Identifying Car Models.

Can someone explain to me why majority of Kenyans always like to refer to cars as “New Shape”.Vehicle sellers and buyers alike, refer to every used import landing on the kenyan shores as new shape.Why can’t kenyans simply identity a car by the year of manufacture.e.g just call it a 2013 Premio,2015 Range Rover sport or a 2016 BMW X5M, not “new shape”!

because a year of manufacture can have two different facelift fashions of the same model

Ata second hand dealers wakona showroom…

I get your point,but what I find funny is referring to a car that was made Six years ago as ‘new shape’.

Yenyewe. Saa hii ukienda sokoni utanunua w212 ya 2012 watu wote kwa kijiji watasema uko na w212 mpya new shape na ni gari mwanaume amekaliza matako miaka sita huko japan ama UK.

:smiley: we are actually Six or eight years behind on the auto calendar. This can partly be explained by the difficulty in accessing credit. In the U.S. or Europe, it is very easy to get lines of credit and get the latest model. Alafu trade-ins are many at the auto dealership. I remember Trevor Noah in one of his shows stating that when he first arrived in the U.S. he tried getting a car by paying cash and the Asian car seller was not willing to sell him the car that way. Most people are used to credit. Even paying simple bills like restaurant or hotel bills they prefer doing so using a credit card. Cash is frowned upon.

Ya tuko nyuma tu kama matako:D But by new shape they usually mean facelift. Kama hiyo example ya e-class w212 ilikuwa 2009 to dec 2012 wakamake facelift kubwa sana kwa hiyo model (biggest ever facelift on a mercedes model) bila kubadilisha model name yenyewe. Watu wakinunua sparepart lazima waulizwe ni old ama new generation w212. All that despite the fact that the current e class model is w213.

venye huyu amesema. even some model years don’t get noticeable facelifts from the previous year.

If find them ignorant or just clueless.

Hawa ndio wale huita gari flani V8.

Hahahaaa… na wengine utasikia model inaitwa “compressor” na ingine utasikia “intercooler”. But the most creative ni premio: “nyoka”, “ya kati”, “ya sasa”. My little boy told me ile itakuja itaiwa “salamander”:smiley:

I think Toyota should consider renaming this specific car as just “V8” only for the Kenyan market:D

So you can have newer, new shape in one year?

Okay,but a car dealer in Mombasa or Nairobi should be able to put an ad and clearly say he’s selling for example a 2014 Toyota Premio,not just advertise the car as Toyota premio New shape

N

Not really, I meant you can have a facelift in June so the units of that particular year can have two very different versions of the same model.

I also think the word model is confusing. If you take for example what is e class? Is it a model name? Most people will say it is. But in reality e class w123, w124, w210, w211, w212, and now w213 are successive e class models in their own right. Further to that there are two or three facelift versions of each of these models.

Wewe lazima ni casual laborer pale DT Dobie:D:D:D:D

he’s advertising according to how a majority of would be buyers will identify the model. Only a few informed buyers care about the nitty gritty such as model year, whether CVT or plain AT, etc.

Hahahaaa… not really. I am a car enthusiast. I like mercs i have owned several different models including having two different e class models at a time among other cars.

Only in kenya my fren,you are right with the year of manufacture,no two car models of the same are manufactured the same year e.g the Vits,range sport versions and merc,they will be a year apart,so,for car connoisseur they should be able to differenciate

@Tom Bayeye: Note. An early 2006 w211 has sbc brakes, the late 2006 w211 has normal abs in addition to different tail lights, different balancer shaft on m272 engine, different grill, mouldings etc. The time stamp on the seatbelts for both the old and facelift is 2006.