It hurts to see a sixty old granny struggling and hassling in life.

You have all seen old women I estates who struggle even to pay rent. You have seen them mostly going to market places with Ciondos or even doing menial jobs. Sometimes you feel emptiness when you hear them negotiating for fare. During their times men had large parcels of land but they choose the “vanity life of Hawking punye”. You can’t compare them with those cucus in rural areas who have some land. Even though poor those married Cucus have some status and don’t have to worry about rent. The funny thing is that their grand daughters never learn. They are doing it more than their grannies.

It’s a cruel world.

Saa nane usiku ndio umeamua kutusi wanyanya wazee?

Nikiwa grand pa na endelea kuhustle mpaka mwili ikatae nakua chairman emeritus kwa biz ya family

Venye kumenyecha Kwani tao ni shiringi Mia biri? :D:D:D

The structure of society is scripted in the respective species’ genes. Individuals who stray too far from that script are likely to encounter a lot of problems, even death.

:D:D kuna mmoja aliuliza hivyo ‘Eh na kwani kutoka Katito Hadi oyugis amekuwa Mia mbil?’

Those were lanyes in their youth years.Karma can be a bitch you know.

Pokot tulia

Haha hio sweep noma

About five years ago, we used to volunteer - (cook and feed the elderly and buy them essentials such as blankets) to an elderly group in Gatina slums. Lavington United church would facilitate this for us. These elderly people would come just to be fed, some as old as 80+ and ailing.

Their heart breaking stories varied. Most of them had kids who disowned or abandoned them and also they made wrong choices in life, this includes men too.

Young folks have something to learn from these people. Married or not, make sure you have a plan of where to go after retirement and at the age where you can no longer work, without necessarily depending on your children.

Sometimes it has nothing to do with being engaged in prostitution.

It could be a lack of ambition in life because an individual settled in a comfort zone (stable job/business)

Anyone who lives in Zimmaman might know of that old man who used to sell charcoal at the corner of Mirema heading to deliverance church. It’s unfortunate that he did business and lived in the same tiny wooden shack for all those DECADES!

I’ve lived in Zimma for more than 10 years and often wondered why that old man had a miserable life. But looking at his life critically, you might say that he made a major mistake.

That old man has resided in Zimma for more than 20 years. He had the opportunity to sell and possibly monopolize gas cylinders in the entire estate but he seemed content with the money he got from charcoal.

As more people moved into Zimma, dealers who used to buy charcoal from him on wholesale switched to gas suppliers to satisfy the rising demand of 13kg cylinders.

you have to understand that Kenya has always be a patriarchal society especially in the 90s going back it was extreme and women were downtrodden, so barren women and others were more disadvantaged. ukiona hao wanyanya wasaidie tu.

I often read guys here talking badly about care homes in the West. They just have no clue at all. These old folk live a good dignified old age life. Their needs are taken care of from hairdressing to social activities. One of my elderly neighbours was ill for sometime until she needed a carer then she was moved to a care home. Her son was not that bothered. Waa she passed last year. He quickly surfaced to sell her flat at half a million pounds. I did not.get the feeling that he was mourning her.

Inakuhusu Nini. Ama unapenda wale hawana meno ili wakumumunye mjulus vizuri.

Very sad indeed and that’s the same case with elderly people here. Most of them have children who abandoned them and life happened to them. Worse still, if they were poor and couldn’t afford to buy land in shags and build.

We aren’t as privileged as the West to have homes for the elderly, therefore it’s absolutely critical for people to start thinking about their life in old age and plan for it early enough. As for the poor ones living in the City slums, anyone compassionate should reach out to them and help them, instead of judging them. It’s totally unnecessary to judge.

Ukunguru at your 30s you end up hustling at 60s ni life tu

I agree. V little goes a long way for them. Problem with our Kenya is that hata healthcare is not available for them.

Hata mimi nimejiuliza hill swali mara kadhaa. Why would such an elderly man/woman be competing for space with young people? Since my dad retired, he never even want to spend a night in the city unless ni circumstances zinademand. Wadau, kama uko na pesa na umefika 40/50 years nunua hata shamba ujenge rural home. Mahali unaeza enda ulime lime, uangalie tung’ombe twako, tukuku na mbuzi. Sio kuanza kubishania space na vijana. I also realized that many people don’t have such plans. Plans ni kuishi mjini hadi ufie huko.

And even as you educate your children, buy your family a home or build for them one in the towns msijisahau. You were born alone and you will die alone. There is no guarantee that your children will take care of you in the old age. In fact, hoping so is very meaningless. Prepare for your own old age. Usianze kusema watoto hawakujali hio miaka. Don’t forget to invest for your old self.