If only the goverment could...

If only the government support and fund scientific innovation and R & D in this country.
It’s shameful for the government to fund National Commission for Science Technology and Innovation with less than 1 Billion.
Some Kenyan Innovations

Mavuno Water Pump by NMC
it can work in a borehole maximum depth of 8meters. They have a 5.5Hp (15,000), 6.5Hp (22,000) and 9.0Hp(32,000)
[ATTACH=full]107432[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]107426[/ATTACH]

Lathe Machine by NMC
[ATTACH=full]107427[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]107434[/ATTACH]

Brick maker by NMC
https://nmcorpkenya.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/img_20160125_111009.jpg

Engineering students at the University of Nairobi with a suction machine they designed for clearing a newborn’s airways
[ATTACH=full]107435[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]107428[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]107429[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]107430[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]107431[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]107436[/ATTACH]

@introvert hizi zinatengenezwa na NMC zinaitwa aje?
https://scontent.fnbo1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13407302_1156073644451930_6647605031354165844_n.jpg?oh=6465d7d9a22b6af0a09edab38e66817e&oe=59CF6902
https://scontent.fnbo1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13434891_1156074584451836_1993925568104618752_n.jpg?oh=960b17efba07be5ff99d7e8f864ca752&oe=59D58AB3

depth?

Who says it doesn’t? Have you talked to KIRDI?

I know that, but the amount so too little.
Scientific budget should be over 10 billion per year

Well at that price one can get a way-way-more powerful pump.
Unless the government bans importation of goods similar as those designed, developed and built in the country, investing in such would not be viable.

This guy is talking about “suction head” in metres. But again, isn’t this the design suction for other pumps and you can only utilize 6m safely?

Noted.

I guess if there was real demand for the funds it could be planned and budgeted for.

R&D budgets should not be less than 7% of one’s revenues. In this case, science funding should be >=7% of our national budget.

[quote=“EngineerLMG, post:9, topic:117678”]

R&D budgets should not be less than 7% of one’s revenues. In this case, science funding should be >=7% of our national budget.
[/QUOTE/)

True engineer but you don’t just allocate money if there is no uptake. The idle capacity in our national polytechnic s tells you we have a shortage of people who should be taking up such funds.[/QUOTE]

8meters ni kidogo. borehole i suppose they are dug in those arid and semi arid areas where the water table is waaaaayyyy much below. it can go up to 70feet

70ft is a shallow well. A borehole is hundreds or thousands meters deep.

Boss, we cannot even print ballot papers locally we need to “import” that service.

Kuna ingine ilichimbwa huko mashinani ya 110 ft deep.

We have the capacity to print those things locally, RAMCO wana machines serious sana. Ujinga ni trust, no one will trust a Kenyan firm, wewe umeona papa hapa mafala wakisema mwarabu haaminiki, they only want firms based in the U.K or U.S.A, sasa watasema nini about a firm based pale Mombasa road

Still a shallow well. A borehole has to reach an aquifer.

This is good stuff,