Jubilee Development - Launced the construction of a modern stadium in Marsabit town

[B]Uhuru Kenyatta[/B]‏Verified account @UKenyatta 19h19 hours ago
Commissioned the construction of a modern stadium in Marsabit town.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqhG3jXcAAr0hS.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqhKucXoAEFV5G.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqhOhWXgAEJEqy.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqhTVFXUAECGqy.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFpTCb2XgAEnJcm.jpg
[B]Uhuru Kenyatta[/B]‏Verified account @UKenyatta 20h20 hours ago
Addressed Moyale town residents after commissioning the Kshs 42 billion Isiolo-Moyale road which connects Kenya to Ethiopia #MoyaleNiJubilee
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqH5zCXgAABMVE.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqIB-rXcAET8rr.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqIHbuXYAEuLn1.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqIOVPXsAErrmX.jpg
[B]Uhuru Kenyatta[/B]‏Verified account @UKenyatta 18h18 hours ago
On the 8th of August all Kenyans have to make a decisive decision. The difference between NASA and Jubilee is like night and day.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqn18kXsAITOCf.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqoE2TXkAARgB6.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqoHhqXYAIpl0I.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFqoKixW0AATGb6.jpg

A month ago, I saw some Asians playing cricket on that ground on a Sunday. Hope it will be multi purpose.

It is, football, athletic, rugby, base ball (incredibly) and Cricket.

Building a modern stadium in Marsabit is a waste of money. I hope this is a joke. There is no football or athletics or anything going on there.
You would be better off building a stadium say in Thika which has a KPL team or in Siaya or Bungoma. Build it anywhere where people actually play.

Have you been to Marsabit before ?

Ruto Will Neffa Effa Be President said it will be complete in 6 months…

@spear kesho where are the jubilee campaigns?

No.
But its a no brainer that Marsabit cannot sustain a modern stadium. A modern stadium should only be built if it can pay for itself .

The reason that Camp Toyoyo, Machakos and other county stadiums pay for themselves is because Kenya Premier league matches are played there. The resulting gate collections help pay for stadium maintenance.
At Camp Toyoyo, Gor Mahia pays about ksh 10,000 per day to train there. This is money that can go towards maintaining the stadium.

Stadiums are expensive to maintain

Now tell me : How will maintenance of a stadium in Marsabit be paid? You want the tax payer to foot the bill?

People running our gava are brainless.

If you are going to build a modern stadium, then build where there is enough sporting activity to pay for maintenance. Building a stadium in Marsabit is like giving a Mercedes Benz to a peasant who can’t afford to maintain it or even buy petrol.

Do these gava officials think?

It has not yet been announced. Inakaa watu wajawai sikia kitu inaitwa devolved funds in 2017.

Our president should not be commissioning the construction of white elephants. Contractors will be paid, architects will be paid, the local governor will eat bribes and eventually no one in Marsabit will afford to pay to use the stadium so the Kenyan tax payer will have to foot the bill to maintain this after others have eaten.

Again I hope this is all a joke.

Bwana president should show some leadership and tell them to engage in projects that are self sustaining, can actually make money for the county, create jobs and generate economic activity.

Building a stadium in Machakos makes sense: Due to its proximity to Nairobi, there are football and rugby matches being played there which brings in a lot of money in gate collections.

Building a stadium in Bungoma, Homa Bay, Limuru etc would also make sense. Lakini Marsabit shows our leaders are brainless.

If you do you are damned, if you don’t you are still damned.

That county is growing fast, the Isiolo-Moyale Highway that was recently launched is simply breathtaking. The best thing is that they also Tarmacked Marsabit town completely to that standard under orders from President Uhuru. Trucks going and from Ethiopia have started plying the route. Marsabit Airstrip is being upgraded. Oil and gas exploration firms have also started their search for oil in the county. One thing for sure its a complete transformation happening there.

In wale wale…:D:D:D:D:D:D:D Marsabit pia ni Kenya.

According to a Daily Nation article from May, Sports Kenya is giving Ksh 280 million to bolster the funds coming out of the county.
Does anyone here think this is a good use of your tax payer money?

Why not use that money to upgrade existing stadiums like the one in Mombasa or Kisumu so Kenya can host Africa cup of Nations.
Yaani no one in gava is engaging their brains. Thats what happens when the minister of sports knows nothing about sports.
Then again maybe this is just a campaign gimick or maybe its just to give officials another opportunity to eat.

Across the border is Oromo region in Ethiopia which produces a lot of their athletes. So its good we do the same for our people here who are next to them. That running truck will be important for them.

Firstly Marsabit town is not near the border. So a stadium is being built because of Oromo people who are hundreds of kilometres away?
There has never been a Kenyan borana athlete and And none of the Kenyan athletes will want to train in Marsabit when they already have good training locations in Iten, Ngong, Nyahururu and elsewhere.

And believe me. Kenya already has enough running tracks. The modern trend is to build stadiums without a track. Thats what Kenya should be doing.

BTW is Hassan Wario the sports minister from Marasabit? This might explain why the sports ministry is wasting money on this stadium.