JKUAT’s 118 PhD degree awards to be investigated

[SIZE=6]JKUAT’s 118 PhD degree awards to be investigated[/SIZE]
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/economy/JKUAT-s-118-PhD-awards-to-be-investigated/3946234-5171616-vjp716z/index.html
TUESDAY, JUNE 25, 2019 21:21https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/5171632/medRes/2380526/-/maxw/960/-/rioaxj/-/chacha.jpgCommission for University Education chairman Prof. Chacha Nyaigoti. FILE PHOTO | NMG

The Commission for University Education (CUE) Tuesday announced that it will investigate the 118 doctor of philosophy (PhD) degrees awarded to graduates Friday last week following public outcry.
This is after it emerged that one Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) professor had supervised more than 10 PhD students in the School of Entrepreneurship, Procurement and Management against CUE requirement of three students per lecturer.
Some of the publications or refereed journals where the graduates published their works have also been put to question.
A refereed journal contains scholarly articles that have been reviewed for their quality by recognised academics or experts in the field.
The CUE will be looking at the procedures the graduates used to defend their research works before JKUAT lecturers, supervision of the course among others as the regulator moves to maintain the credibility of doctorate and Master’s degree courses awarded by universities in Kenya.

JKUAT iko Thika Road?

When shiny eyes takes over running of such institution,it turns to a business ,ignoring policies meant to safeguard integrity of their products.

i know of a “prof”…whose eloquence makes me question hiyo phd…na ni wa huko

Yule key bicho si ametoka hii university

Eeeeh

I had registered for a PhD at JKUAT, after a positive experience with Masters besides sexual harassment from a supervisor I ended up dropping tho pia thesis supervision was very minimal its like you are on your own none of my classmates graduated coz walichoka na the lack of supervision but Mimi nikasema even if it means doing it Sans supervisor I am ready to Pambana coz hata Hao Profs wako na kichwa moja kama hii yangu but in PhD wah what I saw mpaka wa leo sijawahi amini. Munapewa lecturer who is a director of Kigali campus, it’s a practical course, the guy won’t Skype. Ni kama watu wa kulecture wameisha Kenya. Yaani whoever can pay kickback is the one given the course to teach even if they never once show up.Others its not even their area of study like kupewa mtu wa procurement to teach you an IT course. The guy never stepped in class. Luckily I had not paid fees so I left. On asking older students they told me, hiyo ni kawaida kutoona mwalimu the entire semester. I was like I am not paying money for a farce. Moved elsewhere. I am sure some of not all of my former classmates one of them is a member here and he works at Toyota and had a Masters from UON Sijui mbona after kuona they’re being taken for a ride hakutoka arudi UON.

PhD fanya in UON. Even the supervision is top notch and you will never find a lecturer missing classes. Ever. Highly qualified lecturers also. I had never been to a public Uni but what I’ve experienced I can only recommend UON coz private nazo pia Zimeanza mchezo.

I beg to ask whether you started your studies from basics.Your comprehension is wanting.You will have a hard time writing your dissertation

How would you know that? Do you even have a Masters? I have an MSc, my thesis was great, matter of fact I am the only one who graduated in my class. A thesis for an MSc is like a dissertation. What are you doing for your PhD in if you even have a masters and MBA isn’t considered a masters. But I am considering doing a strategic management MBA after my PhD for heck of it. You can check out my thesis online to gauge my ‘comprehension’ and other skills. I don’t waste my talents in places like Ktalk where it can’t earn me a damn thing. Here I just shit. You should see the concept paper that’s been keeping me up nights. It would knock your teeth right off of you.

Shit professionally then,like a don with a PhD,otherwise the way you write doesn’t make any difference from a form 4 drop out.I have noted that the few days I have been around.For 11th time are you a male,female or both?

Phds are overated. Guys just taking them just to be Called Daktari and have bragging rights pale ofisi.

Yenyewe Government should invest more in technical courses. Hii ujinga ya kila mtu having degrees imeleta entitlement zingine za ujinga. Guys dont want to get their hands dirty juu ako na BA in arts from sijui Kabianga University located next to a forest.