in 5 years to come will DSTV be making profits in Kenya and Africa as they do now? : Discuss

with Kenya Power’s plan of increasing the fibre optics coverage to include all counties by the end of this year excluding Wajir, Mandera, Moyale and Turkana http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Kenya-Power-county-fibre-optic-cables/-/539550/2669672/-/mo634r/-/index.html and also the infrastructure protection bill which will force force Landlords to wire up buildings for internet connection if passed in place ,
i think most people soon will be able to have internet connection in their homes. with increased internet connection most will be streaming their music, movies and tv series online na vile Kenya bado hamna tight piracy rules pia most will definitely pirating stuff. piracy is a global problem that affects many production houses who refuse to evolve with technology. from a lil research that i have done, most people who pirate claim that they pirate shows because cable tv prices are too high. most too also pay for the service yet they only get few programs that they love yet the rest are crappy. another reason is the difference in content delivery eg American audience get to watch first then others get the content days/months later. in sports of late most guys here on ktalk too usually ask for streaming links. with streaming services such as Netflix and HBO now in place i think cable tvs should start doing something and give consumers what they want or they will end up like the musci industry which failed to jump on selling music online in time before Napster did the damage. As for Dstv how about if they have a sports only package, entertainment , news etc and then a package that contains them all because some people pay for just to get the sports but the package also contains other channels which they never watch hence they end up paying for content that they are not watching. with the increase in internet connectivity do you feel that cable companies like DSTV should evolve and offer consumers better packages or perish? na pia companies like Buni Media can they create an AFrican Netflix version? and for those who pirate shows in this forum, if you had a good stable internet connection and streaming service in place will you pay for the content if you can afford or keep torrenting? would like to get your views

Una maswali mob,
Change is like a rest if they won’t adopt new tech developments they will loose bigtime eg Klost

Internet costs?

DiShThieVes Kenya will never reform for as long as they’re part-owned by KBC.

juzi walikuwa na survey ya pricing; eti wanauliza customers what they think about their pricing. this was after their price hikes two or three months ago and i think they were hit by so many non-renewals and downgrades they must have realized ni kubaya…na bado…

I’m sure over Ksh. 100k is too much even for the fanatics. Not when there are other way cheaper alternatives.

Cost is the hindrance for the masses. If the cost is affordable by most people, then streaming would be the new mass hobby, piracy would ebb away…however, software piracy would go up.

With akina Safcom charging 3k for 5mbps of their vuma n zuku 4k for 10mbps and a 1mbps i think its kinda of affordable. Fibre internet connection is the next Frontier for competition

Never seen people complaining about Netflix pricing so i think if kenya was to have similar service then it would be fair

KBC ile moja VOK?

Yet another reason to hate DSTV.

I normally pay 3,200 for my parent’s Dstv compact na hiyo pesa uniuma sana especially since I committed myself.I’ve tried to migrate them to zuku but convincing old people ni kibarua

First of all @Deorro wacha kuleta assignments zako za chuo hapa tukufanyie!
That being said:
DSTv is entirely too expensive. I have been a premium subscriber for 9yrs now. I have seen the cost go up from around 5k to what im paying now, 9200/- (coz of xtraview). Its ridiculous to be paying 10k to watch tv and there isnt much value from dstv. While they are trying with catchup and renting movies, it just won’t work. Their model has to change. They start making movies available for rent just as the are being released on blu-ray/dvd officially, which is always the time the same blu-ray rips are available on torrent. So why would I pay 250/- to watch a movie when i can download the thing at 1080p at no cost and keep it for as long as I want?

In an innovation business class in campus in 2005, I once gave the idea that multichoice should start offering internet service through their decoders. Essentially having an internet connection via your satellite dish (vsat). The decoders could be specialised in that they could be used with a wireless keyboard to surf the net for content. This idea was dismissed. Now zuku give both tv and internet at half dstv’s cost

So will dstv be profitable in the future? No. They took a massive hit 3 years ago when everyone was torrenting entire seasons of prison break and they were still showing season 2 when guys were finishing the series. This is what pushed them to start showing series “as they are released” in the states. Its a little too reactive for them at this stage since guys have realised they can get content else where. Sports is the only thing that keeps them relevant, and that too will eventually be eroded. the recent mayweather fight is a lesson in why pay-per-view will be the standard. People will soon start paying just to watch a particular sporting event, be it a boxing match, soccer game, f1 race.
DStv are on their knees and bleeding out quick, Im just not sure they realise it.

hii inakuanga kusema tu na kuongea mingi

Multichoice ni wezi,8K and the only channels I watched were like 10 maximum… Closed my Premium package,subscribed to GOtv and Azam Tv… Waiting to see how the Safcon thing turns out… They should see how it’s done in other countries,give the consumer the choice to pay for the channels he wants to watch it’s useless bundling 300 channels when all one wants to watch could be a maximum of 15 channels.

All well and good until you look at one area they both fail spectacularly: availability.

you are right. There are better ways of packaging. What do i need the french, chinnese, and 5 africa magic channels for? i should be able to choose what i want. even if its in blocks. for 10 channels pay Ksh X, for 11 -15 pay Ksh Y…

Yap. 40%.

I’m afraid you’re right.

these guys grew too fat and complacent they never realized the ground was shifting so that they move their arses…they are now rolling downhill…

@nairobilay hahahaha hi si school project . currently niko holz hadi sep. kama uko na kazi unaweza nipatia. i just spent some time on reddit na nikaona vile watu wa majuu wanadefend on reasons as to why they pirate then compared to dstv huku kwetu

halafu utapata wanawatch three channels pekee