Just call it what it is - Statutory Rape

[SIZE=6]TSC: 1,077 teachers sacked for sexually harassing students[/SIZE]

https://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/5023272/highRes/2279746/-/maxw/600/-/3m5cro/-/tsc-pic.jpg
TSC CEO Nancy Macharia who said that a total of 1,077 teachers have been sacked over the past eight years for having sexual relations with students.
In Summary
[li]The TSC boss asked all stakeholders to play their roles in order to address the crisis.[/li][li]She added that majority of pregnancies in schools affect students in day schools.[/li][li]Knut’s Hesborne Otieno said the union will not protect teachers who sexually harass students.[/li][/ul]
By OUMA WANZALA

The Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has announced that it will continue to sack teachers who sexually harass students.
Appearing before the Senate Education Committee, TSC CEO Nancy Macharia said that for the last eight years, a total of 1,077 teachers have been sacked for having sexual relations with students.
Mrs Macharia said the sacked teachers will not be allowed to teach in any school in the country.

The report tabled indicate that among those sacked, 88 were from Kakamega, 61 from Kisii, Kitui (53), Homabay (61), Bungoma and Siaya (46).
The TSC boss asked all stakeholders to play their roles in order to address the crisis.
On teenage pregnancies, Mrs Macharia said only two per cent of the teachers are involved while other people are responsible for 98 per cent of the cases.
She added that majority of pregnancies in schools affect students in day schools.
Kenya National Union of Teachers Deputy Secretary-General Hesborne Otieno said the union will not protect teachers who sexually harass students.

CRISIS
Senate Education Committee Chairman Dr Christopher Langat (Bomet) asked all stakeholders to address the crisis which he noted was getting out of land.
Dr Langat criticised the Ministry of Education for failing to turn up during the session to explain the measures it had taken to address teenage pregnancies in schools.
“We had also expected the Interior ministry to tell us what they have taken against perpetrators of such crimes but they did not honour our invitation,” said Dr Langat.
Religious leaders who attended the forum asked the Ministry of Education to vet sex education curriculum. They said that any content that seeks to promote the use of contraceptives among students would be rejected.

SEX EDUCATION
NCCK, Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops, Supkem and Kenya Christian Professional Forum insisted that the materials must be for the benefit of learners and that parents must be involved at all levels.
At the meeting, it emerged that parents, teachers, relatives and boda boda operators were key perpetrators of child abuse.
A new report by Ministry of Education released last year exposed shocking details on the rates of teenage pregnancies, child defilement and drug abuse in schools.
The report disclosed that teenage pregnancies had hit an all-time high with Narok County being the most affected at more than 60 per cent.

Teachers guilty of relations with students should be sacked AND prosecuted for rape. Those are children that they are responsible for.

Statutory rape is a rape where one of the participants in the sex act is under the age of consent. Because when you are below the age of consent then you are not allowed to make certain decisions. You cannot enter any contract of you’re below agree of consent etc etc
Personally I think this statutory rape should go case by case. Not all under 18 are children. I have seen some girls who are 17 and are fully developed and reason better than most 25 year olds. The law would still label her a minor.

Lakini when it is teacher student situation there should be no sex at all

The law is the law.
Fun fact: The age of consent in Bangladesh is 14.

That is very reasonable. The [philosophy behind] statutory rape law is meant to protect the really young kids, the type who wouldn’t know what is being done to them – 14 and below. Beyond 14, you start having situations where it is the kids who are soliciting for sex and it gets very complicated…

Lemme adress some issues:

1)Physical development/appearance: If a mentally retarded woman over 18 is sexed by you, you will go to jail, so the issue isnt how developed a person looks. Awhile back we were hearing of a case of a woman in vegetative state for 12 years giving birth. Why was the man involved arrested yet she was over 18? Very simple SHE DID NOT HAVE THE CAPACITY TO GIVE CONSENT.Brain development shows teens have the brain of a child . And really that is the issue. THE LACK OF CAPACITY TO GIVE CONSENT by virtue of having the thought processes of a child.

Even 5 year old kids are curious about their sexuality now if a 5 year old child tries to make sexual advances towards you, will you say the child is soliciting you for sex? You know as the adult, the same way , you have a fiduciary responsibility not to give a child a matchstick or a sharp knife even if they solicit for it. You can not have sex with a child because they solicited you. If today you get your son on top of your househelp will you accept the narrative that its the boy who solicited the sex?

Anybody below the age of 18 does not the MENTAL CAPACITY TO GIVE CONSENT. Any culture that doesnt acknowledge that is a country that doesnt respect human rights period and sees its citizenry male and female as just a means to an end not dignified humanbeings.

