaland decided to settle among the Luo who were there? Even to this day the Luos are still there and some of the Luhyas use some Luo words. How true is the Maasai clan part?

NB: I blame @Meria Mata for showing me I can get answers about our history

There’s little knun regarding ua querry…ION hapa hakuna wazee,the only mzee FieldCouch amelala

Natoka Nyeri and our family on my dads side has Maasai blood, my granddad was pure Maasai, that could explain why our clan has tall people. My daughter asked me what tribe she was nikashindwa kujibu, my dad is half kyuk half maasai, ol lady is Kyuk, my wife is half arab half Mzaramo, what do I tell her?

Nyeri kyuks can’t be maasai. Labda useme wa nyandarua ama laikipia.

Yeye ni mkenya. Hapo ukijaribu kukwamia moja utakuwa umeput down the rest

[ATTACH=full]12891[/ATTACH]

Hehehehe, sijasema nyinyi ni wazee. Nauliza kama mko na knowledge you share

It’s true. I know about five families who live in Nyeri but they have maasai blood. I would advise anybody who is not believing this story to go and do research. Maybe Kikuyus who are from Nyeri and are here do not know they family tree. Years ago kukuyus and maasai,s had no problem of intermainter marriage between them.

we only know our languages not ethnicity, genetic tests will surprise most of us. e.g there is no way a pure kikuyu can be either short and light skinned and tall and dark skinned. most of us are just assimilated

not only nyeri but most kikuyus have maasai blood, the kenyattas included. guess the origin of the name nyokabi came from these associations. Wokabi is an archaic kikuyu name for maasais and nyokabis were those sired by the maasais.

With genetic tests, will it be possible to find a pure kikuyu completely free of say maasai and or embu/meru/mbeere or samburu heritage?

That nyokabi part is true, maitú was one

Even Obako’s grandma was a Maasai.

Juu ya hii story, we can just say we are from the tribe of Kenya, subtribe ndio iwe tofauti juu intermarriages are in plenty

And apparently Raila claimed sometime back that his family’s lineage is in Luhyaland; something to do with the Wanga kingdom.

I agree. They can’t be Maasai. Which Maasai would be clobbered by the wifey, even if he drank 'till he shit his… his… red shuka?

and i realised its very hard kuskia mtu wa nyeri kwa kameme, coro,or inooro akitangaza ama akisoma news.seems kikuyu ya huko haitambuliwi.infact ata hakuna

Might be some truth in it, some of my uncles are extra tall na kuna mmoja hutembea ni kama anarukaruka. Coincidentally he married a maasai na akahamia kajiado akanunua hacienda huko.

gikuyu wa nyeri ni karinga wat r u talkin about?

me, i am a pure blood kikuyu