Interlocking Bricks

I am interested in building a house using this technology. I find the finishing quite neat than normal bricks. I actually want to invest in a machine and do the bricks myself on site (and use thereafter to continue making bricks). It is my understanding that these bricks do no have to be “baked” and costs savings are also high… Builders in house, what are best practices for structural integrity and what a some potential pitfalls I need to look out for? IF i decide to use concrete based bricks, is that better and are the costs elements highly/lower than conventional bricks? What is the longevity of the brick-making machines and is it even advisable to buy a used one?

[ATTACH=full]322527[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]322528[/ATTACH]

No matter how much you save, say 30-50% of walling costs, just know that walling alone as a component, shall never exceed 15% of the total cost of construction.

Vile Mpendakazi amesema.

The so called alternative technologies are not necessarily cheap… the cost of producing one brick is approximately 28bob and the coverage is less compared to a stone … cost saving are negligible.

But from research,a ton of soil produces 225 bricks with minimal cement,so im thinking ukiwa na machine yako,haiezi kula pesa mob. Even with transport of say 3000 per lorry,haitakula zaidi ya 10bob kutengeneza,on the contrary though,bei yake ni kshs25-28 depending on manual or machine cut

Tuma update ukipata ka mpenyo . Looks worthwhile

Materials 18 Bob ,labour ni 10bob… this is the cost of producing it on site… keep in mind you will be learning on the job mistakes will be made …

The machine used to cost circa 35k by makiga engineering… Sijui kama ilishuka ama ilipanda… And they were very intelligent to ensure it lasts no more than one or two residential projects worth of blocks… :smiley:

How many blocks does your research tell you you need to complete a house that meets your needs?.. Between 4-7k blocks sio?.. As in, from a one bedroomed to a 4bedroomed house.

Siukuiza ziko mob ukingia pale kariobangi utapata ata na 25k ukijitetea…some of this technologies are more expensive than stone and motar but marketers and sales men are doing a good job.

The interlocking Makiga machine is over 100k. I know because I have gone to their Inda workshop

Ukipiga doggie kwa ukuta inaweza anguka

If you can access normal building stones, both of these are not advisable. They will leave you with a big hole in the pocket and lifelong regrets.

Bro tembea kariobangi light industry you will get them at fairly good prices… kuna make second hand.

kwa hivyo tubaki na mawe ya kawaida na thimiti this sums up the cost saving theory :D:D:D:D:D:D
thread closed

Bro tembea kariobangi light industry you will get them at fairly good prices… kuna mpaka second hand.

Izo bricks what you see is not what you get…lazima uwe na fundi anajua kujenga nazo. Kama utapata fundi wa Uganda nyumba itakuwa poa inapendeza macho. Fundi wa kenya hawajui kujenga nyumba smart na izo bricks.
Zaeza kuwa cheap lakini kama fundi hajuani nazo nyumba itakuwa sura mbaya

per brick buda ama per foot?

siko sure buda but that seems about right in regards to their small size,ain’t it @Randy ?

Per brick… the length of the brick is 240mm which is a few inches shy of one feet.