Kenya’s donkeys could be extinct in four years

THURSDAY JULY 25 2019

https://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/5209272/highRes/2403868/-/maxw/600/-/vf00u3z/-/abattoir.jpg
A donkey slaughterhouse in Mogotio, Baringo County. PHOTO | FILE | NMG
In Summary
[li]The study traces the problem to the classification of donkeys and horses as food animals seven years ago.[/li][li]Animal warfare lobbies have urged the government to withdraw the abattoirs’ licences until measures are put in place to guarantee the welfare of the animals.[/li][li]The lobbies also want trade in donkey meat and skin halted until regulations are set up to protect the species.[/li][/ul]
ADVERTISEMENT

By FAITH NYAMAI
More by this Author
Kenya may not have a single donkey by 2023 if the current slaughter rate continues.
A new report by Africa Network for Animal Welfare (ANAW) says the rise of slaughterhouses threatens to wipe out the animal.
CLASSIFICATION
The study traces the problem to the classification of donkeys and horses as food animals seven years ago.
This led to the establishment of more slaughterhouses to meet the high demand from the local and international markets.
There are four donkey abattoirs in the country namely Goldox Kenya Limited in Mogotio, Baringo County, Star Brilliant Abattoir at Maraigushu in Naivasha, Silzha Ltd at Nakwaalele in Turkana, and Fuhai Machakos Trading Company Ltd.
Related Stories
[li]Kenya at centre of donkey smuggling racket[/li][li]Chinese investor dies in Nakuru[/li][li]What China’s huge appetite for donkey hide means[/li][li]WAMANJI: Licensing donkey slaughterhouses could be the ruin of rural Kenya[/li][/ul]
Animal warfare lobbies have urged the government to withdraw the abattoirs’ licences until measures are put in place to guarantee the welfare of the animals. The lobbies also want trade in donkey meat and skin halted until regulations are set up to protect the species.
The report is compiled by Mr Josiah Ojwang, Dr Dennis Bahati and Mr Sebastian Mwanza from ANAW and Mr Bernard Atsiaya of Kenya Society for the Protection and Care of Animals.
“Most donkeys in Moyale come from Ethiopia through unofficial border entry points,” says the report.
Brooke East Africa in collaboration with Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organisation, the Network of Donkey Owners (Nado) and the Alliance of Donkey Welfare Organisations in Kenya have also called for a ban on the export of donkey skin.
MEDICINE
They also want a crackdown on cross-border smuggling of donkeys. Brooke East Africa CEO Fred Ochieng’ said communities should work together to fight for the survival of donkeys.
Traditional medicine
Brooke is an international animal warfare charity dedicated to improving the lives of donkeys, horses and mules.
Nado chairman Robert Mutethia said donkeys should not be slaughtered. The export of donkey products is driven mainly by demand from China where the skin is used to make traditional medicine known as ejiao.
The Chinese believe that the skin supplements lost blood, delays ageing, increases libido and treats side effects of chemotherapy. They also believe that it reverses infertility, prevents miscarriage and menstrual irregularity.
It is estimated that 1,000 donkeys are slaughtered in the country daily. This has led to an increase in donkey theft.
ANAW veterinarian Calvin Onyango says 600,000 pieces of donkey skin and 400 tonnes of donkey meat were exported to Vietnam and China between 2016 and 2018.

Why. Vijana tuwache kuwa lazy and start farming the damn donkeys for supply to slaughter houses. kitunguu inuke.

This is how jobs are created!

How much is one donkey

This is the problem with our lazy youths.

The information you are requesting is just a “Google away”

We have atleast 5 abattoirs…get their contacts and ask them some of these questions.

You want me to spoon feed you! chieth

I am arab and older than your father. Maybe the same youth cannot afford a donkey. Besides you seem like you are in the donkey bussiness and should have all info.

Donkeys take too long to produce, that’s the problem

There must be artificial ways of making them come on heat and bang each other.

:D:D Good point.

I.o.w. Shainaman is literally eating Kenya alive.

Fck Naivasha people hehehe they cld stick to cows had to make the donkeys extinct

People have to survive and if donkeys are rendered extinct then so be it

Alafu haina benefits zozote kama maziwa while lactating. Kazi ni kuhara hara every 50 metres. Na a male one haiezi tumiwa kulima in rural setups.

Punda ni hasara tupu kwa mkulima serious, its only purpose ni kuchota tu maji. Ndio maana zimejaa ukambani na Rongai.

In Maasai land where I come from there used to be wild donkeys roaming free like zebras.
Msiniambie zilikulwo zote.

Anyway, I also think that rhinos and elephants should be “farmed” in large scale for their horns.
With the technological advancements in genetics and breeding, I don’t see why the government should not allow people to breed rhinos.
The market for the horns is insatiable and the value is pound for pound worth more than gold.
Shyte!,…We could even pay off the SGR loans in tusks and rhino horns!..kwani tutauriswo ni Nani?..

. kikikikkkk!..

Hii ndio ‘Joke of the day’ right?

Matasia sio umaasaiini ,kabuda

I do supply them donkeys Kama unataka inbox tuongee biashara.

Kwetu punda ya ndume ndio hulima as long as itaskizana na Ng’ombe ya kulima, since some detest cows and sometimes even bite them.

Nyinyi wote plus @Meria Mata Ni maghassia tuu . do you know in what context you use the word EXTINCT ?