Kenya needs to reconsider the 8 years car importation law and KRA taxes

What’s the point of the current law that says you can’t import vehicles older than 8 years?

If the point is to prevent high emissions vehicles then the government has failed terribly.

Because you can’t even import a zero emission electric vehicle without being told by KRA to pay 25% import duty, 10% excise duty, 14% VAT, 2% railway development levy, 3.5% import declaration fees.

And I haven’t yet calculated the shipping costs.

So if I was to import a zero emission Tesla with MSRP of 4 million, KRA would add about 3 million kshs. in the name of taxes.

It doesn’t make sense.

So they make it ridiculously expensive to import a brand new car, and very difficult to import a classic or vintage car.

Most Kenyans are left with the option of driving used cars that are 6 to 8 years old but are considered trash overseas.

No wonder there are so many mediocre cars on Kenyan roads.

Process is ongoing to drop that limit to 5 years. Tighten your belts

If we allow buying of 20 year old cars, ndio utaona kivumbi. Those boda guys you see on the road will buy 100k 150k ramshackles zijae barabara.

What if the legislators pass a law that says you can’t import a classic car that cost less than 1 million ksh before tax?

And there should an association board that defines what is a classic or vintage car; like what they do in South Africa.

You can’t just import any old vehicle and call it a “classic” car.

Tax itatumaliza iyo ndio imefanya Prices of Otoyo to shoot up, lakini naona KRA wanacheza kiwao Cx5 last year ilikuwa 1.7 venye imefika 2.3 only KRA nows

We may also end up doubling or even tripling the fuel consumption in the country, old cars consume way much fuel.
Solution, assembly cheap cars in the country, we end up with newer cars on our loads, which are fuel efficient and reduce the CO2 load in tje environment.

Hiyo 2.3M ni 2014 model hapa Kenya.

Na ukumbuke MSRP ya brand new CX5 2021 model inaanza 2.6M (base sport trim) huko Japan.

After 7 years ndio middle-class wengi wataeza ku-afford hiyo 2021 model juu ya taxes.

The 8 year rule has helped a lot in limiting the number of cars on our roads. Vintage cars are a privilege of very few.

Not every classic car is expensive.

As long as there are clear specifics on
the minimum price and what constitutes a “classic” car to avoid everybody’s grandma getting a car on the road.

Already there are too many cars on the road.
Juu ata na 300k bado unaeza pata gari second hand. Kwanza nduthi za zimekuwa mingi sana.

Fortunately, Uhuru’s government has really improved road infrastructure to counter that problem.

But what about the crazy KRA taxes???

Cars are not meant for the masses. Wapunguze hadi ifike 5 years na si tafadhali

To avoid the county being a dumping site minimum age of an import automobile should be 3 years gari ndogo and 5 gari kubwa … agriculture machinery 8 years

Very wrong move to give limits on agricultural machinery

You are all congregated in Nairobi and other major towns. Huku mashinani tunapitia Kwa hizi lami jubilee government wametengeza for 5-10 minutes without seeing another vehicle. Obako told you murudi mashambani hamukusikia.

Kustop emissions imewashinda. Clearly wamedicide kutomba importers.
You cannot be dealing with this everyday unless inchi imezoea. You wonder why there are so many used jap cars,kwao hakuna ujinga namna hii
[ATTACH=full]373533[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]373534[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]373535[/ATTACH]

Agricultural machinery should be limited to 0 years but tax zero. Those who buy 2nd hand agricultural machinery end up buying junk that breaks down in a year or two and the cost of repair could be prohibitive.

why not go Rwanda way. lower taxes on cars and punitive taxes on old cars

Because IMF has the govt by the balls. They must approve any tax reductions.

Yes.

Yes sir. Ungeandika tu kwa Kisapere.

kra are thieves they make money more than the manufacturer they should declare how much they make from car taxes my uncle bought a daihatsu on offer 150000K he though is lucky wacha ifike port he paid more than double for the car he was thinking of leaving the car but ali kalipa shingo upande

shit hole government sleeping in the job nairobi yote sewage to the rivers michuki was the best