Indoor/Outdoor Living

A while back I went to these leafy suburbs you birrioneas hide. I was really impressed by the indoor outdoor style so I wondered, are Kenyan architects just lazy and why is the style not that common. I have only seen it countable times. Even in the many houses I’ve been to in the leafy suburbs, the architectural style isn’t common. You’d think that mansions in the leafy burbs would have better architecture but majority of them are just extrapolations of what you have already seen elsewhere plus a large green lawn and nice hood. You can hypothetically transplant a house from Kiambu and drop it in these suburbs and it would not stand out.

Why is the indoor/outdoor architectural style not that common in KE? Architects, kazi kwenyu.

Architects design according to client briefs.
Upus thread

Architects are businessmen. It is their job to show you better designs and let you decide. They get paid a percentage fee and it would be foolhardy not to show clients better/modern designs that could potentially cost them more money to build and make the architects more cash.

Architects design according to client briefs. Architects also advice clients when making those briefs so what’s your point? Its his job to show you designs that might impress you and didn’t know about, before you give him a brief of what you want. After viewing the designs, you can choose whether to ignore them totally, incorporate some elements, or adopt the entire design.

I think that most Kenyan architects do not show clients that indoor/outdoor design in the first place.

No offense but why are your threads always on the negatives @Azor Ahai

For the same reason 7PM news pieces have more explosions and accidents than weddings. Bad news sells more.

What are you selling?
[ATTACH=full]419620[/ATTACH]

The clientele that can afford such homes is usually old and don’t want to experiment with new ideas,have you ever seen an old mbillionaire na simu ya button s yet they can afford a whole I phone shop.

Architects execute their client’s briefs. Thanks

What happens before the briefs?? Ama wewe ulisoma tuu architects execute clients briefs pekee.

This is a logical answer to my query. Does it also mean that there is very little “new” money in KE?

You knowing the architect can suggest to the client on what to build …

Hehe the late DJ CK always had 2 Kabambes.

Photographic illustration would be better.

Something like this. (Downloaded photo)

[ATTACH=full]419656[/ATTACH]

“New money” hawana time ya “riff raff” fundis akina @Randy ,they prefer ready made things ,you know plug and play tings

What do you know about building a classy house, brown skin guy? :D:D:D Si kwanza ujenge yako uhame bedsitter hapo roysambu. There are many houses within the Nairobi metropolitan area that can compete within the international arena. Only problem is that the birrionaire owners don’t want unnecessary attention and therefore you will never see them online.

When I was designing my house I told the architect I want big windows and he asked me ‘na wezi’?

Hii siutajenga ukuta ka ile iko jerusalem mtu yangu,unasahau uko cordinates gani hii dunia

A good example is yours truly. I have a cracked phone but I can afford the latest version of iPhone without breaking a sweat

You should have fired him on the spot since he’s clearly old school. Haven’t come across any modern architect who doesn’t emphasise on max natural light…mambo ya wezi unawachia serikali