Ni system ya zamani. In the old TV's ilikuwa na kisogo huko nyuma for the cathode ray tube (CRT) to scan images.
Inside that CRT kisogo there used to be an electron scanner known as an electron gun. It shot an electron beam onto a fluorescent screen yaani it converted the electrical signal into a picture.
Now to do that it draws a line from top to bottom zig zag fashion. Then it draws another line to fill the gap. And it does that in microseconds and your eyes won't see it moving across the TV screen!
That one line is half an image known as a field. The second line is another half image. When woven by your eyes in your brain you see a complete picture known as a frame. And you won't see the lines! Ingenious really.
That is known as interlacing the image or i.
With time came the microchip and new technology came in to replace the electron gun and the CRT with time died a natural death as there was no need for a kisogo tv.
These new chips could scan the whole image in one go onto your screen but used slightly more power. This whole image scan is known as a progressive scan or p.
An interlaced image is often cheaper but shittier. You can do a digital interlace where you get 576i or 480i or even 1080i.... sijui kama umeelewa.