KENYA IMPORTS MORE THAN EXPORT BAD FOR THE ECONOMY

Importing more stuffs results to less jobs i think as much as the government is trying to creat more jobs we should also be considering to secure our jobs by avoiding more imports. Who is to blame for this high unemployment rate of youths? People who import products that we can readily produce. The huge number is mainly on electronics. Our GDP is mainly crashed by the greedy importers. GDP= private consumption + gross investment + government investment + government spending + (exports - imports).
As much as importing used cars is cheap it is killing jobs,killing our gpd and weakening our currency.

The link shows how imports are more than export. where else thriving countries its not the norm
https://tradingeconomics.com/kenya/imports

First we need power. Nuclear power and coal si hii ujinga ya solar na wind energy. If that is done then we can easily set up industries producing cheap goods

Before all that happens, serikali has to reduce taxes on power so we can start, other wise no point if we have nuclear , coal and all if it’s still gonna be the same if taxes remain high.
Even after fuel went down so low we still paying high tariffs.

Because a huge chunk of the population is dumb… all they think about is politics and their tribal masters

Slevyn dont be too mean, rather look for solution since that too is a problem.

Once we produce power in plenty the cost will definitely go down

Yeah that can be termed as a huge set back but some of the products we have been importing dont need that much energy to produce our largest importers are our neighboring countries.

We can’t sustain nuclear power and coal. Seriously, the cost benefit analysis of it leans heavily towards costs.

The issue with Kenya having too many imports is more cultural than anything. Ask yourself this, do you or anyone you know manufacture/farm/export a service? For every one of those who do, how many don’t? We’d collectively have to start producing our own consumables first. Meat, milk, eggs, furniture, clothes. Then we can industrialize to small farming machinery to be used for production. Then second stage industrialize to produce larger scale machinery to produce smaller machines and tools. Then we can get to mining and using our own raw materials (titanium/iron/nobium) instead of exporting them. This isnt vision 2030. This would require a 50 year plan.

Please refer to cost of electricity in different countries then tell me if you will still argue the same it cost 3cents in kenya while 8cents in china and an whooping 12cents in US for a kwh and everytym kenya currency loose value price of electricity rises so tell me what really are we not doing right

electricity cost 3cents per kwh cheaper than all the developing countries so tell me how cheaper do you want it china cost them 8cents US 12cents and not to mention some of the products china is producing to increase its export require less energy than what some of ours use

You are right but the only big enemy is the greedy importer. Even as much as we come up with our own JKAT laptops the cheap foreign laptops where booming even the referbished where there with the largest open market where else in foregin countries the open market is their own products iphone store,louis vuitton,sumsung stores. the meat,milk,egg and furnitures are just filled with cartels who want to hike prices.

That’s where legistlation comes in. India employs this on two fronts.

1. Heavy taxes on imports. This will force international brands to set shop in your country. But only works if the market is large enough.
  2. Fixed costs of goods : Manufactured goods have the prices clearly marked on the packaging. MRP. Maximum retail Price.

You are not abunuwasi :D:D

I have seen number one taking place in kenya bt all it lead to is greediness but its a good thing. When you are in the supermarkets comparing products manufactured here and those imported have a slight difference, the locals are killing there own businesses a good comparison on a foreign and local product is the american and chinese products. A jeans made in america would cost 125$ but the same jeans made by chinese in america cost them only 25$. In kenya imported coffee is as expensive as coffee manufactured in kenya however we are the growers.

link shows how much a product might have cost if made in US
http://www.businessinsider.com/how-much-products-would-cost-if-made-in-us-2016-11/#jeans-2
http://www.therichest.com/expensive-lifestyle/things-that-would-be-more-expensive-if-made-in-the-west/

[ATTACH=full]121196[/ATTACH]
Are you serious please watch the latest episode of Jon Oliver about nuclear waste then delete your comment hio cieth isifke africa can\t imagine radio active mosquitoes and the terror the havoc of diseases…cancer ya malaria…neffa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwY2E0hjGuU

Economies of scale. Legistlation is different. Production costs are not only tethered to the cost of raw materials. There are so many variables. The only way such comparisons would hold any water would be if the environment of both countries is similar. The exmple you gave about a pair of jeans would have variables on raw materials, labour, scale/number of jeans being made e.t.c. incidentally, there’s research that shows jeans in the states cost $8 to produce, but the sales figures are what differ.

We can take advantage of wage discrenpencies and cost of living in countries to make it hard to compete with us.

India in the states took advantage and started kuwa customer care agents. You call a US number kumbe ina enda india.
Globalization is advantageous to us. Just the other day nilikuwa naona story ya bitcoin mining. If energy costs are good here. You essentially set up a super computer or whatever na uko poa… Maybe there’s more to it… But Chinese are here for more reasons than construction I think.
The web and technology can be an avenue to export

Nah, chenobyl was a mishap but same country was hit by a meteorite early in this century. You so wrong, white people have always told you that you are inferior.

Saa zingine mimi huona shida zetu sio hizo vitu mnasema hapo juu sijui ooh electricity, ooh kwh, ooh imports…shida ni kuogopa tu kufikiria ama kutumia akili…how many engineering graduates do we churn out every year, even with civil engineering degrees, and we still pay hefty funds to other people to build our roads. The basic to achieving what you guys are saying would be having a culture and willingness to be innovative and improve our knowledge!

[ATTACH=full]121197[/ATTACH]
bruh did you check the video…am not saying that we are inferior just no to nuclear energy…if these guys are unable to deal with the waste and look at how it should be done and tell me how we can pull it poff in Kenya…nigga radio active animals kisha…cancer bruh why invest in a rsiky venture and countries are utilizing renewable energy tp the same effect…if countries are literally shutting down nuclear plants…learn from other peoples mistakes not foolishy follow in their fotosteps