How cums SSD drives are these cheap?

are these prices reasonable? watu wa degree excuse me for today tafdhali…

[ATTACH=full]498209[/ATTACH]

Unataka iwe expensive? Ni kama flashdisk

I think you should go for one from a reputable company like Samsung for now. Jumia pia itakua umia usipochunga!

Did you just call a freaking SSD a flash disk? They are not anywhere near each other even though they are solid state. It’s like comparing a Bugatti Veyron vs a Toyota Prius because they are both cars. A standard NVME SSD is over 15 times faster than a flash disk.

The answer @Mungatanah is that they are some cons to it

1. The speeds. They are barely above what a fast hard drive can do. The random reads and rewrites are atrocius.
  2. Lack of DRAM. This is related to speeds and ultimately to how long lasting the SSD is. Without DRAM, it will eventually wear out out die.
  3. Cheap components used
  4. SATA SSDs didn’t quite catch on. NVME might have stolen the thunder. NVME SSDs are like 10 times faster. 500MB/S vs 7000MB/S. Samsung has hard drives that are as fast.

You should also be concerned with how long do those cheap SSD last.
Unaweza pata hizo SSDs hazimalizi 1 or 2 years.

was seeking an external SSD… itabidi tuamue hasara, they’re retailing at around 18k

Acha story mingi, iyo ni solid state disk.
Kwani hujui kuna flash disk ya 128gb na 512gb nani pesa kidogo

Google what the name ‘generic’ means it’s another name for ‘fake’

The brand name is “Generic.”

That’s your answer right there.

Storage devices aren’t just defined by the storage capacity. That’s why they are looking for a SSD instead of a Hard Disk

There’s a reason no one uses flash disks to run the OS or any apps. Flash disks serve to be portable. They are slow and have a high failure rate if you use them like you would use an SSD. They are rated for a very low number of read/writes and would fail really fast if used to run an OS because of the many many read/writes that happen per second.

Also, you seem not to know the prices of a 512GB flash disk. Those are also very expensive. The ones you see for cheap are most of the time fake and only 32gb at most.The capacity is faked. The real cheap ones are extremely slow. Can’t do 10MBPS. In comparison, a nvme SSD is 7500MBPS. That’s 750 times faster.

How dare you compare 2 items where one is 750 times faster than the other one?

Lack of DRAM cache

Si unaambiwa clearly ni Generic??

Na hii mnasema aje wadau? 5k for 1tb 10k for 2tb. I want to upgrade from a 500GB HDD.

[ATTACH=full]498279[/ATTACH]

Ukona maneno mingi sana kama mumama. Difference ni usb connection Vs interface

Iyo flash ukaeza toa usb connection uweke non- volatile memory express (NVMe) interface ya harddisk utakuwa sawa

SSD are technically flash drives:D

Inbosk me nikupe Samsung 870 EVO SSDs. 2.5". 500GB na 1TB. Na pia ukitaka Samsung 970 NVMe SSDs. 500GB na 1TB.

Bei?

Check out these prices and know exactly how fake that M.2 is…
https://www.xgamertechnologies.com/products/SSD/

Inbosk

I don’t know what has convinced you so thoroughly that ignorance can be substituted for knowledge.

Putting a smiley face and calling people “mumama” doesn’t help and should be left to when you have conversations with your fellow local glue sniffing chokora.

Thunderbolt ports have existed for years now. Thunderbolt 3 shares similar characteristics to USB 4.

The speeds of a thunderbolt 3/USB 4 port are up to 10,000MBps/80Gbits. Flash disks aren’t bottlenecked by the freaking port. They are just a different slower technology piece. Hell, they aren’t bottlenecked by even USB 3.0. A standard SSD will do over 350MBps over USB 3.0 just fine. A cheap flash disk cannot maintain 10MBps. Only the very expensive ones hit 100MBps, a speed they can’t maintain

Hehehe. These guys are the Mr Price of tech. I can’t compare prices with them.