Huawei Y9 Prime 2019

Decent device with decent specs…

Looks so much like its cousin Y9 2019 only difference is that…

It has 3 back cameras
Pop up selfie camera
USB type C
Internal mem 128GB

price 24,999/-

I believe the best phone to own at this time in the world of smartphones is one that’s upwards of 40K and above. Zamani @Deorro alikua anatuonya kuhusu hizi entry level smartphones kuwa their specs and chips (or something like that) huwa ziko overclocked. I would say they cut many corners to come up with gadgets that have the specs like those of the Huawei Y9 prime and at similar prices. Ikiwa I can’t afford to buy a decent current flagship, I would rather go back two or three years and buy a true flagship beast of it’s time that has been discounted significantly. A flagship horse will always be majestic.

Or rather go for a midrange naomi device that doesn’t pretend to be high-end and at the same time comes with builds better than a flagship of three years ago or get a cheap flagship by same oem at the expense of you being the product.

Solution, root it and flash custom rom (my preference is aex) and really enjoy butter smooth android experience.

When I was younger, I was obsessed with specs sheets for phones. Nowadays, however:
If a phone has -

1.More than 2GB RAM - I only use 6 apps. Reddit,Youtube Vanced, A browser,Poweramp and a VPN client(Blokada) . If a phone can keep those in memory, I don’t give a hoot about those 8GB ram phones

2.32GB ROM- to keep my apps and music. The occasional game. I have no photos on my phone. They are all on Google Photos. I stream music from Newpipe or Youtube Vanced. 64GB ROM! For what use! Pictures? No, I am not that obsessed with my face

1. A decent processor. Just barely above Entry level processors. I don’t need a S855 to browse Reddit. A S730 is overkill. Anything above the S425. Think S625. Or even the Mediatek P22.

2. Android 7/8. Some apps are dropping older android versions. I have seen apps with android 6 requirements. Otherwise, I don’t give a hoot about 9 or Q. Q has Dark mode. But so does the 4 apps that I use.

3. Battery and Screen. Anything 720p and above. 1080p as maximum. Battery is dependent on phone android skin and optimization . I have seen a 3300mah Samsung battle out with a 4000mah Infinix and win by 2 hours.

The other crap, I simply don’t care. If someone gave me a phone with no cameras, I wouldn’t notice. The UI is a non issue to me. I just slap Nova launcher on it and won’t notice the non stock android EMUI or MIUI.

I never said such a thing. that was Jazzman who recommended buying older flagships.

what you need to read about first is how processors work and how GPUs work. Next you need to understand why there are various processors and `gpu for every price point even for desktops if we use intel’s consumer lineup then there is i7, i5, i3. on the mobile front if we use Qualcomm then there is SD 800 series for flagship, 600 series for midranges and 400 series for low range. On smartphones, we dont refer to single processors but the whole unit called system on chip aka soc which contains the processor, modems, gpu etc because socs use less space and power as compared to desktop processor, gpu, memoory being in differet places

[ATTACH=full]245708[/ATTACH]

once you understand that, you will know why phones with flagship socs cost more than those with midrange which cost more than those with low range.

overclocking is a different topic on it’s own. manufacturers already experimented on their own and determined the best clock speed that your phone will run at. overclocking at higher clocks might cause overheating

onto if older flagships are better than current midrange… they are only slightly better in GPU performance. In CPU performance current midranges will comfortably beat older flagships.

my opinion, unless you are getting that old flagship at some really cheap price like 10k, wachana nayo. a current midrange device will be better.

if I was to choose between a pixel 1 from 2016 and a Xiaomi redmi note 7 from 2019, I would go for the xiaomi.

also, xiaomi with their Pocophone prooved that you can make a very good flagship phone at 30k
blackberry prooved that you can sell shitty phones at 40k+
a 10k xiaomi will get more updates than a 50k LG

that Huawei phone is a very good phone at that price. I would recommend it to anyone who can afford it. but personally, I would go for `Xiaomi redmi note 7 at that price because Adreno is better than Mali and also because of Root

Bora simu ikuwe na RAM ya 3GB kwenda juu I don’t care.

