KBC ya Japan.

NHK broadcasts in 4k banae, tutafika uku lini.

They are actually moving to 8K and 16K. Its because the U.S banned them from having a military. After WW2 that is. They were demilitarised.

A common military utilizes most of a country’s bandwidth for communication and intelligence gathering.

Japan doesnt have such issues so most of
their bandwidth is used for entertainment, gambling and gaming.

Kenya tuko bado 480p

16k utastream na internet gani uku.

The problem isn’t 16K transmission or technology but the expense that comes with change. If the govt just bought 4K transmitters for KBC for several billions lazima hio pesa ijilipe. If safaricom upgrades to support those data streams hio pesa lazima ijilipe. And that takes time. By the time they recoup those costs Japan is at 32K or 64K resolution.

But you can recoup those costs quickly if you have an active profitable entertainment scene.

For instance if the Kenya govt allowed gambling to thrive undisturbed and opened the doors to foreign gamblers money would flow into Kenya like an ocean. Think Macau.

That money could then be used to fund 16K broadband for efficient gambling and online money transactions.

But there is a cost. You allow gambling and all the associated vices follow e.g drugs, prostitution. You then have to invest billions in an advanced police force.

The Mafia wanted to turn Cuba into a Macau but Fidel Castro came along and destroyed their plans so they instead built Vegas in the Nevada desert. Fidel didn’t want vice in Cuba.

FYI the largest format is not digital but good old film. When you talk about 4K in the 1970s there was 70mm film stock which captures images at over 64K definition.

It is what is known as IMAX definition. When you hear that a movie was shot on IMAX it means it was shot on special 70mm cameras.

In essence you can comfortably blow up that image on a 64K digital screen. Watu wa zamani walikuwa geniuses.

Kucompare japan na Kenya nikama kucompare tuktuk na benz

Is that why akina KTN and KBC etc look blurred on the live net compared to DW, NHK etc

Kenyan TV bado iko interlaced yaani 576i not 480p. Hata hawajaingia HD.

K24 ya Uhuru iliingia HD juzi but low res.

Kwanini EWTN na other Islamic channels broadcasts in low resolution na ziko US?
@T.Vercetti

They can lower the broadcast resolution if you as the Kenyan broadcaster ask them to. E.g Bamba TV will tell Ewtn or TBN or Al jazeera wa resize resolution on their side or Bamba themselves can reduce and resize on the Kenyan side before transmission to the viewers. Or they can just steal the broadcast from Youtube and resize it. Njia ni mingi. This reduces transmission costs on bamba’s side.

If you want the FULL HD version of EWTN or Al jazeera you would have to get it on another platform e.g Youtube.

Remember that as a broadcaster if you were transmitting a higher resolution e.g full HD you need more powerful equipment which equals more electricity consumed which equals more costs incurred. And because you need higher frequencies or more broadband to transmit this HD images Uhuru will also charge you more.

So yes it is about money.

Interlaced ni kusemaje?

Ni system ya zamani. In the old TV’s ilikuwa na kisogo huko nyuma for the cathode ray tube (CRT) to scan images.

Inside that CRT kisogo there used to be an electron scanner known as an electron gun. It shot an electron beam onto a fluorescent screen yaani it converted the electrical signal into a picture.

Now to do that it draws a line from top to bottom zig zag fashion. Then it draws another line to fill the gap. And it does that in microseconds and your eyes won’t see it moving across the TV screen!

That one line is half an image known as a field. The second line is another half image. When woven by your eyes in your brain you see a complete picture known as a frame. And you won’t see the lines! Ingenious really.

That is known as interlacing the image or i.

With time came the microchip and new technology came in to replace the electron gun and the CRT with time died a natural death as there was no need for a kisogo tv.

These new chips could scan the whole image in one go onto your screen but used slightly more power. This whole image scan is known as a progressive scan or p.

An interlaced image is often cheaper but shittier. You can do a digital interlace where you get 576i or 480i or even 1080i… sijui kama umeelewa. :smiley:

Ndio maana ulikuwa unaambiwa if you open an old TV unaeza pigwa shock ya kimataifa juu ya hio charged electron gun. Ni kama kupigwa radi.

And I haven’t explained how colour worked in the old TV.

Nimeshika. So that’s why the mgongo tv’s used to have images kama mchele mchele ama?

Well, I believe that was more because KBC didn’t have the most upto date transmission equipment. Remember that was the era of nyayo and some parastatals like KBC were starved of cash and yet all tv stations relied on KBC to transmit images.

If you were rich and owned an original Japanese Tv set and you purchased an original VCR and you managed to acquire recorded TV footage from your cousin in the U.S or Britain or Japan you would be shocked at how excellent the analogue image was.

In fact that analogue image is better than digital because it is “natural”. Those TVs and cameras used silver and other natural metals, the skin tones were accurate and not too sharp like digital.

I had an old Ntsc video recording of the U.S masters yaani the grass is so clear and resolved hadi you feel wierd. Zero artifacts.

If you watched DSTV in the 90s on an analogue TV you would understand what I mean.

Those old timers refined analogue tv to the best level they could.

Yes, I had an original Forest Gump movie NTSC tape of that era and it was very very clear.

Is there a time the digital image will reach the richness (pun unintended) of the analogue?

That’s a very good question. Some of the engineers making the biggest bucks today are in colour science in exactly that field you have stated.

The very best digital cameras are those ones that can imitate the analogue film image and richness the closest. Right now a company called Arri is the one that almost matches the film analogue image. Not perfectly but almost there.

Hollywood is spending millions of dollars to get that “film look” digitally. But its hard. Very hard, because like I said these analogue products were natural products, natural mistakes.

Even the old vhs tape itself used natural magnetic oxides and not zeroes and ones like modern computers.

Understood. Natural as in using light and magnetism directly as opposed to zeros and ones data. But I guess digital is easier to transmit without losing data on the way, that’s why digital has to be perfected

@T.Vercetti thanks for information. You are a broadcast Engineer?