Just a thought for you. #celebrateourdiversity

Let us not forget who our real enemy is. Selfish politicians!

In the yesterday’s thread i read what @Mzee mzima wrote and it always makes me wonder…but i will repeat myself here for the n-th time. Tribes are not the problem here…if anything we should be proud of them…they hold such a rich history of culture and identity that it should never go down the drain. This notion that tribes are evil has been drilled down into our minds by politicians that we are not able to think straight and sharp. I blame all this to ignorance of our people. Kibaki and uhuru by making education free for all are and have been addressing this issue and in due time we will come to embrace each other’s tribes and culture and see the genius behind them…and this is just in time as we are on the verge of a generational change in our politics…

This is just shameful shameful shameful, i hope unajua huyo mtoi hatawai kuwa american or british or english…they will just be a pathetic person with no culture or identity, named after a people they know nothing about and who think africans (read that poor kid who has been disenfranchised from their own culture) are the most stupid people on earth…huamini? Go spend time in Liberia and live among people who are called Alfred kennedy or Winston Catherine and see how they live out their lives??? Huwa hawajielewi. They have no tribes there but that country has been through worse times than Somalia…infact IMHO Somalia has a bigger chance of stability and growth than Liberia! And i know because i have been to both countries. Hekaya baadaye. The kind of civil war that liberia has gone through is amongst the worst in the world and yet they have no tribes per’se.

A person with no culture will have nothing to fight for, nothing new to share with the world and above all will live a life they know nothing about.! Conflicted individuals! I have attended cultural nights held in different parts of our country and had so much fun there, kina kamba night and the others…i know schools that arrange such as well and the children happily display what their culture is all about by dressing cooking and talking the part. In short our tribes and cultures are what makes us a people with an inheritance to protect and share with everyone else and we should not take that away from our children. Including the language itself!

Names are the least of the questionable things they’re doing nowadays. Their children cannot speak their mother tongues. Respect and obedience to adults are conditional not expected. Those kids will slap their parents :D:D

Hapo umeongea ukweli bana, watoto lazima wajue mahali wametoka na tuweze kubonga na wao kikuyu mzuri

so true. blaming the wrong thing. its all about politics. if today raira toshad a kyuk, you would not believe the skid marks people would make while u turning. we should be moving toward eliminating the foreign names we were stuck with as first names not the other way round.

All my kids have their full cultural names and they know their culture. Its important to take them home, be with their kin and grandparents to learn it.

Black you have made a good point about culture. But then you have mixed it up na story ya liberia and somalia. Those issues are not mutual.

It was in the context of tribe. People are walking around thinking that tribes are the problem…Liberia hawana tribes or culture as such but they have been through it all…so lack of a tribe in a country is not the solution…people should embrace their tribes

Asante. With or without tribe hate still exists. Even without tribe people will chose to hate someone because of other excuses like religion, social standing, sex and appearance.

Exactly!

Sisomi

I read the story of Northern Ireland and was shocked how hate can manifest itself in people for a century. Their big conflict is being a Catholic and your blood brother being Protestant. Both Christian but somehow its a cause of armed conflict for 100 years. People are changing slowly there to “intermarry” but I find the whole thing as BS. Sasa every year since the successful peace talks and treaties, they have different parades where each troops their flags. Sasa those events are so divisive such that the whole nation security teams and England army have to send troops to barricade streets and houses to avoid conflicts from the two communities. Hate is a disrupt full thing.

Liberia kuna tribes, there were indigenous Africans living there before those freed slaves were resettled there from the US and they are actually the majority.

I have seen some people calling for killing of vernacular radio and the TV stations. They’re wrong. In fact they should teach vernacular languages in school and even get tested on it. To me being about to read, write and speak Samburu and Maasai is more beneficial than learning French and German.

Mkosa kabila ni mtumwa.

Yes there were…very few of them…but those tribes have been watered down and eliminated by those freed slaves and their children. They have no culture to talk about