If this is true it's a worse deal than awful SGR

[MEDIA=twitter]1143880565629870082[/MEDIA]

THIS FINANCIAL AND ENVIRONMENTAL MONSTROSITY SHOULD NOT SEE THE LIGHT OF DAY!

Let’s wait for more details

Hiyo deal i know chris kirubi has something to do with it he was exposed by the arrogant mullah on JKL 4 years ago.

spear said it is clean na mkakubali. :smiley:

“Green coal” he called it or something to that effect.

Haya wacha Gachetha ajaribu kucheza na nuclear mwuone Chernobyl hapa. And yet we have so much sun, wind, hydro, geothermal etc etc etc etc.

Chernobyl will not happen soon. Kenya is never the first in Africa to do anything when it comes to energy. It’s usually Nigeria, Ghana, Ethiopia , Tanzania, Uganda and not in any particular order. And not including SA.

Hii kitu iko at advanced stages and if Gathecha is greedy like kawaida he could fast track the process even faster.

Yesterday nilikuta parliament wakiwa 2nd reading of the NUCLEAR REGULATORY BILL.

It was a very sober debate. It is clear that jubilee wants it. One M.P however cautioned that nuclear power requires a lot of water. There was also the usual warnings concerning disposal of nuclear waste na protection of water sources and soils.

Jubilee wako na njaa ya hii tender. Kwanza vile Kimunya anaitetea na manjaa. Nuclear debate starts at hour 2.

Disposal site iwekwe nyeri

hapana iwekwe Moiben kwa ile nyumba ya private developer. Ako na river yake personal na dam. Reactor ziwekwe hapo Koilel farm.

In my opinion, we should be building a coal plant, but in Kitui, where there is coal and we can dictate the price of coal being sold to the power plant and by extension, generate cheap power.
I usually do not completely trust some of the Western Think Tanks on energy policy. Their aim is to use developing nations as experiments when it comes to certain economic policies. For example, the push for renewable energy, currently developing nations are being pressured to use green energy, even though the cost and reliability may styme industrial growth.
No nation has industrialized on Wind and Solar and at present, we simply cannot, as long as Solar is silicon based, meaning maximum conversion of sunlight to energy peaks in the mid 30 percents and so long as wind takes up so much land that in order to satisfy 2018 energy needs, without adding fossil fuels, you would have to have a wind farm the size of Russia.
While it is true that Geothermal makes us unique in the sense that few nations have it as a renewable source of energy, it is also very expensive to exploit.
Mind you, we have seen these Green energy fundamentalists, who are also often against nuclear power, (despite the fact that from Generation 3 plus, Nuclear power is actually greener than Solar) wreck some states in the West. Read up on what happened in Ontario when the Liberal party came to power and subsidized solar and wind.Canada is not exactly sunny and wind power is available the most when it is needed the least, at night, when it cannot compete with base power producers like Nuclear and Hydropower. The current scare on coal seems to forget one thing. Coal usually pays itself out if it is locally sourced.That is why nations like China pay 8 cents per kilowatt hour for power. Solar and Wind heavily rely on subsidies(developed nations) or high fixed tariffs(Lake Turkana Wind power at 8.5 cents per kilowatt hour, when the UK gets the same for 5.5 to 6 cents and the Garissa Solar Plant at 12 US cents per kilowatt hour) to work and remember, the wind power is generated the most at night and between the months of September-October and May while Solar power peaks at midday to mid afternoon when it is not needed much. The excess power is still paid for.
Meanwhile we have to switch on akina Triumph, Thika Power and Ibera Africa at 5 pm every day despite having these green sources.
If those 19 cent per kilowatt hour power plants can be replaced by a 6 cent per kilowatt hour coal plant using local coal, imagine the amount of forex saved from importing fuel oil, as well as the drastic cut in power prices we would get?

Countries with no shortage of money and expertise are shutting down their nuclear and coal plants. Sisi hapa we can’t even deal with drainage system for seasonal rains tunataka kujenga nuclear.

Nuclear won’t happen though. Mostly because either IAEA would not allow it and/or kina Westinghouse/Mitsubishi/Areva hawataki liability Uhuruto and his boys wants to tenga a few billion for “feasibility study”, wameze then they’ll announce they’ve aborted.

