Jubilee Development - Hand to mouth economy

There are so many ways for non Economists like me to measure how the economy is performing. I dont use statistics like KNBS just my eyes and nose.

1. When the foul smell at Githurai vegetable is too strong I can tell the economy is struggling. It means they are throwing away too many vegetables and fruits for lack of customers.

2. When the bar waiters in Ruaka give me too much “individualized attention and customer care” It means they have so few customers they have all the time to sit near me and start small talk. When economy is good, they zoom in, throw the beer at me and zoom off.

3. When I hear 7 o’clock news from every jirani and their lights are on as early as 6.30 pm. Means everyone is rushing home these days. No eating out. No “nikunywe moja jam ifunguke”

4. When they keep opening more and more mabati…International Gospel Terbanacle blessed Church…bla bla. Simply an indication things are too bad. Only hope is in heaven…not now, not 2022 not 2030.

5. When baboons near Gilgil weighbridge give motorists a bad look everyday. Simply means they came near the rd hoping men will throw food to them but all we throw are glances.

I should write a book on …An Introduction to Alternative Economics Statistics.

Bandit economy (mutunga 2015)

Ati baboons give you bad looks… Yeah,write that book. I will buy a copy.

True. thank your genius eyes and nose.

@Mujamaa quote the source kabla ktalk CSI wafike …

Haha. This is the real economics. Zi zile za spear na guka kuambiwa sijui GDP is growing by 13% compared na Japan at 8%.

Ata watu wa mutura , smokie pasua na mahindi choma wanazusha. Hizo mbao watu walikuwa wanatake for granted sahii inaekwa kwa budget vibaya sana.

I pity our country. Imagine in 2010 I used to enter a high end pub unakuta imejaa especially on Friday evenings. Siku hizi hata base ya keg unakuta hakuna customer!