Importing a car from Japan....advice needed

Thinking of importing an ex-Japan. I checked out some sites such as SBT Japan and TradeCarView. Which of these is the best to use. And do I need to hire a clearing agent or do the website service handle the clearing? Another question is the tax. Are the vehicle tax calculators accurate? It seems to me that they overstate the value of the vehicle resulting in a higher import tax. Anyone with experience importing cars please advice.

Following

Any car under 2000cc gonna cost you lot…

Explain with figures. I trust you on things motogari lakini ploti apana. Wewe ndiye ulikuwa unajenga cow shed El Ade?

after all the tiresome process ul still find out there r cheaper cars by over 150k enda mombasa acha kujitafutia ulcers

Go to beforward kenya or visit their office here in town and get proper advice…

@Massive101 Tradecarview have variety of units but are damn expensive, i’ll suggest you check with the like of SBT, Bfoward and Autocom japan. their prices are reasonable and negotiable, (vehicle tax calculators accurate?) which Tax calculator do you use? you don’t need to hire a clearing Agent. Just find the Unit you are looking for negotiate the price with the seller, wire the money, get you your documents, then Now find the preferred Clearing Agent. Also you can nominate your cargo to the cfs of your choice. then look for a clearing agent. (Most Clearing Agents have special rates agreements with Cfs’s), so you might want to put that in consideration! NOTE: This is something they will never TELL YOU.

Enda Mombasa upande Nairobi na gari…the agony of importing a car for a first timer is.not worth it.

So when will he NOT BE a first timer?

Most Kenyans are like him, always looking for the best deal, funny enough they don’t cost time

Problem is that the variety in Mombasa is limited and you may end up with what you didn’t want

Enda ongea na wale watu huptiana those orange branded rims, I forget their name

In Mombasa
A 2009 toyota crown will cost you 1.4 - 1.7 m In a show room.
-Mileage of 300,000 reduced to 86,000.

• Chances of it being used locally 90%

In Japan ie (SBT)
2009 toyota crown will cost you $ 7,350 - 11,000 to mombasa Negotiable.
add duty and port charges, rounding to 1.1 - 1.2m
do the math.

delights

Duty and port charges for a 2009 toyota crown budget about 550k to 700k depending on cc and month of reg. Go to mombasa, negotiate and thank us later.

Those cars are usually cheaper because the mileage is tampered with and most probably the parts have been changed with the worn out ones…I can never trust those ones NEVER!

It is actually worth it…VERY WORTH IT! in any case vile umeulizwa…there will always be a first time. Let him import!

I didn’t know he wanted a toyota crown. Does he?

If you have someone in Mombasa the better. Ukitaka pia ku evade tax pia tunaeza ongea chemba…any SBT is the best (in my view) the tafuta info on clearing

If you can get a trusted agent in Japan, you are set, you just give him your specs, akipata something close ana ku whats app till upate a car you like. Infact you can buy new rims and tyres in Japan na itakuwa cheaper than buying them these sides. Then have a good clearing agent at the port to ensure nothing will be stolen at the port. You will save money, upto 100k.

that’s the one, they can act as agents

Most things are stolen inside the ship. a clearing agent owes jua. the mistakes importer do is to failing to declare all your cargo in the manifest, for example you are importing a car plus four rims, unapata mtu, ana declare gari pekeyake kwa manifest.so you find that when the ship clerks are offloading the ship, they normaly use manifest so that they can nkow what and what is going to wich cfs, wacha wapate gariyako iko na ma tires ndani, na manifest ina read 1 unit toyota v8 ONLY. Christmas ya mapema mara hiyo hiyo!!! hizo rims na tires uoni, n you can’t claim anywhere!!!