Kenya is worse than a shithole

The Gilgel Gibe III Dam is a 250 m high roller-compacted concrete dam with an associated hydroelectric power plant on the Omo River in Ethiopia

Friends of Lake Turkana, a Kenyan organization representing indigenous groups in northwestern Kenya whose livelihoods are linked to Lake Turkana, had previously estimated that the dam could reduce the level of Lake Turkana by up to 10 meter affecting up to 300,000 people.[28] This could cause the brackish water to increase in salinity to where it may no longer be drinkable by the indigenous groups around the lake. Currently, the salinity of the water is about 2332 mg/L, and it is estimated that a 10-meter decrease in the water level of Lake Turkana could cause the salinity to rise to 3397

The world experts/environmental activists/ UN/ World Lake organizations have all warned that the dam will fuck up the lake but The director of Kenya’s Water Services Regulatory Board, John Nyaoro, argued that the dam would have no negative impact on Lake Turkana.

so what’s your point? That you don’t believe the Kenyan? ( of which I do)

okay.

The lake is drying up every year due to the dam…

The lake has been expanding for the last two years, infact people have been displaced by the lake water as late as November 2020.

what caused it to expand?

Increased rainfall from the catchment rivers.

what if the rainfall stops, will it still exapand? or will it go back to drying up?

Kenya has an agreement to buy hydropower from Ethiopia at a rip off price/deal

Do you still trust him?

When was the last time it broke its shores is a more apt questions?

I trust science and observation. There are foreign powers opposed to the development of East Africa where water is concerned, understand this as well

sasa tukusaidie aje? The only solution is war with ethiopia, which is untenable

Long story short, seasonal/climatic fluctuactions like rainfall are temporary. Those fluctuactions does not prove that it’s expanding as it cannot be sustained. Check the water level records of the lake and see for yourself. The lake is slowly drying up, approx 50cm per year and even if it doesn’t decrease, the salinity is being affected.

How far do the records go? I’m sure about 50years or so. This is not enough to say that the lake is drying up terminally. In any case if the lake was drying up, then it was a natural ongoing process that cannot be blamed on a recent dam

The facts speak for themselves. The dam is a good thing but, go test the water yourself and see. This is not a conspiracy theory. If you think it’s a western plot, well and good but see for yourself

Surely are the waters even drinkable?

1890… I saw records in KWS baringo county

Turkwel dam completed 31 years ago, had the highest amount of water since construction last year, the people downstream Kerio river had to be alerted of impending release of water for the first time in history. You should check your data it could have been true and applicable pre-2020 but as of now new data is needed to give the way forward. In an unprecedented move the elmolo were evicted by the lake from their dwelling something that has yet to be recorded in the recent history.

sawa sawa bro

[ATTACH=full]342697[/ATTACH]
Solution to water problems