How Turkana Wind Power Land Was Acquired.

[ATTACH=full]210274[/ATTACH]

LTWP got 150,000 acres of land. African Uncensored did an amazing documentary about this injustice. The Turkana people were just pushed aside like as if they’re not human beings. John-Allan Namu did a great documentary about it last year.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3LP0oToc4E

This lady, Okiya and Apollo Mboya to some extent need to be given OGW. She is smart.

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Kina Alai na Githeriman nao wapewe gani?;

Mama awekele picha ta title deed na supporting evidence money transfer details account number etc effidence ya ktalk is very high

Is a whole load of bullcrap.
The land that LTWP stands for was specifically chosen because it is one of the most useless land areas of the country.In order to graze a single cow, you would need 10 acres and that is in the middle of the rainy season. The land is only used as a transit point by the Rendille going towards Laisamis and southwards and the Gabra going north towards Sarabel .The Turkana, although present, have no claim to the land there, as it is in Marsabit. They are not native to the region. The Number of Rendille in the entire area did not number more than 20. And there are no settlements, not even Manyattas due to the area being hostile to even Pastoralists. The eastern Bushland and shrubs part is so windy a Manyatta would not last even a week.
The western part of that land towards the lake is purely Volcanic plugs, Lava flows and pyroclastic rocks that cut your leather shoes to pieces. Absolutely nothing grows there until you reach the El Molo shacks on the lake shore.
As for the Turkana being pushed aside.
They are not even the natives there .If you were talking about, say like the 20 Rendille found there and the El Molo, then Yes, but Turkana???Heri ungesema WaSamburu, at least they are nearby in the Southern Tip of the lake, not very far from the site
Also the land was County Land, like since independence.
The Northerners and sabotaging projects is a norm.
I remember when KETRACO surveyed the wayleave for the Ethiopia to Suswa power line. Within a month, they had built manyattas on the wayleave and were claiming that they had been there for 35 years and thus demanding compensation when the Ministry was 100% sure no structures were on the wayleave during the time it was surveyed.

And btw, the best place to build a wind power plant is on Mount Marsabit itself. And that was what LTWP wanted, but they chose the current site to avoid the land issues that Mount Marsabit already has

You gotta love Ktalk,facts and counter facts.There is always another side to the story.

True, nilisema hapa hii land ni useless when you consider not only the size of Marsabit county but also the population and it’s economic activity. 150,000 acres is very tiny and LTWP are actually doing them a favour by introducing civilization to these people.

Kikuyus arent natives in the rift - si wakitolewa for a government project itakuwa sawa?

Where Kikuyus live no one else except the Maasai can claim that the place is theirs(and they do not bother) and in some places, it was forest and they were the first(Molo, Kuresoi South, Subukia). Also, they legitimately own that land in most cases, whether they bought it through land buying companies (most of them)or were resettled there by the British(minority).There is no Kikuyu on county land.The land is theirs
Can you show me who owned the land where LTWP stands???Where are their title deeds???That would be a falacy as that land is County land. And again , the Turkana??There are no Turkana on that side except at Lonygalani who are mostly fishermen(more live there since the festival was introduced though) And even there they are temporary, moving back to Turkana by boat most of the year.
Had they said Rendille, that would be a slightly different story. They do claim the area, even if it is an empty part of their territory as in theory, their land end where the El Molo settlements(old and current) begin at the Lake. But as mentioned, the entire land had around 20 Rendille and they were transiting through. Not permanent settlers.
Wa Turkana wanaingilia wapi???

It is ok to keep as long as the original owner does not bother? how fucked up is that line of thought? I thought you are interested in honest sober thoughts.

Sasa niulize, juu the place is a dessert na turkana hawajakatazwa kulisha ng’ombe huko, wantakaje. Me thinks this mega projects should not allow their employees to trade or buy anything form the locals. No it will create a local economy and a fake land crisis juu worthless dessert land imekuwa na value sasa. This is how US barracks operate globally. They do not buy or benefit the local community in any way to avoid a fake bubble economy form forming near them

And who would be the original owner in the case of LTWP??The Rendille do not claim it even if it is within what is considered theirs.What would they do with Volcanic plugs???
That is like someone claiming Mount Kenya.
In the case of the Rift, the original owners gave up their land.Willingly if I remember the deal between the Laibon of that time and the British.Otherwise why target the Kikuyu???Last I checked, the Nandi have no right to be in Uasin Gishu nor the Luhyia ,Nandi and Kisii in Trans Nzoia as well.That is also Maasailand. Same to the Luhyia of Lugari. That was the western limit of the Maasai before the British. Luhyias appeared there in the 60s.
They are not bothering with that land either and they could own half of Kakamega if they did.
So is Nairobi up to Chiromo. Are you going to be philanthropic and remind the Maasai that the very place you occupy belongs to them?Give it back perhaps…SMH.
You sir need to re-evaluate your thinking