Keep Your Hands Off Uhuru Park

Let’s keep raising our voices until the government hears it, keep your hands off Uhuru Park.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1fTncqESko

The park is public so is the Express road !

Wacha barabara ijengwe!

Kenyans wameugua kabisa Huu ugonjwa wa pointless activism. It’s true, the government ought to be diligent, but kupinga everything for the sake of it ni utoto. If the project is shelved, and then next year you get reports that Rwanda have built even a single km of such a road, the bonobos wanaanza kupiga kelele tena how all our neighbours wametupita! Worse so if it would be Tanzania who would build a similar road!!!

Kenyans, what is it do we really want?

The deal is already inked, tafuta kazi ya kufanya ama kesho ulale njaaaaa

Light rail.

Thika super highway didn’t solve the issue of jam, everyone is in agreement on that, so why repeat the same mistake AGAIN?!

Only an African will repeat the same mistake just because…

And that 59 billion bob will serve only the rich who can afford saloons. That is inequality in distribution of resources.

I am not in agreement. Apparently it was not built wide enough. Initially it was adequate. Then unplanned for traffic increased exponentially. Now it is also demanding elevated stretches as well to mitigate the shortcomings.

Heheheee!
How else do these highly educated Kenyans think traffic congestion can be minimised? Minimised being the keyword! Or, we are all suddenly dumb now?

Hii ya Uhuru Park nayo nimekataa. Haitajengwa. Having inked a deal or not.

Uhuru anafikiria hii ni yake juu inaitwa Uhuru Park? Uhuru ni fala juu hawezi soma na Moi. Moi alitolewa Kwa kiti na saga yake na Wangari Mathai juu Uhuru Park.

Uhuru Park is Kenya’s holy grail. Hio unagusa kaa unataka kuondokea mamlaka kabla kipindi chako kiishe.

Uhuru park ijengwe

How I wish Professor Wangarí Maathai was alive. RIP

I think you have a point here. We’ve been politicking with our nuclear power aspirations for decades now. Rwanda has decided that it will be up and running by 2024. And you know Rwanda means business! 2024 we will be importing power from Rwanda.

I liked and supported Wangari kwa roho safi. I still do. Her works were noble. But I have never understood why or forgiven her for stopping the construction of that skyscraper! Angepeleka pang’ang’a huko Karura, Mau Forest na Nyayo Tea Zones. Nairobi was already shamba la mawe!

Buildings and other structures can also bring prestige to communities. Perhaps they would have objected the building of the Harbour Opera Building, but people in Sydney can’t imagine their city without the building. New York lost the World Trade Centre Towers and they have never felt the same again!

Let’s ignore the park, and build a road so that the Japanese can get somewhere to dump second hand poor quality cars. We need more people owning cars through loans as a sign of economic growth. Lol

thika road is wide enough, most of the time it’s actually idle, most people coming to town are either government workers , people seeking government services, or guys in transit ,to either Westlands, upperhill or other areas,solution lies in stopping cbd being the focal point, reduce the number of government offices in town and provide guys with alternative routes.

This will never be possible. The sooner people will realise and admit this fact the better. People will forever have good and genuine reasons to go to the cbd. Today, more than never before, numerous services, whether government or otherwise, have been spread out of the cbd to even as far away from Nairobi as other counties. Hypermarkets, hospitals, schools, government huduma centres, etc, and yet people still throng the cbd. And what’s wrong with people going to the cbd? If people stop going to Nairobi the economy will paralyse. That’s why it is imperative to find ways of accommodating all.

if you’re traveling up country, do you really need to go to cbd? with increase in population policymakers need to rethink, it can’t support the emerging population anymore

But they have thought and done other things and yet the problem still persists! Like I have said above, many services have been spread away from the city. On top of that they have built bypasses all round the city. What does that mean? To me, it means that we need this highway very desperately, and it might not be enough. We will still be in need of all the other infrastructure like light rails, brt, etc.

This is a useless project and won’t solve our traffic menace. whiever came up with it is only interested in kickbacks

You realize it PUBLIC land that was being grabbed to create a PRIVATE enterprise, yeah?