Got a RN7 juzi still tweaking it kuna thread uliwahi weka ukiuliza zile apps mraiya ime install nisaidie na link tafasari

Why are people obsessed with flagship phones? Kwani what special thing do they do with those phones? You won’t develop an explosive app on that phone, You won’t detonate a bomb nor control a drone using it wacha nitulie na Y7 bila kusumbua

Heheheee!
Kuna jamaa atasema hii yako ni peasant reply!
Lakini, hata kibandani kwa mama kevoo huwa kuna chai na chai special. Nyama pia utasikia karanga Na fry! Do you get the drill? A true flagship is truly excellent!

SD 625 is outdated shit

I would still pick it.
Anything above entry level actually. All I do is launch the 4 apps that I use. That’s it. Those apps would run battery smooth even in a 7 year old phone. As long as the RAM can keep them in memory, IDGAF.

what apps do you need root ama?

stop clinging to old myths. if you want a decent lower tier midrange soc then go for SD 630 series. SD 632 is way more efficient and better in all aspects than SD 625. don’t miss out on newer better products because of nostalgia

Niliipata

Very true. Today all phones running Android are very much similar and the differences are not easily noticeable at all. We are at a point where phones need not to get any better because all apps can basically run on any decent smartphone. All this brands are basically offering the same thing as long as they run Android. There only exist minor differences with the Software skins otherwise they are just similar to each other. So Xiaomi, Huawei, Oppo n the rest just offer one and the same thing.
I think if you want something that stands out then get an iPhone. The OS and hardware are different. But most importantly the Brand name which also happens to be the strongest brand name ever to exist in the world.

Xiaomi, Oppo and huawei offer the same thing? Nope. To begin with Huawei is just another Nokia with a poorer CPU one year down the line in the midrange arena.

When we advice netizens to go for a decent midrange we look at CPU and GPU power and speed vis a vis battery consumption rate, developer base support and few things like which manufacture releases kernel sources earlier.

Back to Huawei, in the midrange arena you get a very powerful CPU but a meh GPU, consequence is high battery drain on idle state and usage. Secondly, huawei don’t believe in its midrange, they rarely offer Gorrilla glass.

Oppo on the other end their specialty is making Kevlar phones on the outside, very sturdy gadgets but fail in CPU and GPU. They also take time to release kernel sources in some of their devices, its a hit or miss here.

Now, lets go to xiaomi, this is one company that cares not what you do with your device, they give you great hardware screen and body, greater cpu and gpu, release kernel sources in two or three months time, has wide developers base, very cheap too but their policy is you are the product but if you know what you are doing you can easily cut this cord.

Back to you, as illustrated above, phones are not equal, get the decent device and enjoy better battery life and android experience.

I think you totally missed my point.
I don’t give a hoot about processors. I will take the lowest of the lowest as long as it can render websites smoothly and run the 6 lightweight apps that I use.

What nostalgia though? I am not old enough to have nolstagia over processors. My earliest smartphone was a Nokia Asha 306 with Symbian OS S30. Then a Nokia phone with Symbian S60. If that Nokia still supported Telegram, Full Youtube Vanced, Reddit client(Relay, Sync) and a HTML5 browser, I would still be using it. Mark you, Nokia’s had crappy processors at that time because Symbian OS and Meego OS are very lightweight making them run smooth. I know they are crappy because I have run the PPSSPP emulator on them as a test and they barely run a game demo at 5fps.

I care for very few things on a smartphone. A 720p screen. Keeping the 5 lightweight apps that I use in memory. A good battery(just 7 hour SOT). That’s it. I don’t care if a processor takes eternity to launch an app. After it launches, it will stay in memory for months if I have a say in it. It will never reload.

hapa ni uwongo. try using Pixel for a week, thenn use Nokia for a week then use Samsung for a week then use Xiaomi’s MIUI for a week. The experience is really different. each have their own unique features in their skins. That is the beauty of android. even custom roms are kinda different from each other

Well it narrows down to a choice between variety and exclusivity. Only that you cannot get both from the same device