Judiciary Ombudsman... The truth

[MEDIA=twitter]1349798846776422400[/MEDIA]

My personal opinion is that we need a law with timelines that guide investigation, tribunal, demotion, removal of magistrate, judges and justices. So far the lack of this guideline has lead to Judiciary Service Commission to dilly dally with misconduct cases for selfish and political gain. Anyone can petition JSC against their members for misconduct but JSC will only respond to it when they want to. They can’t also be compelled to. That is how mwilu has stayed on despite facing criminal charges of fraud, conspiracy and collusion. Whether its by Ombudsman office or law then it must be considered. However I don’t think this is a matter of constitution change as it can be legislated as a law. Secondly of its an Ombudsman then it must either be an independent body or appointed by CJ after undergoing competitive recruitment like SC Justices. There has to be timelines where misconduct cases are advanced, investigation done, presented to JSC, recommendations to drop it or tribunal formed to hear the matter.

Judicial ombudsman is a good thing

Some decisions judges and magistrates make are highly questionable

But the ombudsman shouldn’t be headed by a lawyer

If you want to reform he judiciary, you begin by asking them what ails them. There are many frustrated judges, magistrates and judicial officers in there. They will tell you. Administrative functions are all that is needed. Not changes in the constitution.

We Kenyans are a truly peculiar lot. It doesn’t take very much for us to be pleased with someone or something. It takes much much less for us to forget and to hate. We loved Uhuru and Ruto just because of sweet nothings. Now we hate Uhuru with all our hearts… Why? Because of nothing! Look and think why justice Maraga is a darling to Kenyans now. It’s because he is said to have stood in the way of Uhuru who, at least presently, happens to be disliked by those Kenyans. Because we hate Uhuru, Maraga is Saint, despite and in spite of all his shortcomings. We are truly a peculiar lot.

Hii nongwe ilichukua Per Diem ya 6m within 7 days. Anafaa kutupwa ndani

Lawyers walirig io kitu kitambo. Appointments karibu zote kenya lazima uwe lawyer.

Do u ask police officers what ails them before you reform it?

Anyway judicial ombudsman is not about REFORMING judiciary, but rather it’s how the kawaida guy can seek redress if he\she feels the judge \magistrate was biased

A link between mwanainchi and JSC/ judiciary

The rich can always appeal or petition JSC

What happens when a judge is seketering the accused like that judge in Sarah wairimu Vs to Cohen case