How to Deal with Clients who wont pay (on time)

So you get contacted over a business opportunity,… Scan it and it appears credible, doable even… The client him/herself looks the part… Big car etc etc… not intimidated by the numbers… and actually seems to know exactly what they want., runs several succesfful business chains… Agrees on the payment terms but suggests first you do a concept paper just to indicate how you will do the job, timelines and budgets, you agree and he confirms to make a payment for your inital expenses when you complete and present first report to him…

You know your business terms are to take a down payment first, but since this opportuinity seems bigger and exciting, than most, you decide no harm in baiting the client before he goes for your competition…

So you set about out your resources, time, skills and lay out a swanky report complete with diagrams, charts and graphs and powerpoints… Fella likes the whole thing, you have your contracts out ready for signing etc etc, and you end the meeting with the guy promising to send the payment before end of day…

And this is where the nightmare begins, the day turns into a second, phonecalls are either mteja followed by a text promising to pay shortly or he calls back to revise the day they will pay and keep cycling like that, a week and a month later the fella hasnt paid a single dime, at least for the services and time you offered and he accepted to pay for…

You dont want to litigate or shame them on social media as that might shoo off future propective clients and ruin your litigation history for bigger future jobs… So Talkers how have you dealt with such business parasites before?..How did you make them pay for services rendered, and pay on time?..

The moment you agreed to move ahead without the down payment as stipulated on the contract is the moment you gave the clown the green light to screw you. Biachara is not for the faint hearted. Funny enough it appears you are more concerned with future clients. At this rate there will be none. Demand your money even if it means litigation or shaming on shosho media. It is obvious that clown is not going to give you any business after all.

This script is all too familiar and you got caught up in that mess… At this point in my work life i know my value nobody will entice me commit my funds/resources with the promise of a big contract. Before i do anything commitment fee must be paid upfront otherwise kanyaga kubwa kubwa. For actual works to start the contract must be signed and 50% deposit to paid in my official business account … in such cases you will be very luck to get your money back.

You can use this experience to learn, make better choices for the next contract, swallow the kiwaru deeply so you never forget. NVchieth

It sucks when people are dishonest. You may have to chalk this experience to a lesson well learnt and move on with life.

Kiiihiiii… You have nothing to teach except clickbaiting…

I would be really interested to know the technique folks have used to salvage something out of such a situation here…

Waswahili husema mtaka Cha mvunguni sharti achune sukuma… So najua ni wengi tushachnishwa hapa, so how did you rise up and say, my turn…

I am obviously counting my losses, am not here to be told shoulda woulda… Anybody can do that,… Looking for a salvage position… lasima tuende draw angalau…

Nataka nijue wangapi wamewahi score from such a disadvantaged to client position… Na vile walicheza,… While being descreet from the market shenanigans, na VAR (the law) ikasema play on…

The first mistake you made is by subconsciously thinking that somebody driving a big car is trustworthy.
Kwanza hao ndio wabaya.
When you’re dealing with a new client, don’t assume anything.

kĮhiiiiiii humbwa koko ya manspaa chiet taktak ibilisi

Spare this guy the wrath.You’ve been too consistent on dissing him

It was a bad day in office but the most important thing is to pick a lesson from that deception to eschew future reoccurrence

:D:D:Dhe should double efforts, don’t worry

Mistake number one… anyone driving a big car is not trustworthy. Number 2… insist on a downpayment hata before doing anything remotely connected to the deal. Number 3… hio deal imepotea since nothing was signed. He took your idea and either did it himself or got someone to do it cheaply. Number 4… never trust a Kenyan kwa biz… atoe downpayment ama atembeze kiatu. Never ever jifanya wewe ni msee mpoa kwa biz utaoshwa.

Only offer services after they’ve been paid for. Peana services on credit kwa customers wako wa kila siku, wenye wamekupatia biashara mzuri in the past. Heri customers wadogo wanalipa as agreed than customer mkubwa mkora.

kĮhiiiiiii humbwa koko ya manspaa chiet taktak ibilis

sage advice in the jungle of Kenya… people here are very dishonest. OP mi sina la kuongezea ju pia mi nimeoshwa na nikajuawhat it is like to be between wale wanyama wa merchant of venice Scylla n Charibdis nikakunja mkia nikasoma funzo… it wasn’t much money mine but vile nilikua hustler it still meant alot. As said na wengi learn this very expensive lesson that you’ve bought with your resources (consider it biz school education tuition) and next time utachora game ata VAR haitaweza pokonya… stick to those gunz ikifika gameplan. Some businesses ata like supply of produce have such dilemmas, especially for produce that spoils quickly… they (clients) know they have you by the balls wanajua ukikaa nazo zitabeat tu n u’l make massive losses so u gamble on dererred payment kumbe wao wanakuruka and they pocket the cash. Hapo sasa nikajua biashara is to never engage in activities that you are very much at the mercy of market forces without a buffer… the kind you can spend on delivering your end only to be left ukikojoa na mjulus into the wind pissing on yourself… Anyway, pole

Sandi Sana omwami… ata Niko na hussle ingine ya agribiz… Kama hiyo iko na wakora kuruka!.. Lakini hiyo natambua Sana vile kujistiri… Majambaz ni wengi manze…

Inafaa for Kenya to develop, lazima hii CBC iweke unit ya business ethics mahali hapo ndani… Vile walitufanyia Enzi za the tough Moi Era days na story za mapenduzi everywhere… azawise wadau wanaona biasharani kuoshana tuu… Very wrong and unsustainable longterm

Hii ya professional services ndio ilinitoka …