Storage

[li] 500GB 7200 rpm SATA Hard Drive[/li][/ul]
Optical Drive

[li]8X DVD+/-RW[/li][/ul]
Multimedia

[li]High quality speakers, Stereo headphone & Microphone jack[/li][li]HDMI Port[/li][li]HD video webcam[/li][/ul]
Connectivity

[li]10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet[/li][/ul]
Wireless LAN

[li]IEEE 802.11 b/g/n[/li][/ul]
Bluetooth

[li]Wireless Bluetooth® 4.0[/li][/ul]
Ports, Slots & Chassis

[li]Network connector (RJ-45), USB 2.0 (1), USB3.0 (2)[/li][li]Stereo headphone & Microphone jacks, Memory card reader slot[/li][/ul]
Input Device

[li]Single pointing keyboard[/li][li]Smooth Touchpad[/li][/ul]
Battery

[li]6-cell (60Whr) Lithium Ion battery – 4200mAh[/li][/ul]
The laptop is now available to the public and goes for Shs 46, 720. JKUAT intends to launch more models besides Taifa A3 in the coming years.[/B]

Optical drives are just stupid on a laptop nowadays. Leave them out and have a thinner and lighter machine.

Agreed.
A step in the right direction but a thought what did they manufacture in kenya in those machines that make them unique except from the casing ? Or they just assembled parts. Newsflash i assembled my first desktop comp in form two

they would have done better employing a serious graphics guy to work on the logo, it looks like a sony knock off

Took the words from my mouth

everybody assembles nowadays, hata apple

That machine Looks so bulky. And i usually have issues that are a Frankenstein combination of parts from so many different manufacturers. Things tend to go wrong when you update drivers for thing and the others manufacturers dont release new firmware updates. Equipment just stops working.
Its a problem i used to have with Compaqs of old.

Hapo sasa walikosea…

Maze ni prototype and its the first working laudable technological item made here. Simshangilie ata kiasi. If you see the calculations and design work that went into such a product you wouldnt be criticizing. Si hii ni kenya na bado hatujamalizana na magnetic disks. Most computers shipping to kenya have the drive. I would say that its a good sep forward before comming up with phones and the likes. Kwanza 46k for such a first time product is a huge achievement. I would have expected 200k.

Sony Vaio line was discontinued. Acha watumie hiyo logo

Flash Memory is still too expensive. Even Xbox One uses a mechanical hard drive

si wangeanza na tablet ata

The thing is that they ofcourse didnt manufacture the screen or the the batteries or any of the complex parts for themselves, but they designed them, got all the calculations right so that everything fell into the right places and syncronised with each other. They ofcourse had to give their blueprints to manufacturers to make some parts. Even when Toyota started manufacturing vehicles, the couldnt do three miles with it(a new one) before suspension broke down. Ata corner za mabati hawakuwa wanajua kukunja vizuri bila kuharibu ama kurarua. They had to ask old timer manufacturers of the era (Ford) what to do. Today they are rivals.

Reinventing the wheel

conclusion: kenyans are largely haters!

Good, considering ni vijana who have done the job. Maybe with time they’ll have more and cheaper Taifa models. Not bad, even though there are cheaper brands. Hongera.

It’s why the Cloud came, and external hard drives. Maybe optical discs are still preferred for ‘permanent’ storage.

and these people had little funding by the way. They arent HP or Mac

Sony sold the VAIO brand last year boss

People are criticising eti assembled na their phones and laptops too are made in same manner. Maker wa ram ni different from wa hdd same as ssd na different na processor na different na graphics. They will shocked to learn that their machines are worked on by almost if not more than ten companies