jobless with first class honours

When 37-year-old Isaac Hague Oritcho graduated with a bachelors degree in Food Science and Technology at the University of Nairobi in 2007, he was optimistic that it would be the beginning of good fortune for him and his family.
However, the graduate is a shadow of his former self as his impressive qualifications could not secure him a job.
He yet again pursued his dream to a higher level and registered for postgraduate in Applied Human Nutrition.
13 years down the line, his dreams have been shattered and his hopes of getting a job continue to dwindle each passing day.
His quest to pursue education at a higher level has now become a stumbling block to his dream of getting employment.
Oritcho visited us at our office where he took us through how his journey to secure a job has been fruitless.

“I didn’t know that my hard work would one day betray me. I remember back in High School and University I would sacrifice my sleep to trans-night almost daily hoping my future would be bright. Unfortunately, right now I am surrounded by disappointments, ” he said.
He has submitted 1000 applications to all relevant sectors like health, Non-Governmental Organisations, food and beverage factories, universities but none has yielded a positive response.

“In the unlimited applications I have made ever since I graduated I have been turned down mostly for over qualifications or lack of job which to me is very strange. “he said.
In 2017 he applied as a part-time lecturer at Masinde Muliro University where he was only allowed to lecture for one semester a pay which up-to-date he has never been made to him.
“I tried doing follow-ups but every time I am told to wait until I am like giving up. Someone was telling me to get a lawyer to help me out but I don’t have money to pay him/her. I find it odd. I don’t know if I am being punished for being a genius… Indeed the world can sometimes be unfair, ” he said.
Worse off, it is always difficult for him to believe that today’s top-cream in academia in Kenya have limited opportunities to engage talents through direct employment.
He told K24 Digital that he sat for his Kenya Certificate of Primary Education at Kondele Primary School and attained 486 marks out of 700 which later earned him admission at Kisumu Boys High School now Kisumu School Where he sat for his Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education and scored a B+ in 2001.
Being a hardworking, brilliant, focused and ambitious fellow, his achievement earned him a slot in the University of Nairobi.
For the 37-year-old, poultry management and herding cattle have become his last resort as he helps his retired parents back in the Migosi Village area within Kisumu County since he graduated more than a decade ago.
During the interview, Oritcho said his first-class honours rewarded him institution’s recognition which made him attain Dean’s list an award that was acknowledged to him by prof. Agnes Mwang ‘ombe the by then Principal at the college of agriculture and veterinary sciences at the institution.
In his final year, he was nominated and awarded a certificate of merit for being the best undergraduate in the faculty of Agriculture selection involved meriting of departmental top academic nominees which included; B. Sc Agricultural Extension and Education, B. Sc. Agribusiness Management an award which was accredited by the then University’s Vice-Chancellor prof. George Maghoha is currently CS for Education.
After emerging the top academic performer, he was again awarded a full scholarship on attaining first-class honours to immediately pursue a Masters in Applied human nutrition
On many occasions, he admits he has contemplated suicide saying the rejection he has been through has affected him greatly.
“Sometimes I think death is the only solution for me, especially that I don’t see a chance of living. Not once, not twice have I thought of taking rat rat to take away my life because after death there is no suffering. I have suffered a lot, “he said.
“I remember about two years ago when I met my former classmate driving in a classy car. I was embarrassed and heartbroken when he asked me where I was. I didn’t know how to answer him so I had to pretend that I was in a hurry. ” he adds.
Oritcho questioned the CS for Education Prof. Magoha why he rewarded him with a certificate of merit which has since betrayed him everywhere he went in search of a job.

Miaka 13 amekuwa akifanya nini? Yeye ni mbegu mbaya yenye haifai kupitishwa mbele kwa kizazi kingine. Mungu alimuumba akuwe food technologist only? Hawezi fikiria kitu ingine ya kufanya kujiendeleza kimaisha? Miaka 13 ni enough kuturn kiosk iwe supermarket.

Ukimuona mwambie aache kujiita genius.

Zero working experience but unaambiwa ati uko overqualified like how?

Labda anaona as a genius he’s entitled to that corner office.

Very thick guy only thinking about being employed. As a food scientist, he should have started simple agro processing and value addition like local vegetable drying using sunshine and packing, if there is an abundance of milk, make yoghurt, cheese etc, mill various traditional grains and mix pack well and sell as nutritious porridge etc.

Ukitegemea your certs to open doors for you utakufa maskini

Capirooo itoke wapi?

Wewe yako ulitoa wapi?

There is a huge difference between being a book smart which mostly are good at cramming and being street smart. In our class the 4 guys who got First Class are still languishing in poverty while the back squad which Mwakenya and them were inseparable are doing well with formidable social networks.

you can tell the guy is full of himself, what is all the hullabaloo about “certificate of merit” or little recognitions here and there, si atoe kwa CV if he thinks they worked against him… this guy should have pursued an academic career, he can’t survive huku nje with that kind of mentality

Requires very little capital to start with. That’s how mama uji’s and mama mbogas with little schooling start and end up with hotels and green groceries. This mindset that you must be employed is stagnating many “educated” people

Silly walking library ! So he thinks he can only implement what he learned through employment ?

Huyu jamaa is just entitled with his masters, @Jimit alisoma certificate ya culinary management na siku hizi ni senior waitress pale Art Cafe

Okay. What else?

He should stop thinking the society owes him for having a first class, and be thankful that he was offered a scholarship for masters as a result of that first class, few first class students get that. He should focus on his path and stop comparing himself with others, his path is different and unique. By the way i saw an advert for a Phd in food science and nutrition in UON … he should apply before the deadline june 20th. 8:4:4 was a mess, it robbed us the chance of being intouch with reality. Attachement that are just formalities! You have a degree yet it will take you another 1-2 yrs of internship to appreciate the application of what you studied. And this is only if you were lucky to enroll in a degree that you had a passion for, nowadays you find even teachers in banking sector…confusion.
Maybe what we need is for all student to do a hands on certificate for 2 yrs before joining university for a degree. This way they will develop a passion and help them choose their courses wisely, and probably even sharpen their entreprenuership skills.

Niliajiriwa

He did the same course as safaricom Sylvia Mulinge and look how far she is compared to this entitled guy!

How do people learn this art of management,I find in my line of work,most IT Directors and HODs do not have a spec of IT background yet they rise so fast,sisi.watu wa mkono find it rough coz whenever you sell an idea to they either think you want to outshine them or misuse company’s money

Why do you laugh, love, at my predicament?