IT gurus, saidia

I have like 28,000 email on an excel sheet, which is the best tool that i can use to send a mass mail effectively.
Most of the wordpress plugins that i have tried seems not able to send this huge number.

Also on the SMS part for like 2000 contacts.

Shukran

@amun leta code

For sms use smsleopard. They actually allow you to send customized sms straight from your excel sheet. The kinds of “Dear [Name]”

refactor to match your requirements cc @Mkulima , and happy coding

/*you will need to import below two namespaces*/
using System.Net;
using System.Net.Mail;

namespace Emails
{
    internal class email_sender()
    {
        void send(list<string> email_addresses)
        {

MailAddress[] lst_emails = validate_addresses(email_addresses); // check that all addresses meet the uri standard
            if(lst_emails.Length > 0 ) {
                if( ! send_email(lst_emails ) )
                    //add something here for dealing with failure
                else
                    //add something here for dealing with success
            }
        }

bool send_email(MailAddress[] EmailAdresses)
        {
            bool bResult = false;
            try
            {

var senders_email = new MailAddress("add senders email address here", "OPTIONAL SENDERS NAME GOES HERE");
                //create am SMTP object
                var smtp = new SmtpClient
                {
                    Host = smtp_host goes here,
                    Port = smtp_port goes here,
                    EnableSsl = true,
                    DeliveryMethod = SmtpDeliveryMethod.Network,
                    UseDefaultCredentials = false,
                    Credentials = new NetworkCredential("senders email address", "senders email password")
                };
                //create a mail message object
                using (MailMessage mMessage = new MailMessage(senders_email, EmailAdresses[0])) // user address 0 as TO ADJUST TO MATCH YOUR REQUIREMENTS
                {

/* add the rest as cc or bcc but remember to factor in the provider specific limits on number of cc and bcc recipients*/                  
                    for (int i = 1; i < EmailAdresses.Length; i++) mMessage.CC.Add(EmailAdresses[i]);

mMessage.Subject = "SUBJECT GOES HERE";
                    mMessage.ReplyTo = new MailAddress(senders_email.Address); // this is deprecated
                    mMessage.IsBodyHtml = true;
                    mMessage.Body = "BODY GOES HERE";
                    smtp.Send(mMessage);
                    bResult = true;
                }            
            }
            catch (Exception ex)
            {
                //DO SOMETHING WITH THE ERROR MESSAGE
            }
            return bResult;
        }
        MailAddress[] validate_addresses( List<string> _addresses)
        {
            MailAddress[] result = new MailAddress[0];
            for (int i = 0; i < _addresses.Count; i++)
            {
                try
                {
                    MailAddress _emallAddress = new MailAddress(_addresses[i]);
                    if (_emallAddress != null)
                    {
                        Array.Resize(ref result, result.Length + 1);
                        result[result.Length - 1] = _emallAddress;
                    }
                }
                catch { }

}
            return result;
        }
    }
}

Your tool haina queuing capabilities?

Hii itawekwa wapi kwa wordpress? She hasn’t told us if she’s sending from her website or a desktop mail client…

even if from a website, just create a library that inherits from IHttpHandler

:D:D:D I doubt the host has .NET

has native support for PHP which in turn supports .NET since PHP 4

Right. But rarely used… because most PHP sites are hosted on a Linux distro. And in case you want to deploy ASP.NET scripts then you’ll generally have to host on a Windows Server.

i understand what you mean :D:D:D

but you can still do mono

If you have a VM of your own. But on a shared hosting… utaambiwa wacha kusumbua.

you dont need tech support to run mono on apache, sometimes its good to tryout this things

but the i agree with you, for the faint hearted, they are better just using phpmailer

I would have suggested a 3rd party mailing service that has support for queing and all that. 20,000 mails at a go na maybe site iko Kenyaweb ataangusha server ya yenyewe.

Ama awekewe cron job that can send the mails in the background pole pole.

never been a big fan of third party libraries, unless i triple check every single line of code :D:D:D:D

You subscribe to the “Not Invented Here” school of thought

been there, seen it all, i hate the easy way out, once re-compiled some open source piece of shit, 3 weeks later all my alarms went off ,DOS attack, since then… never ever

Thought @amun ni dereva wa trela…wueh!

tumia mail merging

Lipia MailChimp .