Kenya Shouldn't be Trusted With a Nuclear Power Plant

I have seen it trending in international news outlets that Kenya has built the biggest wind power farm in Africa in an effort to go green 100 percent green by 2020. That’s great news.

On the other hand, the government is planning to build a ksh 600 billion nuclear power plant by 2027. After seeing Chernobyl, I’m not sure Kenyans can be trusted with a nuclear power plant. A minor negligence issue can cause a nuclear meltdown.

Mind you, a nuclear accident is very serious and apart from cancer-related deaths, it can make the land uninhabitable.

A quick Google search will tell you that there have been 57 nuclear accidents since the Chernobyl disaster and most of them have happened in the U.S.A. Not to mention, the last nuclear accident happened in Japan in 2011.

Currently, most European countries are shutting down their nuclear plant due to the high-risk involved.

If developed countries like USA, Russia and Japan experience nuclear accidents whereby many civilians are exposed to radiation and later develop cancer complications, do you think Kenya can handle a nuclear power plant?
Especially considering the Kenya government has a “dont care” attitude.

Hii tujenge

you need more research

You might have a point here. We cannot take care of routine issues such as removing asbestos roofing from municipal houses, or eliminating insect pests decimating our corn crops. But we want to go nuclear with power generation.

How will we treat any attendant nuclear waste if we still have issues with basic sewage management?

In Kenya we don’t have earthquakes…or at least not to level to pose risk to nuclear facility…no tsunamis or cyclones.
On the other hand nuclear energy will bring down electricity costs hence lowering production costs making Kenya competitive in the production industry.

Heck, BMW cars are catching fire in the west, Kenya should not be allowed to import them. The other day there was a major train collision in China, I wonder why Kenya want to build railways. If China is not able to prevent rail accidents, what about bonobo Kenyans?

The Genoa bridge collapsed in Italy last year killing people yet Kenya is planning major bridges, there is no way Kenya can maintain massive bridges

And we all know that the objective of these larger-than-life projects is simply to siphon cash from Kenyans and therefore the ones behind it will be more worried about their cash before they exit power than the safety issues/ precautions on the project.

Bonobos can’t handle nuclear energy, tusibishane.

Not all nuclear accidents are caused by earthquakes or tsunamis. Most are caused by negligence.

You can’t compare a possible nuclear meltdown to a BMW catching fire or trains colliding. A nuclear accident is very serious. Like Chernobyl town will not be habitable for humans for the next 20,000 years.

Nuclear power is the most powerful thing man has ever created. No wonder people say World War 3 can cause human extinction.

in terms of skills, Kenyans have the potential. But often times we choose to be unprofessional.
Our work ethics , terrible to say the least.
If we try short cuts with nuclear energy, we will fuck up big time!!

Hii kitu hatuwezi. Let’s recall what happened at Sinai fire. A valve of 600 bob caused lives to be lost. Tutaanza siasa za peni mbili.
If we were to build it let it be under military not civilians.

You are an activist. Who is your donor?

We can handle a nuclear plant. Even 10.

We are still dying from many preventable causes out there. We need stable source of energy to get to the next level.
Are we gonna stop using cars because road accidents are occurring ?
The issue that should concern us, is nuclear waste management.

Seems you were reading my analysis from some blog somewhere. You just said exactly what I was saying. I don’t care about this the power, shida ni waste itaenda wapi? This is the biggest headache of all nucear plants .

Something simple as nyama, they cannot regulate the chemicals pumped in it , what about disposal of nuclear waste ? These thugs will just go to turkana and dump it there .

Western are running away from nuclear,who are we to think we are smarter than them to embrace it ?

ghaseer , apana tisha sisi na cancer , in fact tunaomba serikali ijenge 47 nuclear power spread across all the counties… with Hon.Kalembe Ndile as the Nuclear Regulatory Board Chairman…
anyway ,what’s wrong with our kind? self esteem issues hadi u can’t trust a fellow Kenyan to run ata a slaughterhouse …what’s the use of having a country if citizens can’t trust their own.

Sad, coming in the week eight kenyans graduated with masters in nuclear science at a korean university.

Spoken like a true senior bonobo :D:D:D

Hii ni Kenya pwana…Jimmy 1jigger ameshapangia hii kitu