It's not just in Kenya, dairy butter prices have soured even in Europe

I was at Tuskys the other day to get some items for a sick relative. Then I fikad hapo kwa dairy section and my eyes became as big as saucers and my jaw dropped to the floor when I saw the price of siyagi. How can a small pack of this item cost 800/=???
then it occurred to me that I have not seen butter in my house for more than 2 years. Na pia I have not ate toast at any relatives home that had that velvety-smooth-taste that butter is known for in a long long time.
800/= is a lot of money for a 500g of butter.
So I have googled and I’m seeing that butter prices on Europe are souring too. Maybe families need to buy butter and save it for impressing wagenis only :smiley:
Anybody have a clue why butter is so expensive in Kenya? It used to be affordable and I believe there was a time it cost almost the same price as Blue Band
https://www.ft.com/content/8550f05a-6649-11e7-8526-7b38dcaef614

Wacha uongo…price of butter 1.59euro
Mkiambiwa Kenya mnafinyiliwa hamski…na bado mtu anapanua mdomo anasema liwe liwalo Ruto 2022
[ATTACH=full]240562[/ATTACH]

blueband has been marketed to the lowest nigga. butter feels elitist and to get mass acceptance (greater than what we have today) will take a lot of work.

So ununue ya ku impress wageni? Don’t you love yourself? Live according to your means acha kujiweka class hauko

When i was growing up, butter used to be 15Ksh pale Ebrahim’s and Uchumi. We had both butter and blue band at any given time, now as an adult I only buy blueband, butter is way too damn expensive.

:oops::oops::mad::mad:
I was feeling a little confortable juu I was thinking it’s not just in Kenya. Now sijui…

BB kwanza huwa nini? I can’t even tell you the main ingredient in BB. Iko huko uzunguni kweli?

mgeni sii lazima ajue uchumi iko juu sana

Not true Yunomi so not true. Mzungu, bread and butter are like chanda na pete. Mzungu na hot jacket potato with butter ni man and wife. Some things can never go up to unaffordable levels. Kwanza chungulia prices in places like Denmark.
Anyways when we say food is now cheaper in these areas compared to Jamu you think we are lying.

True story. Niliuliza cashier kama ziununuliwa akasema very rarely.

Margarine’s made from palm oil.
i last bought butter mid-1990s.

the vanilla one is pretty good. we use that for cooking as well. makes the food taste pretty good too.

i know this doesn;t really answer your question :smiley:

Yaani unaendanga kwa relatives kukula butter juu kwako ilihama more than 2 years ago…sasa unacomplain coz butter imehama kwa relatives pia? Itafute kwa neiba,pengine imehamia huko.

ION: The last nilionja butter was in the late 90s. Na hata hiyo sikuwa nimenunua

I am now a believer

Sikulangi mkate often and maybe that is why I didn’t notice. I prefer butter to BB.
Now I’m thinking maybe there is a viable business opportunity hapo.

Europe maziwa huwa cheap mpaka farmers wengine wanaimwaga. I guess dairy products like butter must also be cheap.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmBwvda9FkE

You prefer butter to BB? And in more than two whole years,ulishawekea butter kanyanga?
And who said butter can only be consumed with bread?

@gashwin stop being modest. We need you to shower us with sore corrections before we soar or become sour…

I think that’s when most Kenyan families lost their connection with butter.
My grandfather once said, if you get a chance to see how blueband is made, you won’t enjoy it again. That was then when butter was the best option.

tafuta ile ya kupima,

Nichanue inapatikana wapi. Imagine hadi nilikuwa nimetafuta kwa internet how butter is made

It’s classier and healthier to serve yourself and your guests nduma, ngwacie or green boiled maize. That’s what Mzee Moi has for breakfast. Butter is full of bad cholesterol and blue band is a trans fat. Take your 800 Bob and buy grapes good for your prostate and melon and some nduma. Your heart will thank you as will your guests. Afadhali hata peanut butter or almond butter its healthier.

One tablespoon of unsalted butter contains31 milligrams (mg) of cholesterol and 7.2 grams (g) of saturated fat.

The American Heart Association (AHA) recommend that anyone who is aiming to lower their LDL cholesterol should get no more than 5–6 percent of their total calorie intake from saturated fat. On a 2,000 calorie diet, this equates to 11–13 g of saturated fat per day. Therefore, two tablespoons of butter provide more saturated fat than most people should be consuming daily.

Siwezi nunua viatu za bata