Is it possible to lose your property if you don't pay land rates?

I’m asking because someone I know in Kiambu county decided to partition his land, sell one portion and develop the other one. Upon inquiring for a “search” of his property, they said he’s no longer the owner of this land due to non-payment of land rates. Apparently, they gazetted this notice severally and when they received no response, his title deed was revoked. The land is extremely prime.

Could this be true or there’s some mischief going on?

Uyo kuna bigwig alikua anamezea mate shambake…so it was a matter of when and not if

That’s how people have been losing their properties in mainly westland , and other leafy Neighborhoods in the city.
Most probably someone had an eye on that land , and played a fast one on the owner(s). Rarely will people at land department, start going through, files, just to see who hasn’t paid land rates.

Sure, if you own property in those leafy suburbs then property taxes are mandatory. Perhaps things are also changing in Kiambu such that rate payments are being scrutinized than before…

Kenya ni kunoma, losing your property to some well connected individual is as easy as 1,2,3.

That’s a very tedious task, knowing our leaders, i don’t see them allocating resources for such, unless, there’s specific interest.

If you are not a lord of the land don’t dare buy property within Nairobi or Kiambu. Ukiwa miaka 70 utakuja kufurushwa kwa nyumba yako na cartels. Kuna wahindi wengi walikua matajiri time ya moi na kenyatta, lakini sa ii wanapoteza kila kitu. lease yako ya itakataa kuwa renewed ukiwa miaka 75. For now chezeeni pesa.

only land commission have powers to revoke a title, ulikuwa umemulipa nusu ama yote?, huyo alikuchezea kiyeye

mwambie aende city halll na recepts aulize balance.Otherwise iyo ni kesi

1. Land rates are compulsory regardless of whether you’re in Nairobi or the interior.
  2. Counties are mandated to levy and collect land rates.
  3. Depending on the county finance act, most counties have powers to sell off the land for non-payment of rates. Ideally, the land is auctioned off at market rates to recover the rates and the balance is paid to the now former owner. What mostly happens is that they sell it off at just enough to recover the rates, usually to some connected insider.

Wueeeh! Hii ni noma!

You can only loose it to government not an individual. Let him take a good lawyer and open a case

I didn’t know this can happen. Give me some time to enquire this one.

Someone is losing his land to a high profile cartel.

Update: The cartel that was trying to rob this person made some stupid mistakes and now their nefarious activities have been unmasked. I think it’s not that easy to lose land that was purchased legitimately.

Thats good. At least the cartel wont steal from a hard working Kenyan. Here you must be on the look out for cartels survival for the fittest.

anonymize and post the complete story here.

They have to tell you how much money had accrued as rates over the years plus penalties and interest. They can’t just take the land.
And what type of title deed is this? Freehold ama lease? (Kiambu is ushago so it should be mainly freehold.)

Kama huna pesa huna haki hii country yetu

yes you can lose it, but it is a very tedious process that county governments will at all costs tend to avoid. They will need to apply to the Land commission, then the NLC will review the application, call a seating of both parties, and depending on the nature of the land, and amount due, invlove the ministry of Land to get authorisation from the Minister since you are taking away a right, an applicationmust then be filed in court. Here is the hing, if you realize that you have pending land rates, go to the county land offce, and see the CEC responsible for land, get into an agreement to pay the amount in installments, ensure its documented, then the governor must sign on it. After that pay your rates as required. No person can take away your land as long as it is was legitimately acquired.