Karius suffered Ramos-induced concussion during UCL final, moments before first howler

Loris Karius sustained a concussion during the Champions League final which may have affected his performance, according to a leading expert on brain injuries.

The Liverpool goalkeeper had a disastrous game in Kiev, making two high-profile mistakes which directly led to Real Madrid goals as the Spanish side went on to win 3-1 and take their third successive European crown.

Footage which later circulated on social media appeared to show Real Madrid’s captain Sergio Ramos connect with Karius’s head in an off-the-ball incident, which occurred only a few minutes before his first error.

Dr Ross D Zafonte of Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston carried out a “comprehensive examination” of the Liverpool goalkeeper on 31 May, and after reviewing footage of the game and hearing Karius’s recollections, concluded the 24-year-old suffered a concussion during the match.

In a statement, Dr Zafonte said the concussion was linked to Karius’s performance in the final.

“At the time of our evaluation, Mr. Karius’s [SIZE=6]principal residual symptoms and objective signs suggested that visual spatial dysfunction existed[/SIZE] and likely occurred immediately following the event,” the statement read.

[ATTACH=full]174250[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=6]“Additional symptomatic and objectively noted areas of dysfunction also persisted. It could be possible that such deficits would affect performance.”[/SIZE]

The statement added that Karius had displayed “steady improvement” since the injury and was expected to make a full recovery.

Karius has been held largely at fault for Liverpool’s failure in the European showpiece and came out to take responsibility for his errors, tweeting the following day: “Haven’t really slept until now… the scenes are still running through my head again and again… I’m infinitely sorry to my teammates, for you fans, and for all the staff.

“I know that I messed it up with the two mistakes and let you all down. As I said I’d just like to turn back the time but that’s not possible. It’s even worse as we all felt that we could have beaten Real Madrid and we were in the game for a long time.

“Thank you to our unbelievable fans who came to Kiev and held my back, even after the game. I don’t take that for granted and once again it showed me what a big family we are. Thank you and we will come back stronger.”

Merseyside Police have been investigating death threats made to the goalkeeper in the wake of the match.

COURTESY: https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/loris-karius-liverpool-real-madrid-champions-league-final-sergio-ramos-a8383396.html

Here’s the clip;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bg4ZqHvUTa8

My two CBK cents: Spain & Real Madrid Captain Sergio Ramos, Mo Salah and then this? Mungu anakuona!!

Why did I make that Karius joke?

Which one?

asijitetee ,aliangusha team and should carry the cross

But you guy, can’t you see that it wasn’t his intention for that to have happened?

That was 100% intentional. Ni kama pesa ilikuwa imeshaingia.

Well,

Jameni :(:(:frowning:

Ramos is a devil walai…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lWQTzjedUA

hapana,angesema mapema apewe sub

Where did you study for your medicine degree to have a better opinion than that of the doctor who examined him?

Why didn’t he ask for a substitution immediately after the incident? He cost his team there

Sit down…There is no return match, Liverpool lost.

[MEDIA=twitter]1003708967778963456[/MEDIA]

Si mambo na medicine degree,kama mtu unajua umeumizwa Si useme tu mapema upewe sub

If you have ever suffered a concussion, you’d know that mtu huwa amepoteza network mbaya and it only gets worse with every passing moment, until you get rest or immediate medical attention. I applaud him for seeking the ref’s intervention immediately after the incident. Have you checked the first video I posted above?

For Ramos to elbow him he was pushed by a Liverpool defender. Na watu wana uchungu bado. UEFA iliisha saa hii ni world cup. If you have a problem with that go live with it

As I just explained…

Concussion ikikupata vinoma, hutajua hata kama unacheza Association Football ama American Football. And the sad thing is that you’ll think you’re fine until the effects hit you… slowly and badly! Cut him some slack… Twaz just unfortunate, dirty Ramos antics which ought to be investigated and punished…

Exactly, he knows he’s injured and opts to play on. There’s no way he’s escaping blame

Karius can go fcuk himself. No amount of blame-shifting will ever convince any LFC supporter.

Concussion apana mchezo , nowadays once the medic confirms a player has suffered a Concussion during the game he/ gets substituted immediately. Real were deserving winners anyway, Bila Salah the Reds did not stand a chance

It’s possible to get a concussion and not know that you have a concussion.

That said, this all sounds like BS.