Huawei

Google has suspended business with Huawei.
The impact is Huawei phone holders will never access Google Inc products like Android, Google Playstore, Gmail, Hangout etc

Huawei made it impossible to unlock the bootloader last year, saizi watu wangekuwa wanainstall custom roms. If you own a huawei device just like @denis young the future doesn’t look very bright

Good news, hoping this is the start of a new and better OS from the tech giant independent of Android and Apple, but in the short term its gonna hurt Huawei.

As an iPhone user …I dont get this peasants’ gibberish

huswei are loosing it big time

Trump is a jack ass. Yaani ameamua lazima aangushe Huawei chini liwe liwalo.

This sets a very bad precedent and a warning to other smartphone companies. Ferk with the mighty US we will ferk you too.
It wont end well for google in the long term.

ango drump anataka kuangusha number one phone maker? bora tu asiguze yangu yenye niko nayo saa hii. they can batter each other.

200 million units shipped in 2018, despite a partial ban in the US. Huawei will not fall. Android is a very easy OS to fork, all those Google apps have alternatives. I know Google had to do this to comply with American sanctions, but China is in a position to retaliate against any American tech giant. Another thing, most people don’t care what software their phone has, so long as it works. That’s why some people still buy those obsolete java-enabled phones. People will buy something because they’ve been convinced through marketing that it’s good for them.

Mafala wangeallow bootloader unlocking hizi shida hawangekua wanasumbuia nazo watu.

Stop sugar coating hell, Huawei is fucked, do you know the effort needed to develop/customize an OS , maintain an app ecosystem , support app development ?? not in a month… right now i will think twice before i buy a phone with an unstable OS where apps and updates are not guaranteed.

They will not collapse but they will lose so much revenue and footing from their competitors who are not asleep right now…

You’re the naive one if you expect a company with annual revenues of over $100 billion to get fucked simply because “Google has withdrawn support”. Secondly, they don’t need to come up with a brand new OS, just fork Android, which is very very easy for a company of that size. It’s very easy for them to have their own version of Android that is still compatible with official Android apps. Most OEMs actually add layers to Android, which is why Google introduced the Pixel smartphones, to show how Android in its purest form should be. Thirdly, Huawei phones don’t suddenly stop working because an announcement has been made.

America cannot kill Huawei, which is why they were trying so hard to armtwist their “allies” into joining them. The American market is negligible to Huawei, their carriers were already barred from selling the company’s smartphones. Congress also banned Huawei and ZTE from bidding for networking tenders. That did not stop the company from earning $100 billion in revenues. Next year tutakuwa hapa, tutaona kama itakuwa affected hivo vile unasema.

The fact of the matter is 97% (citation needed) of consumers don’t care about what OS their phone runs on. They look for stupid shit like cameras. Mambo ya ram, processor bla bla bla ukiambia Wanjiku ni kama greek. Yeye anajua aliona Tecno, Huawei ama Infinix kwa TV na hiyo ndio anataka.

You sound emotional but businessmen are not emotional the way you are,they follow the money… a substantial number of dealers will not take a risk with Huawei stock for some few weeks until they see how the company answers back.
And you think all that effort of such a huge company, forking an OS to support millions of devices is as simple as said,
As i have said , Huawei will not collapse but they have been take back at least half an year… and the other manufacturers are not asleep…

The -ve publicity itself is enough to make them loose billions of dollars.

And you are a bit ignorant for saying consumers don’t care about the OS - if that was so , Nokia would still be a dominant player with their superior hardware …in fact if you asked former Nokia executives to describe to you in one word why it collapsed, the answer would be just one - (ANDROID) or lack of it. The OS and the support platform is the soul of consumer devices.

And by the way, most products you consume as a customer are determined by so many factors before they get to you, you make a very small part of the decision tree… this is because consumers don’t buy directly from factories…

Ahem…a gathering of experts at it again

Ngoja ule mwenda wazimu wa paragraphs afike ndio utajua this is nothing yet

Now if someone can’t still understand this over-synthesised explanation ,there shall be no need to pen anything else in future in relation to this Huawei thing…

Huawei will be safe. It’s that simple. They have an entire government backing them. The US will cede ground. That’s for sure.

Lakini the damage this has done to Google is irreparable. I have followed tech trends for a while now and I remember tech-guys criticizing android for its inability to offer a stable usable version. Google got behind it and made lots of promises and the rest is well… Tech companies have lots of cash floating around with nowhere to spend. If they start focusing on an open source OS with serious backing from major players. Then YouTube, Google, Facebook and all other closely associated players will suffer. It’s the beginning of the end.

If history is anything to go by, it has shown the tech world that device makers are not good with software ecosystems, the only device maker that has cracked this is apple, but look at their history, OS was a core part of their offering since the days they started making PCs.

Microsoft could however be in a position to upstage google and apple on the mobile, but we are back to square one again,…USA…

This is an area we need to take seriously as Kenyans… software is the soul, you conquer it, you rule the computing world.

We have been there.Done that.Failed every time.
Nokia with Symbian, then Windows.Remember Nokia with Symbian was the largest phone manufacturer and when it adopted Windows, it was only second to Apple.
Same to Samsung’s experiment with Tizen. How has that gone ???
or Amazon’s Fire OS which is based on Android??
Thirdly, a Chinese based OS will be accused of the same things Huawei is being accused of now and phone manufacturers will be discouraged from taking it up.

Last I checked Andriod IS OPEN SOURCE!
Given that several OSes like Amazon’s OS, Xiaomi’s OS and Mozilla OS are all Android based, only they do not and cannot have Play Store.They have their own stores, which have made them very unpopular.