On the other hand coal is happening despite being even more stupid.

Power companies in America are closing their coal plants. Plant builders have decided Africa is the new market.

We don’t need a coal plant.

You require a lake actually. Thats how you cool everything. So one of our ponds has to be sacrificed.

That is exactly what happens when you elect a prince who grew up in palaces, to lead you.

Sio ati ni mtu mbaya, ama roho mbaya… it’s just that royals often desire GRAND things over BORING things that will change ordinary wananchi lives.

If you look through history that is a very common trend. That’s why monarchies were destroyed in Europe , as well as in Africa.

In Russia for instance the Romanovs walifika mahali yaani… mnaambiwa mjenge hizo palaces mnaona Putin akipita pita leo… maanze na ni winter. Na sio kazi ya mwaka moja… ni ma decades kurembesha hizo keja. Na hamna chakula.
Ati ni legacy. Palace moja ni kama city mzima…

Royal ruler huwa anaamka anasema I want you all to go on a crusade from here and conquer all the land from here to South Africa.

Anaulizwa, “But your majesty the people barely have anything to eat… won’t this crusade empty the state coffers completely?”

Anajibu, “NO!! I had this dream. This was a vision from God to me his King your leader. If I conquer all this land at that point, then you will have enough to eat. That will be my legacy. That is development fuck the bubonic plague!”

Hoi polloi wanaingia vita wanakarangwa in the tens of millions juu ya njaa na ugonjwa. Plague inaenea Africa mzima.

Same scenario in Kenya Africa :

"I want these mighty trains that go nowhere. That is my legacy. Fuck boring medical care and hunger. I want grand things!!

I want to here words like nuclear and coal. Words I hear in grand countries. Na msibashane na mimi please, make it happen NOW!!!

I want a thousand houses built right now!! Na msiniulize who will live there… EVERY SUBJECT IN THE KINGDOM MUST CONTRIBUTE!!!"

The Chinese might pay 8 cents per killowatt hour but lets not forget all the money directed to treatment of cancer because of smog and smoke pollution from coal mining and coal generated power.

Some towns in China are so polluted by coal that kunakuwaga permanently cloudy!!

In the city of Linfen China in Shangxi Province where some of the coal mines are you cannot even hang clothes outside juu ya smoke na smog. Linfen is the most toxic city on earth.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4DtOhe2LfQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_d-Ky7Se-v8

American companies (with the exception of our case, where it is still a minority shareholder) are not the ones building coal plants.The Chinese are.
If there is coal in that country, why not???Coal drove industrialization by being a loacal, cheap source of power.So long as the nation has coal of its own, let them exploit!!South Africa, Zimbabwe, Nigeria as well as us and Tanzania have it.Let us use it to power our growth the way China did.

Environmental activists sometimes must be told NO. Coal is a cheap source of energy and Kenyans need a cheap source of energy.
If environmentalists had their way we would all live in mud houses and walk around naked because everything is bad for the environment :D:D

Only 1 nation is shutting down nuclear power plants without building new ones:Germany. Even Japan has switched on most of its nuclear power plants.
The rest are shutting down old ones and bringing online new Generations of reactors that cannot produce fissile material, do not rely on water for cooling, consume 95 percent of enriched Uranium as opposed to the current ones that consume 5 percent and one design can generate electricity for centuries, meaning that the cot of power will be like less than 1 cent per kilowatt hour.
As for not dealing with drainage systems, is Sonko the one going to be responsible for the nuclear power plant??? India has a garbage problem but they have managed nuclear power for decades just fine.

Ebu nipe cost comparison proving coal is cheap.

Coal produced LOCALLY is cheap as it is a local resource whose price can be dictated by Government .
Examples of Cheap coal
Australia
South Africa
China
All produce coal at well below the global price, translating to cheaper electricity(excluding Australia as this applies only to Queensland, not all of Australia). China’s power is at 8 cents per kilowatt hour(both Industrial and Commerical), South Africa at 7 cents per kilowatt hour(Industrial)