Jury Duty...

A term that i have heard for a while, especially in movies, so i decided to find out what its all about.

Jury Duty:
Obligation of a citizen to serve on a jury when called. One of the highest duties of citizenship, it accrues from the constitutional right to be tried by a panel of one’s peers and involves direct participation in the administration of justice. When summoned for a jury duty, a citizen must appear before the court or be tried for contempt of court.

The system works in the the US of A, Australia and New Zealand just to mention a few. Hey even Donald Trump attended Jury duty yesterday ( http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2015/08/17/trump-benched-for-day-reports-to-jury-duty/ )

If Jury duty was mandatory in kenya, how many of you would attend lets say be a juror in cases involving Powerful individuals, Convicted thugs & Murderers just to mention a few.

Yaani ni must? Then if happened in kenya, so many wananchi would be arrested for that contempt

From what i have read its not a must but repeatedly ignoring summons may lead to a contempt of court charge.

:smiley: I’d rather move to mexico! Who cray enough to be in the jury at a trial like, say, Kabogo’s or Harun Mwau?

NUH UH! FUCK DAT!

If I am not wrong the Kenyan court system has its own “jury duty”, I don’t have the details but its mostly used in land cases.

Or Pastor Kanyari.

I think you need to watch a movie called “Runaway Jury” or read the book by John Grisham to know that it can’t work in the current Kenya na vile @Nefertities amesema hapo juu

you may either end up very rich from a bribe or six feet under

No question about it, you gon’ die bruh! Before they get to paying jurors, they will set examples by having most of them killed!

Hii Ni kenya! That jury court will just be a vioja mahakamani type of court! Yaani ata mwizi wa kuku akijua that a group of 12 people landed him a yr in jail, utaona vile mtakujiwa! Then Ongeza the kenyan ideology of “ni mtu wetu”, everybody will be walking scott free!

Worse is snitching on dirty cops. And most cases of robbery with violence you normally find that the victims usually even fear identifying their attackers for fear of retribution.
Mexico is a bad location, from what i see on National Geographic, on drug cartels, gangs the akina zetas, maravilla and the likes whose way of intimidation is beheading, castrations and other macabre ways of dealing with traitors i wouldn’t go even if it was a free holiday. Mexico has a federal government so i am sure they use the jury system.

NIGGA I WILL GO TO MEXICO BEFORE I SNITCH ON ANY DIRTY COPS OR POLITICIANS IN KENYA! I WILL PUT ALL MY SAVINGS AND INVEST IN GREECE BEFORE I TELL ON ANY OF THESE MITCHES!

I ain’t outchea trynna get murdered!

or Pastor Nganga

It’s a must you do attend unless you have a good reason(with support) not to. I got away on two occasions.

I understand that you can also disqualify yourself,.does that mean you will be banned for life from serving jury duty.

Bias would be like coffee in the court house. You secretly tell me to vouch for you in the dock but I turn around on ya because you filled the clothing line with your bras when I was doing my washing.

Nope! They simply place you in the unending pool of qualified candidates for another selection. They may recall you for other cases.

Mexico and Greece…hehhehe what a choice of destinations

ever heard of the term Plato o Plomo?