1. Many girls begin getting sexual advances when theyre still children. Before they even have breasts. From male agemates and older males as well. Now for teachers, in our society, theyre like leaders. Children,students get aspirational crushes on their teachers. If you’ve ever been a lecturer, a tutor , a teacher,even doctors,counselors,nurses- you know that. You also know that as a teacher you have a fiduciary responsibility even when dealing with adults not to begin a relationship until the student is no longer in your class. THAT’S FOR ADULTS. The problem we have in especially male sexuality is that the power differential is a big part of the male desire. So if you are in a position of power like you are an adult and this is a child or you are a priest or a teacher or even a boss, the vulnerability of those you wield power over arouses sexual desire in men because male sexual desire to a large extent is about dominance and power so who is more powerless and vulnerable than a child and one whose education is in your hands? Its that messed up sexual self concept that is then influencing this - and if you wanna prove it , its in the poorer parts of the country . Its rare for kids from wealthy families or even middle class families to be abused by teachers. A poor kid has even less power, if its a girl,she needs pads and maybe she’s hungry - so its a mash up . In societies where women/girls are not accesible like moslem countries.Like Afghanistan and Pakistan - Men prey on boys - so that example of Pakistan and 14 years old age of consent - its a moslem country a woman cant consent to sex, you’re married or you’re not, if you’re not, you will go to jail regardless how old yall are. So what happens is the accessible group is street boys who are poor. You can still see the same sickening dynamic -where they give the street boys food for sex. Its the male sexual transactional paradigmn to exploit. Children. Boys. Girls.Street people,poor people ,mentally/physically incapacitated people because sex to men is tied with an erotic pleasure from the power and ability to exploit. Thats why a man will go to a househelp because she’s vulnerable so it makes him feel powerful. Whoever is available and vulnerable to gain that sense of sexual power from. Period.Male sexuality is toxic.And those who cant regulate themselves must be dealt with by the government otherwise our society will become a jungle . How the hell does a whole class of 13-15 year old class 8 drop school bcz of male teachers impregnating them.Its completely unacceptable in a sane society.FIDA should file criminal charges, sacking isnt enough and isnt enough of a deterrent for something thats become so pervasive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMp2wm0VMUs

Growing up, and I grew up very sheltered. I could see the societal male predatory attitude to girls even children. At age 9,men even 20 make advances. You could see school girls being propositioned by touts on the road,shop keepers. Its just the environment. Now in high school I went to girls only boarding school. Here is where I understood how a responsible male teacher behaves towards hormonal teenage girls. I must say, girls would come on to teachers all the time but the teachers put the boundaries because they were the adults.They didnt say, I have hormonal teenage girls propositioning me so I am a man what can I do. I will give a personal example. My chemistry teacher liked me alot, and I had a crush on him, however , he used the ‘chemistry’ to ensure I performed very well in his subject . Not once did he behave inappropriately towards me , if he was on duty and I am caught in the wrong, he’d not let me off , as a child ,it was exhilarating to be liked by a teacher , a very smart one at that. At that age you are very vulnerable and you dont or cant think straight like an adult would. And there were many times teachers or people on teaching practice had crushes on teachers and vice versa, but the adults always put clear boundaries and ensured things never went out of control. The entire 4 years I was there I never heard of any affair between a teacher and a student and I think very highly of that school and those teachers to date. Maximum respect. Being a teacher is a calling, to mold lives, to give values, to encourage and motivate students that in their admiration of you the teacher they can do more and be more than what they think or see themselves as capable of. One of the philosophers talks about this , how his students love and infatuation with him as a teacher ,helped them scale the heights. A teacher is a parent. The same way you can not molest your son or daughter because theyre shapely,handsome,tall,funny,smart and all other attractive qualities we enjoy in the opposite sex.As a teacher when you touch your student or have an emotional affair with them. YOU RUIN THEM. Many people world over credit their turn around to teachers. Countless people, including myself, from my class 6 teacher Mrs . Kisali to my High School Heady who was like a mom to us, I know the power a teacher wields . Anybody abusing that power for good for sexual gratification with a child. They dont just deserve the sack for desecrating the noble vocation of teaching, equal to that of healing, of parenting , of being a priest. Such people deserve many years in jail to have time to think about how much theyve ruined society. When a child is introduced to sex prematurely, it distorts their self image, it impedes their growth and destroys positive role modeling and how to relate well with authority figures. You can just see with R Kelly how child sex abuse can destroy many lives.

The deepest problem for me lies in the perversion of mentorship. In the classroom intellectual crushes are useful. They goad and inspire you. They draw out your best work; they break through limits, challenge, transform. They are part of the thrill of academia at its best. To maneuver within that crush, to manage and exploit it, is part of the trick of teaching. To act on it in the crudest way by sleeping with the student is to crush the whole endeavor.

Its unacceptable when an entire class of girls in class 8 not even Form 4 are all pregnant and by teachers.This is an abomination. Kudos for this and with Prof.Magoha coming in I know teaching will regain the dignity and noble status it inherently holds,by sex pests being weeded out.

Teenage Brain VS Adult Brain in decision making -prefrontal cortex is not developed until mid twenties - this is the decision making center of the brain.In general, executive functions of prefrontal cortex, focus on controlling short-sighted, reflexive behaviors to take part in things like planning, decision-making, problem-solving, self-control, and acting with long-term goals in mind. They are higher-level cognitive processes that people tend to display greater proficiency in than other animals—thus you could argue they are some of the functions that truly help to make human cognition unique.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WhrAEAdTlJc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWUkW4s3XxY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8sO4tqfUEs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpMG7vS9pfw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JRxwVpXFB0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rG7VZKl375g

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zeHXF8sX6E