coriander

For the rice:

2 cups rice

4 cups water

2 teaspoon oil

Yellow food colour with a little water

Salt to taste

Method

Marinate the chicken with half of the garam masala, curry powder and lime juice. Mix well and set aside.

In a pan over medium heat, add the vegetable oil, fry the garlic and ginger, saute for 2 minutes.

Partly crush the whole pilau mix, add it in the pan then add the marinated chicken. Saute for 2 minutes, add tomatoes, tomato paste and yoghurt, then stir to coat the chicken.

Add the potatoes, sprinkle fried onions on top then let it cook while you add in the lime juice. Bring it to a boil then cover and let it cook until reduced (about 10 minutes on medium heat).

Meanwhile, measure 4 cups of water and add two cups of rice. Cover and cook until the rice is partly cooked. Drain the water.

Sprinkle the diluted yellow food colour and 2 tablespoons of the oil used to fry onions on the rice and cover with a tight lid.

Put it on low heat so that the rice can steam.

Serve on a large sinia with the sauce (rojo) on top.

[ATTACH=full]255436[/ATTACH]

Chef marinator @Gio alienda wapi?

Muindi mambo .

@Mrs Shosho am waiting for your meal

Wacha nijaribu our mukimo…mbishas you have to wait kidogo.

In my local village we do things by estimation.

So we put the nyungu on the fire of kuni with hard maize to boil first.
Then we pour in the minjis and potatoes and let them boil together and some salt. Never do it separately…the fusion taste is what we are after.
Then keep checking and stirring and let it simmer quietly. There is nothing better than food cooked on mwaki wa mahiga. Or jiko.
Drain the water, by bending the pot over a besheni with a cover on. We do not want any injuries.
Then grab your muiko and marsh them altogether. Keep at it.
In 15 minutes you are good to go.
However we need some accompaniment for it. Coming up soon.

Our posts crossed paths but keep the forum going.

Napenda food tu XANAH!

After the roast tortoise debacle he had to rebrand. His current is obvious although he doesn’t talk about food.

will be waiting for your mokimo one

How do you get half of the rice grains to be orange and the other half white?

Hizo za orange ni caratts omwami

saffron water or food colour

kumbe kumarinate ni nini??? ile kumarinate mi nilikua najua… wacha tu.:stuck_out_tongue: