Hong Kong protesters slam LeBron James for comments about China, free speech

Lebron James has just tweeted, talking about police brutality in America regarding the late George Floyd. Back in 2018, Lebron also tweeted “-Injustice Anywhere Is A Threat To Justice Everywhere- Our Lives Begin To End The Day We Become Silent About Things That Matter- #ThankYouMLK50,” James wrote at the time.

[MEDIA=twitter]1266995951853395968[/MEDIA]

In light of these remarks in support of disenfranchised people, it therefore came as a surprise that LeBron refused to castigate China for her acts of brutality against Hong Kong protesters. Can someone say H-Y-P-O-C-R-I-S-Y? What happened to “injustice anywhere is injustice everywhere” when he decided to turn his back on the poor people of Hong Kong? Saying that Mr. Daryl Morey was uneducated for supporting students who’ve been tear gassed, shot at and beaten up by the CCP. Yaani even the NBA now bows down to China? Tsk tsk tsk!

LeBron James fanned the NBA’s China controversy on Monday, saying Rockets General Manager Daryl Morey “wasn’t educated” when he tweeted his support for pro-democracy protesters in Hong Kong.

“I don’t want to get into a … feud with Daryl Morey,” James told reporters, “but I believe he wasn’t educated on the situation at hand and he spoke.

[SIZE=5]“So many people could have been harmed, not only financially, but physically, emotionally, spiritually, so, just be careful what we tweet, what we say, what we do. Even though yes, we do have freedom of speech, there can be a lot of negative that comes from that.”[/SIZE]

This was James’ first public response to Morey setting off an international crisis earlier this month when he wrote on Twitter, “Fight for Freedom. Stand with Hong Kong.”

James’ Lakers and the Nets were in China, the league’s biggest market outside the U.S., this past week for the NBA preseason.

Multiple news conferences and other events were scrapped by the Chinese government in the lead-up to the games.

“I’m not here to judge how the league handled the situation,” James said. “I think that, when you’re misinformed or not educated about something, and I’m just talking about the tweet itself, you never know the ramifications that can happen and we all see what that did. Not only did for our league, for all of us in America, for people in China as well. Sometimes you have to think through things that you say that may cause harm to not only for yourself, but for the majority of people. I think that’s just a prime example of that.”

While in China, James implored the league and commissioner Adam Silver to speak out on the issue before the players, who feared being reprimanded, The Athletic reported on Monday.
https://nypost.com/2019/10/09/watching-first-hand-as-china-tears-away-from-nba/
The league previously released a statement supporting Morey’s free speech while also empathizing with those in China; however, a statement issued by the league in Chinese said[SIZE=5] the league was “extremely disappointed” by Morey’s “inappropriate” tweet, according to multiple reports.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=5]Morey has since apologized for his tweet,[/SIZE] and the NBA has no plans to punish him despite some calling for him to lose his job.

China has already dropped all Rockets television streaming, sponsorships and partnerships with the Houston franchise, which it had adopted as its own after Chinese native Yao Ming starred there during his eight-year career.

The U.S. is also currently in the midst of a trade negotiation with China.

https://nypost.com/2019/10/15/hong-kong-protesters-slam-lebron-james-for-comments-about-china-free-speech/

Purple once again proves she has the reasoning of a porcupine.

The Chinese have no standing to criticize LeBron James. LeBron has always protested and taken political stand within the US. He’s not only lent his voice but spent tens of millions towards improving the lives of those like him- born black and poor within the USA. LeBron has also made close to half a billion playing basketball and had a billion dollar contact with Nike.

China on the other hand is a communist state that imprisons a whole province if that what it takes to quell dissent. It is stupid for any US celebrity to think their tweet would mean anything to China. It was incredibly stupid for Daryll Morey to cost the league billions for no gain over Hong Kong.
It is in LeBrons best interests to preserve his income by not attacking China. This allows his to continue being rich and doing advocacy where it actually matters.

A dumb motherfucker like you would prefer LeBron is completely silent on a social issues because that’s what GOP would like. “Shut up and dribble nigger”.

You @Purple don’t care about Hong Kong… You even have a problem caring about Kenyans.

You sound like you just learned a new vocab word “porcupine” and had to practice using it.

Tunga sentensi ukitumia neno “porcupine.” :rolleyes: Eh?

Examine your life and weep over what you have become!!

I agree, anasahau her kid will be treated like akataas on the street by the cops … watu wanasahau who they are

Did you even read the article?

I’m so disappointed in you,candace Owen’s ni afadhali . You are a cancer to all immigrants is my conclusion. . I’m done with you.

You didn’t read the article at all. lol

What’s wrong with you people? The point of this article was to highlight the hypocrisy of Lebron James and by extension, the NBA, for refusing to support Hong Kong protestors who desire to enjoy the same freedoms that he enjoys in America.
Why do you love the commies so much?!

I want to block you , your title has no that button. Can you put it then once I’m done you hide it please I beg you

I also want to block you but I can’t. Sorry, deal with it.

Why do people even listen to what celebrities, especially basketball players, have to say?
Being famous doesn’t make you smarter or wiser or anything.
Lebron James is a canonical dumb hood negro who happened to be famous for being good in hitting balls against the floor.

you must respect madam, mzee mteso mjinga

Oh you mean James Lebron is not castigating the same China that is currently discriminating against Africans?? And yet you are talking of hypocrisy. You are the kettle, but I don’t think Lebron is pot, you are both.

Influence. People simply look up to these celebrities. Lebron has more influence on geopolitics that you do for instance.

Yeah we should only listen to nobodies like you who are full of wisdom.

Porcupine is new to you ? You are confirming my suspicions about you.

It also reflects to your hypocrisy on the same. Si Jana Kama watu wamelala umefungua thread terming those protesting In usa to be stupid.

The way you reason points to a familial trait, let me guess your grandfather was a paramount chief during colonial period?
The defference bl to mzungu is innate, you can’t help it.

Ulikuwa promised nyap na yeye…stop using your nzi shaped ganglia

Is comprehension not taught in schools anymore? This article is talking LeBron James and his willingness to throw Hong Kong under-the-bus in order to please his Chinese masters. Goes to illustrate how mainstream American celebrities have basically sold their souls to the CCP at the altar of money. They have no problem giving humanitarian speeches but when push comes to shove, they couldn’t stand the heat! Lebron James refused to utilize his privileged platform to expose what CCP is doing to the citizens of Hong Kong.

You’re welcome.