investing 2.5m -- ideas

Lets say you have accumulated some savings totaling to around 2.5million Kshs,
how would you invest it to bring you 100k net profit per month?

Go to madagasca…buy some spices…sell them to asian countries…

Start small. io 2.5 hujaipata na mwezi moja. imekuchukua time na sacrifice kufika hapo. 100k per month haitakuchukua siku moja. anza na capital ya 50k, ikupee profit ya 10k monthly, with time 500k itakupea io 100k unatafuta.

Some unit trusts can give you about 12.5% pa which is about 300k.
Otherwise aanza mbiashara but know what you are doing.

Kuimport na kuuza magari?

Expand your functioning and rewarding hustle…usieke pesa Kwa hustle hauelewi!

There is no such legal business. But illegal business ni mingi, eg selling phangi

First things first. Do you have a permanent abode?

Unit trust ni gani hii

Ongea mzee @Okiya

bonds but 250k per year low risk

not a priority right now…do you think it’s ?

Nunua nyumba kwanza alafu urudi ufkirie biz. Umeangalia NSE? Big companies are struggling, usifkirie you are special and have some magic wand…ukifungua biz there are high chances pesa yako itazama and only KRA will benefit. Use the funds to eliminate rent or reduce ur rent.

If you make 100k a month, that translates to 1.2m per year. That’s a 50% return on your investment. Where as you may do so 1 year, there’s no business with such a return. You will be forced into a high risk venture where you will blow your investment over a few years. Start by making 10-15 k/ month and that’s a solid return.

Is the 100k before costs or after costs? Also, it depends on the nature of the investment. Keep in mind he will have costs such as rent, salaries, bills and stuff. Part of the 2.5M will be spent on sunk costs like rent, kanjo licenses, transport and other costs which are not recoverable. Not to mention there are a raft of new taxes coming into play in January some of which are payable even by loss making firms. In this current economy, it is better to be risk averse until things improve. He is better off putting his 2.5M in a money market and making 250K interest per year or buying a small house to give him rental income. Otherwise if he tries business in no time he will not have the 2.5m, no steady income and he will scratch his head where his money went to.

start a chain of small businesses, which can be profitable but ni migraines tupu e.g. car wash, Butchery, milk delivery etc. You’ll make your profit targets but the cost will be enormous on your psyche

Why do you think owning a home is not a priority? Even if it’s not very fancy, just having a roof over your head that’s all yours ni kitu muhimu sana. The other question I wanted to ask ni kama you have emergency savings. If these are your savings then please take out a fraction, place in a fixed deposit account and don’t touch it! You should only invest what you can afford to lose.

Rudia chenye ulifanya kupata hiyo 2.5 again and again. Best advice here chief.

Aliiba.