How hard can it be?

Matatu mob huwa na turbo, pickups plenty huwa na turbo. Now i understand these vehicles see plenty of work and abuse. But still they run. Mbona watu wanahepa gari ya turbo sana and yet you clearly cannot abuse it as much as watu wa psv na pickups.
Secondly how bad is the fuel consumption? Say compare the power and Consumption of a 1500-2000cc turbo to a bigger engine say 2500 Naturally aspirated lets say subaru forester, impreza or legacy. Is it worthit? How hard can it be running that car?

mi siyo mechanic lakini, are u sure ma3s’ mingi hua na turbo kweli?

Tbh, I’ve never understood what the beef is with turbo cars. I have a pal who owns an n/a Legacy, and when he was asked why he didn’t buy a turbo one, he said “turbo ni mashida mingi”

So I asked him, “which shida exactly”? And he starts saying oh they’re complex, turbos blow engines… I just kept quiet when it became obvious that he has no idea what he’s talking about.

The only “issue” with a turbo is the cost of replacing. Other than that, there’s nothing wrong with it.

Turbos are nice.

[ATTACH=full]142590[/ATTACH]

Na hizi maswali si uulize Baraza wa DN2 tu

Kwani wewe ni @Dereva wa tuktuk huwes jibu?

Hi wacha tu bookmark tungojee makanika @introvert amalize hangover aje !

Uko sure matatu mingi huwa na turbo???

Cheza chini DO huyu ni fossil wa kijiji

Pris Pris ebu ukiona hio matatu iko na turbo unionyeshe tafsari .

My advice is to stay away from turbo engines unless you can afford it. e.g. For diesels ‘servicing’ a turbo at Kirinyaga Road can set you back 18k, and a replacement can cost as much as 70k… And yes Turbo engines blow/overheat more frequently than Normal ones due to higher temperatures & pressures involved

FH za ukambani ziko nayo…

The Toyota Hiace ‘Box’ mats ziko na 2KD or 1KD engines which have turbos

Are you my friend who owns the legacy?
When an engine is built for turbo, it’s tolerance has already been tested. Every factory makes their cars with safe limits, which means they can go a certain percentage higher else if they were exactly fitted, no turbo car would make it past 10k kms.

I somewhat agree with you especially 9f the following conditions are present :

1. The owner of the car doesn’t service the car na anaifinya vilivyo
  2. Increases boost level past the limits of tolerance

For the heat you speak of, the intercooler is there to reduce hot air going into the combustion chambers.

Hiace H200 (2KD, 1KD) and the earlier SuperCustom (1KZ-TE) are all turbo diesel. Only very few H200 use 5L-E NA engine. And of course their petrol variants are non-turbo.

Turbo charged cars are very pleasant to drive, but come with a high price tag especially when it comes to fuel consumption
Not recommended for town running , but super when you hit the open road

Under similar conditions of use (same load, distance, speed, etc) the 2500cc/ 3000cc 2KD/ 1KD turbo engines and 3000cc 1KZ-TE engines will consume about 1/2 to 3/4 of diesel fuel that 5l 3000cc NA engine will consume.

Edit: Highway driving, not start-stop town madness.

People peddle so many myths and plain half truths hadi unashangaa.

That guy is more of a humor writer than a motoring journalist. IMO.

Let’s be clear on one thing: you cannot run a turbo engine on a NA engine budget. Once you know that, a turbo diesel will last you a long long time.

Unless as an after-market fit. Closest to this is Mitsubishi Fuso Super Custom (quite common in Tz), an import that’s turbo powered. More like an FH on steroids.