Its monday, give hope to fellow villagers

from @field marshal couch P’s previous thread got me thinking, well people have many stories in life about their journey to success.

well for me: from college got this architectural job from a certain firm paying peanuts, na kelele kibao. in between the job i could hustle some pj’s. now if u have ever been to this field you will understand the pain. you work yourself till 4 a.m, wake up for another mind blowing job by 6 a.m that needs you sober as hell. then go ahead to present to a client(who paid commitment fee before the start of the deal) , gives you a go ahead to finalize and by the time you finish he’s like, ngoja kidogo. i did this like few months, changed tactics to selling on street(first house plans that were sold in nai), then online. on line ndo nkameet wezi, guys who give you hopes but have their own ideas. am talking about developers and politicians. you even sign some paper work but hii ni kenya mtu wangu, kama hauna pesa means nothing since laywers you get keep on getting compromised…
Thanks God am still soldering on.

personal projects

Siko job leo I wonder what I can do that is fun en free

buda tuko line moja, S.E hapa, ku soldier lazima, one pj pays well then zingine nne zinakuangusha almost to the point of giving up on p.js, then ingine tena mzuri inakuja

@byro…hehe…i c u have even sold the plans in the streets…in usa alot of architects sell plans online . it works there coz of strict regulation lakini in kenya there are no regulations so its tricky. for kenya, its easier to target a few minority who appreciate and know the importance of architectural consultancy instead of having to deal with clientele who dont understand the service.
its easier to stick mainly to corporate, ngos, government as clientele.

lazima kushukuru kwa hiyo less but all that work ya kifikiria huwa si joke. When i look atlikes of uwesmake, chloe, kabuda, wakanyama e.t.c posting stuff while working, im like where did i go wrong!

just waited for you to show up. the above stated groups are mainly for who knows who. in the meantime bro am still required to eat. i have worked for few government projects and i tell you its traumatising, getting a deal then guys fuck you up next day.

never compare yourself with anybody…thats where we go wrong…appreciate where you are coz its only you who knows what you have gone thro to get there…talk positive things about yourself…remember, we are what that comes out of our mouths…if we say we are blessed, we see blessings all around us, if we say we are cursed, ooh boy we see curses every where…am sure akina kabuda can attest to that…Be contended with the little you have…successful people are not the ones who got everything but those who never gave up along the way…

Hire a dirt bike and go offroading

for the lucky ones

with us other than risk ya client disappearing, ongeza risk ya architect bado kukurusha, the no. of conmen ni wengi sana

he hee. pjs kuna place nilikuwa job tulikuwa tunaziita shetani

@ol monk…hehe nice video…design only works when designers/architects are dealing with corporate or government clientele. any other way has been proven over and over to be unsustainable. the guy selling plans on the streets will after a few years realise he is not getting much and join the rest in seeking corporate/govt design jobs.

Project management/contractor job pays better than the design part.

@byro and @a4architect, You are timely guys with one thing bothering me. With a share cert eti its no longer possible to get ‘that stamp’ on your plan from kanjo? Must you have a title deed?Ama am I being taken for a ride?

…was kicked out during my final year in campus. I stayed out for three years, then went back to start a fresh.

In between I became a taxi driver in Ongata Rongai.

I liked the taxi job sana, by then business was good considering that there were no regular matatus plying beyond Kware stage.

One of my then regular clients (a lady) would engage me in chi-chat as I drove her home. As time went by, she might have noticed something in me…long story short is that, she convinced me to go back to university and complete my degree. Actually this angel supported me financially!

Surprisingly, to-date some of my old friends still think I am a taxi driver! I met one of them late last year (a saved xtian working with coop bank) he gave me 200 bob and promised to pray for me to get a job. This because I was in a t-shirt, khaki trouser and crocs on a Tuesday after lunch! Needless to say that is the day I bought my first and only benz.

In Rongai, life was hard jo. My regular staple food was cow peas, rice and strong tea, I belief to date they are responsible for my weak stomach.

Kitu ingine tena…I used to attend evening class at UoN, class inaisha 8:30pm, then I walk to Railways. Lakini juu sina fare ya kutosha, I sit and wait for Citi Hopa ya 30 bob. At times, Karumanzira (kisii tout wa iyo stage) would talk to his mboys and I get free ride.

Fast forward to 2015…I had graduated with a PhD. Got a teaching job at UoN and also works for some an arguably nice organization.

Any K-talker who is a student or graduated from UoN between 2010 and 2014, chances are you might have been/are my student.

Keep the faith.

buda, how long did this take?

good stuff , my first job I used to get paid 10K per month and used to live in a 5k per month house, I was too proud to ask for assistance from home or even move back into the parents’ extension, looking back that was the best decision I ever made because the guyz that buckled under pressure are still in one way or the other relying on their parents, a guy in the neighborhood that is almost five years older than me is staying at his parents’ other house not too far away with his wife and two kids while his peers are building in Juja and Kitengela.

ai mboss umepitia mob… when did you get time to draw

personal jobs kando ya employment ile mnaita side hustle

Good stuff right here its called resilience.:):slight_smile: