Jubilee Dev - Msambweni Level 5 county referral hospital in Kwale County gets MES Equipments

A visit to Msambweni County Referral Hospital, Kwale County. A Level V which has not only benefited from the Medical Equipment Services (MES) but is also making use of all their equipment. They boast of a state-of-the-art radiology unit, 5 bed dialysis unit with a water purification plant, 6 bed ICU, 2 bed HDU, upcoming blood transfusion unit. Being built is a huge maternity ward to be opened in May. Renovated adult wards. Patient flow has been made seamless. They are implementing an Electronic Medical Records (EMR) system.
[ATTACH=full]166080[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166081[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166082[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166083[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166084[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166085[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166086[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166088[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]166089[/ATTACH]

Uko works.You get paid to post these

@Luther12, does Mvurya treat your colleagues who work there well?

hiyo EMR ni ile ilikuwa funded na WHO from i think 2016? and done in phases?

NV that very retarded thinking, its like saying since world bank funded the current Nairobi-Mombasa highway in the 1970’s then they own it or its their initiative.

Anyway, WHO has nothing to do with this project. Leased medical equipment project under ministry of health was allocated Kshs 38 billion in 2015-2016 financial year. Its fully funded by Treasury. The full amount is 38 billion but its not paid all at once. The companies are paid annually I.e 7 billion. All maintenance and repair is from the client. They also have to provide technicians to operate them at their own cost if MOH or County government doesn’t have them.

Dear Spear,

You dont have to be nasty and degrading.

I asked specifically about the EMR, the Electronic Medical Records, and not the equipment thing. Perhaps you should spare some of your kids’ fees and pay for comprehension skills. Given that i asked, you should have rationalised and noticed that I speak from a point of knowledge …but you are ignorant.

A sycophant like you cannot deviate from the script given by their masters. That is the case here.

I regret ever engaging you in anything with an intellectual load of even a dog.

Regards,

Bingwa Scrotum
FMVe, NVR OWNR, MHT, MIT

Problem yako tu ni 1000 multiple handles.

are you, or are you not aware of a WHO project that digitized record keeping and transmission in hospitals and lower level health centres across the country?

Nope, sijui but should I need to I will. By the way I’m chief sycophant not just a sycophant. Don’t take away my title. I don’t have many like yours. Ubwa bingwa, kumbe ni wewe. Had I know its the resident nutcase I wouldn’t have bothered.

:D:D:D Binjwa group of scrotums

Nope. He’s the kind to take to social media complaining that the doctor hasn’t shown up to hospital in the morning, not bothering to know that that same doctor was in hospital up to 5a.m. in the morning conducting emergency C.S. And the fellow is part of the system that has consistently rejected all doctors posted since 2014.

Are you aware of the EMR i was asking the piss-pants @spear about?

Yes I am. I however am not aware of any facilities where W.H.O funded it. What i’m aware of is an Afya House push, some time around 2010, for hospitals to adopt it though they erred by not providing proper guidance so we ended up with far too many disjointed approaches that now make it difficult to integrate into a national database. In our own small ways at the local levels, we managed to have some facilities equipped for EMR by donors but the eternal problems of staff shortage, lack of electricity and internet mostly doomed our efforts.

In North Eastern, and Turkana Region from late 2016 way into 2017 I personally witnessed this exercise. They started with county hospitals and funnelled to subcounties upto ward level dispensaries/health centers.

They were fitting solar panels where need be.

WHO paid the contractor. I attest to this 100%.

My interactions with nurses from those tulittle health centers mashinani and SCPHOs attested that it was now very easy to extract real time data on the cases handled upto the very remote health centers

That’s excellent. Any plans to roll it out to more areas?

WHO are non-responsive on upscaling

Aah, too bad!!

You know around the same period, UN agencies were facing donor constraints… i noticed WFP scaled down, and ofcourse UNHCR for reasons beyond closing of refugee camps. I also noted NGOs with close implementation cooperation with the UN and its agencies suffering…

Perhaps, this hindered a faster upscaling.

The contractor went to implement similar assignment in Somalia… meaning they still had confidence in the implementation

I wish we had it in ourselves to scale it up. But yeah, noticed many donor agencies scaled own and some completely closed shop in many areas.

I hate it when GoK leaves some of these critical areas to the mercies of donors …Some of the upuss we put up with aki tungekuwa na pesa wangeona rasa zetu tukitoka kwa project negotiations.